Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus VivoBook S15 S510UQ Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus VivoBook S15 S510UQ review – portable full-size laptop on a budget

42 Comments

  1. cool

    July 14, 2017 at 5:18 am

    Thank you for this review. Do you have any idea about Asus VivoBook S15 S510UA (without Nvidia GTX 940MX)'s weight and battery life? Without Nvidia GTX 940MX, S510UA might be lighter and/or have better battery runtime? On some documents S510 is 1.5kg, some of them documented as 1.7kg. Is this about Nvidia GTX 940MX?
    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 14, 2017 at 8:11 am

      Not really. The addition of the MX chip only ads a few grams to the total weight, the UQ and UAs are otherwise the same, around 1.6 kg according to my scales + the power brick. Also, with Optimus the Nvidia chip is only active when need on the UQ, which means that with movies and daily use you're still using the Integrated Intel HD 620 graphics that you'd also get on the S510UAs. That means battery life will only differ in games between the two.

      The UAs will however run cooler and quieter in games/high loads, since there's no dedicated chip to cool

  2. rizqi

    July 15, 2017 at 7:00 pm

    thank you for the review, which one do you prefer vivobook S15 510 UX, lenovo ideapad 710s plus, or dell inspiron 7560?, since three of them have a close spesification

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 16, 2017 at 4:25 am

      is there a 710s plus with a 15-inch screen? I couldn't find one and in that case it's not like the others, since it's a smaller laptop. There's a 15-inch version of the IdeaPad 320s scheduled as far as I know, but can't tell much about it for now. We did review the 14-inch model here: http://www.ultrabookreview.com/15874-lenovo-ideapad-320s-review/

      Between the Dell and the Asus, I think I'd go with the Asus for the much lighter body. Both are otherwise compact and have similar features and a 42 Wh battery. The Dell should be a little stronger in the main-chassis, but I havent' reviewed it myself so can't confirm.

      • rizqi

        July 16, 2017 at 7:04 pm

        thank you for the reply

  3. 永康

    July 16, 2017 at 11:17 am

    Nice review, which one do you prefer vivobook S15 510UQ or zenbook UX430UA? Which one do you think have a better value?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 16, 2017 at 3:16 pm

      Can't really compare them, they're not in the same price league. The UX430 is more portable, better built, gets a nicer screen, larger battery, but it's also more expensive. If you're not on a budget, it's the nicer pick and you can also consider the Zenbook UX530 when available if you want a larger screen.

      • cool

        July 17, 2017 at 1:15 am

        When UX530 will be available and what price range to be expected for similar configuration?
        Thanks

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 17, 2017 at 3:39 am

          It's already available in some regions and the i7 configuration with 8 GB RAM and 512 GB SSD sells for about 1300 EUR over here: pcgarage.ro/ultrabook/asus/156-zenbook-ux530uq-fhd-procesor-intel-core-i7-7500u-4m-cache-up-to-350-ghz-8gb-ddr4-512gb-ssd-geforce-940mx-2gb-win-10-pro-blue/ , which is about the same as the UX430. That should be about $1300 in the US, but I can't tell when it will be available over there, Asus have some odd availability procedures.

  4. Nathan

    July 16, 2017 at 12:37 pm

    I'm looking to spend around $1000 CAD(about $800 US). I'm really interested in this laptop but I'm wondering if I could find similar specs if I don't care about portability as much. As long as the laptop is less than 6.5 pounds I'd be happy. I do game on my laptop occasionally as well. If you have any suggestions I'd be very grateful. Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 16, 2017 at 3:18 pm

      Yes, you can find better specs in mid-range laptops like the Dell Inspiron 5000, Acer Aspire 5 and E15, Asus X556, Lenovo Ideapad 520, etc. There's a list here: http://www.ultrabookreview.com/2404-14-15-inch-ultrabooks/#a1 . You can also aim for something like the Acer Aspire VX15 or Lenovo Legion Y520 with Nvidia 1050 graphics and quad-core processors for the faster hardware and much more capable graphics.

      • Nathan

        July 16, 2017 at 3:47 pm

        Very helpful thanks!

  5. rizqi

    July 17, 2017 at 6:30 am

    do you have any idea how i can get this in japan? i still cant find it in asus japan website or amazon japan. or is there any possibility that this laptop come in the different name in japan? thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 17, 2017 at 7:52 am

      Might no be available there yet, it's not available for retail in my region either. Could try to get in touch with Asus Japan on Twitter, Facebook or other social media that you guys use and ask about it.

  6. Conrad

    July 17, 2017 at 8:43 am

    Would love to see a review of the new Vivobook Pro 15 N580. Strange how Asus announced the Pro and the S15 back in may, but they're still not available for retail in most areas.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 17, 2017 at 12:34 pm

      It will be up in about 2-3 weeks. This and the Zenbook Pro UX550 are on the list.

  7. TRTB

    July 23, 2017 at 2:39 pm

    Do you know if this laptop can be charged via USB-C? Thanks for the review.

  8. Bernard

    July 26, 2017 at 2:58 am

    Will you review the ASUS ux530uq?Besides,do you think the i7 processor of the UX530 will cause serious heat or noise problems?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 26, 2017 at 3:11 am

      I can't tell right now. I did review the UX430 (http://www.ultrabookreview.com/14425-asus-zenbook-ux430-review/) which is very similar, just a little smaller. it was pretty noisy with daily use, the fan is active all the time on most Asus laptops, but there's a way around it. As far as temperatures did, the chassis gets to mid 40s Celsius in games, but that's normal for a thin-and-light.

  9. blip

    July 27, 2017 at 11:24 pm

    " the fan is active all the time on most Asus laptops, but there's a way around it."
    there is? how?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 28, 2017 at 2:57 am

      There's a custom piece of software called NoteBookFanControl that allows you to keep the fan from spinning until the CPU reaches a certain temperature. It's not official from Asus, but it works with most laptops. You'd have to use it on your own risk, though. Google it for more details.

  10. Aditya

    July 28, 2017 at 11:21 am

    Will this laptop be useful for programming and coding??i mean for a developer as well as programmers.
    please reply me soon.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 28, 2017 at 11:53 pm

      as long as the Core U is enough for your needs, than yes. I'd probably get a laptop with HQ processors for serious coding though

  11. Chungyf

    August 2, 2017 at 10:58 am

    Would you personally get the Acer aspire 5 A515 with the mx150, i5-7200u and 4gb ram or the vivobook s15 with similar specs but with the gt940mx?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 2, 2017 at 4:48 pm

      IF you care about gaming, then the Aspire 5 is the better pick. It's also well priced. The Vivobook S15 is however a nicer looking laptop, more compact and lighter.

      • Chungyf

        August 2, 2017 at 9:12 pm

        But in general is acer a reliable brand? I'm having doubts if i should get it or wait for the vivobook pro coming with the mx150

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 4, 2017 at 6:07 am

          Depends. Cheaper models usually have more quality control issues, but that's not a common rule. I'm also not an adept of shopping based on brand, pretty much every laptop has its flaws and every OEM has series with more or fewer issues. My advice is to read the forums and users reviews on the big online shops, that's going to give you a measure of the potential problems. You could also get extended warranty.

  12. Lia

    August 9, 2017 at 3:53 pm

    I need a notebook that is lightweight, backlit keyboard, and good battery life (Approximately 8-10 hours at least) with fine job in multitasking (RAM at least 4GB), can you please suggest me what type I should consider for? My budget is around 800$
    Thank you!

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 10, 2017 at 3:19 am

      Unfortunately you'll not get that kind of battery life with most laptops, especially in your budget. You'd need something with a very big battery and thus won't be lightweight. You didn't mention a screen size, do you want a small laptop or a 15-inch full-size one?

      • Aditya

        August 10, 2017 at 12:49 pm

        The asus vivobook s15 has quite noisy fans even on normal usage. Why do u think so it is so?

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 10, 2017 at 2:43 pm

          unfortunately that's pretty standard with Asus laptop, but you can use this to tweak things: github.com/hirschmann/nbfc/releases. It's not an official software though

          • Aditya

            August 10, 2017 at 9:38 pm

            Doesnt it degrade the cpu performance? And stability

      • Lia

        August 11, 2017 at 4:00 pm

        I have looked for several possible laptop model and happen to find Acer Swift 3 ( from several reviews they mention the battery life is around 7-8 hours on moderate usage for browsing multitab and some typing) but from my previous experience the awesomeness of Acer didnt last long till I got some issues.

        I prefer a 11-14'' screen size coz I'll be using it everyday and bring it here and there. Typing, Battery Life, and Weight are major critical feature I'm looking to be comfortable with.

        It'll be very helpful if you can recommend some type, thanks!

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 11, 2017 at 5:03 pm

          The Swift is a pretty good laptop in its budget. As far as reliability goes, most brands have quality control issues and Acer are no stranger from them. However, I don't think you should skip this brand for this reason, whether you'll end up with problems is mostly based on luck these days. When I'm in the position to buy something I usually get extended warranty and try to find out which brand has better support/service in my country, so in the eventuality something will go wrong it would be easy to repair.

  13. Lucas

    August 17, 2017 at 12:44 pm

    Very appreciate for your review. Which laptop do u recommend Asus Vivobook s15 and Acer E15 E5-573G?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 17, 2017 at 12:50 pm

      The S15 is nicer laptops, newer and smaller, but I'd reckon the E15 sells for much less. You'd have to give me more details if you want an opinion, like specs and price for each one.

      • Lucas

        August 19, 2017 at 10:23 pm

        Both of them are within my budget for an intel i5 processor laptop,so the price is not a concern for me. I want a laptop for multitasking,heavy browsing and light entertainment such as watching youtube.Battery life is quite important for me too. U could recommend me better laptop other than those two for similar price range.Thank you for your opinion.

  14. Julian

    September 17, 2017 at 12:27 pm

    Hi,
    I've recently bought this model and the backlit keyboards are not working.
    I've tried pressing the function key with F3 and F4 but it doesn't light up as well.
    Is there any way around this problem?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 19, 2017 at 6:15 am

      DO you have the keyboard pictograms on the F3/F4 keys? If yes, try to install the ATK software package from Asus's drivers webpage. If that doesn't fix it, you could also google for "asus keyboard light driver", this is not an uncommon issue and there seems to be fixes. Can't tell which one would work in your case though.

  15. Lucas

    September 20, 2017 at 10:49 pm

    I wonder if this device or the S14 variant has a PCIe slot?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 21, 2017 at 3:35 am

      it's the same platform as on the 15 inch model

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *