Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Lenovo IdeaPad 720s-14IKB Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Lenovo IdeaPad 720s review – a solid all-round thin-and-light laptop

11 Comments

  1. Sergey

    August 12, 2017 at 4:52 pm

    You have a misprint, "For mouse Asus went with a large Synaptics clickpad, "
    surely you meant Lenovo
    :)

  2. Nic

    August 13, 2017 at 1:17 am

    Great review on the 720s and 320s! Will we see one for 520s soon?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 13, 2017 at 6:54 am

      I can't tell right now, but that's not impossible. Wont' happen in the next 2-3 weeks though, I have other things in the works.

  3. Joe

    August 16, 2017 at 1:17 am

    Nice review. I was looking for a budget laptop capable of light gaming, 1080p video editing, and good video streaming battery life. Initially looked at the Asus UX430UN but was disappointed by SATA 3 SSD limit, small battery and high price. Finally narrowed my choices to this or the new HP Envy, but it looks like Lenovo's also raising prices of the mid-range 7×0 lineup.
    Like the 720s, the Envy 13 has improved battery capacity since last gen but it sports the MX150 pascal dGPU. It doesn't have a TB3 port, but it does have NVMe SSD support, which is essential for video editing. I hope you get to review it soon.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 16, 2017 at 3:12 pm

      The UX430 support PCIe x4 SSDs, not at full speed, but you'd still get close to 2 GBs read speeds.

      About the Envy, HP laptops are hardly available in my region and I haven't' reviewed their devices in a while, so the chances are slim to none that's I'll be able to review that one.

  4. mikro

    August 16, 2017 at 4:55 am

    That thudnerbolt 3 thing is right. As there is a low power Thunderbolt 3 (JHL6240) using only 2x PCIe 3.0 links and therefore it is only 20Gb/s. There's also more notebooks like this, where they claim it has TB3, but they will hide the fact that it is only half the speed or they say it "speeds may vary".

  5. Daniel

    August 16, 2017 at 7:11 am

    Would you say the screen quality on the 720s iw worse or similar to the Acer Swift 3 with mx150 graphics? Looking to buy one of these and the graphics chip is important however not as important as a really poor quality screen.

    Many thanks,
    Daniel

  6. Danny

    August 18, 2017 at 2:28 am

    Good Review!! I was wondering if you noticed any clattering/rattling noises on the touchpad when you tap on it? I had this issue on my ideapad 710s which caused me to return it. Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 18, 2017 at 1:03 pm

      Not on this sample, or at least not the the point that it would bother me. I would have mentioned it otherwise, as that's something I find annoying as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *