Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus Zenbook UX510UW Andrei Girbea Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Asus Zenbook UX510UW review – a portable 15-inch all-rounder

24 Comments

  1. Nufi

    October 26, 2016 at 1:12 pm

    i think there's a mistake in your fps of total war

    • Nufi

      October 26, 2016 at 1:14 pm

      Although i was waiting for this review, i love your reviews in general.
      keep it up :)

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 26, 2016 at 2:06 pm

      Right, I actually didn't test Total War on this laptop, thanks for the heads-up

  2. Eric

    October 28, 2016 at 5:51 pm

    Hmmm, I recently bought a UX510 myself and haven't really had much trouble with the Wi-Fi…maybe it was just the test unit?

  3. hije

    November 9, 2016 at 3:05 am

    Hmmmm, i tho it was quad core processor,but… well…

    is there any chance zenbook series will get pascal (1050 or even 1060) and quadcore proc combination again like the UX501, i really hope to see that specs again. maybe you have another opinion andre ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 9, 2016 at 3:56 am

      I'd say yes, but I don't think that's going to happen sooner than Q1 2017, as they'll probably wait for the Kaby Lake quad-cores to update this series. Could be wrong though, but details on 1050 laptops are scarce now. Oh, and fitting a 1060 inside a Zenbook is going to be difficult, I wouldn't hold my breath for it.

  4. Luis Felipe Ovalle Daza

    November 21, 2016 at 1:42 pm

    Hey Andrei, Im trying to buy a new laptop and I wonder if you can give me some advice. Im a radiology resident, so i need a laptop to do presentations and watch images, I was thinking of getting this one but after reading your review I cannot decide if i should get the ASUS K501UW-AB78 or this one, i used to have a macbook pro but now they are to pricey for me to get one. I want i nice laptop with a nice performance and a nice screen but dont want to spend over $1000. Your help and opinion would be very helpful for me.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 21, 2016 at 4:14 pm

      I haven't actually reviewed the K501 and I can't tell for sure whether it gets an IPS or TN Panel. It it's IPS and you don't mind the slightly bulkier construction, I'd get the K501. If it's TN though, it might not be the best choice for your needs. You should try to look this up.

  5. Moshe Zarum

    November 25, 2016 at 4:12 am

    I can buy this laptop for $500 new in the box , For that price is there another laptop that beats it?

  6. edit1754

    December 24, 2016 at 8:28 am

    Also important information about the U510VW: ASUS is using an RG/BW Pentile display to cheat the ability to advertise the 4K UHD 3840×2160 resolution.

    It replaces each pair of independent pixels capable of expressing the full range of color with one stretched rectangular pixel plus a white dot. It puts the same load on the GPU but can only display about half that resolution on the display.

    Pentile displays exist solely for the purposes of deceptive advertising. The 3K 2880×1620 display in the old UX51vz had MORE RGB dots but fewer TOTAL dots and was just overall a better display, but ASUS abandoned that in favor of this LITERALLY WORSE display just to be able to sell it as 4K.

    reddit.com/r/ASUS/comments/5jiu3m/psa_most_of_asuss_highresolution_qhd_and_4k/

  7. StefdeLeuven

    January 2, 2017 at 7:34 am

    Comming from a N56VZ (which is still running fine) this is a real dissapointment.

    Fan noise: even when idle the fan makes a high pitched noise. With only simple browsing it spins up and gets unnervingly loud. You wouldn't even be able to use it for some late night work in a quiet place let alone a library without being asked to shut off the laptop (had the same nuissance it a AIO Z240 from asus)
    Same goes for the 1Gb HD who constantly makes a distinct crackling noise. Fan and HD emitting at the same time and you got a whistling concert.
    Add to this that when spinning up it's a high pitched noice that's emitted and makes me going berzerk after an hours work, still hearing the ring behind my ears.

    Keyboard: i do agree the keyboard has a good build but i miss the excellence of the old n56. Typing on the machine has a strong mechanical feel to it and i'm missing the slightly shallow keys of before.
    Screen: well, IPS or not IPS, there should be an industry standard for the screen specs and calibration. IPS doesn't always carry well his reputation as is the case here.
    Industry should work on a minimum quality norm instead of juggling with technological abreviations that diminish user experience.
    Our IPS screen doesn't render everything as crisp as we'd excpect.

    ON/OFF key: who in the devil's name did put this in the keyboard pad where the 'end key' used to be?? It's like inversing brake and clutch on a car, definitively a NOT DONE if you've been typing for years ond the old layout.

    battery: no idea how long it will last, and for how long it will last this long. Needn't to say that when the weight goes down so does the capacity of the battery. I do not want teo compromise user experience so i'm not diminishing screen brightness so i ca squint my eyes when reading. Should you?

    Touchpad: not the most enjoyable. on clicking, the left side responds different in presure from the right side. Feedback from the pad is inconsistent and i regret not finding the quality of the old N56 (again) as far as i'm concerned.

    Perhaps the builders should look at user experience before running off after a macbook like appearance that cost less. Or perhaps before implementing changes should it be reconsidered if the end user will have a more enjoyable experience or if form dominates function? Only fools would have an ego that prefere aestehics over quality, but i guess there are many fools going around

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 2, 2017 at 9:51 am

      Hi, thanks for your extended feedback, much appreciated.

      Quick question: Does your unit get the UHD or the FHD panel?

      • stefan

        January 9, 2017 at 10:26 am

        this would be the fhd 1920×1080 IPS panel. Panel performs well on video playback. i did put the scalling back to 100% instead of 125% so elements are smaller but more crisp.

        Update on the review:
        Since i'm not sure if you open it up to change configuration the warranty is void or not, I'll probably be shipping it back since the HD doesn't stop 'crackling' at an annoying continous audible level.

        Controlling the fan speed with an external program solves the fan problem partially but makes the Hd even more audible.
        Performance without an ssd seams to be very slooooooow as well with the 1G 5400 rpm Hd. (and there even isn't much installed on it.)

        Chose this unit because of the azerty layout (french icons needed for multilingual work) but wasn't available with an SSD of sufficient size.

        resume: the ZENbook isn't that ZEN for me and could do with lesser models and fewer compromise on the performance.

  8. Laurent

    January 6, 2017 at 3:51 am

    Hi Andrei, thanks for this great review, just bought this laptop a month ago and I'm very happy with it.
    But one point is driving me crazy: as shown on your pictures, it seems so easy for you to remove the heat shield to acces the RAM slot …. I tried and I tried but I finally gave up. Please share your "secret" …..

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 8, 2017 at 12:53 pm

      Normally, you'd just have to pull it out. If not, there are some small metallic claws holding it in place, try loosing them up with the point of a screwdriver

      • Laurent

        January 9, 2017 at 2:11 pm

        …. metallic claws, you mean on the motherboard or directly on the shield ? It's true that i noticed two claws located up on the two sides of the shield but I was really affraid to break them while twisting it …. are we talking about the same parts ?

  9. Gregor

    January 12, 2017 at 3:48 pm

    Hi Andrei, thank you for awesome review, I was thinking to buy this laptop few days ago but now…. Can you give me suggestion on what to buy for that price.
    Thank you in advance.

  10. Oleg

    January 25, 2017 at 6:34 pm

    Hello!
    Does the UX510UX has the same screen model as UX510UW?
    LG Philips LP156WF6-SPB6 ?

  11. Zil

    March 7, 2017 at 2:35 pm

    This 4k screen is horible, are a lot of yellow color. I was disappointed in this screen, but everything else is very good.

  12. mihai

    March 17, 2017 at 7:26 am

    I have an 15" UX510UX. Is a great machine (built quality, lightweight, no fan noise or heat, good keyboard).
    Only one (TOO BIG) issue, is impossible to obtain a decent color calibration, for an amateur with no professional devices. My 5 years old DELL XPS is far better in this direction. The "splendid" included software is a joke, you can run decently only if disabled.
    I cant have a pure grey color for exemple, like I have by default on DELL, Samsung or Sony equipments.
    So, if you are a webdesigner or some photograph is excluded to use it, as professional tool.

  13. Molalign

    June 7, 2017 at 5:11 am

    I have an 15" UX510UX. It was good at all but it stop working after i got i to sleep and it doesn't open after that and also it doesn't show the charging light when i plug it. what shall i do?

    • Laurent

      June 8, 2017 at 4:38 am

      The same happened to my UX510.Try to press the power button for 15 seconds. Then you will have to open the underbelly as Andrei explains above this review to disconnect the battery. Connect the battery again and try to switch the power. It worked in my case, hope this will help.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *