Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Acer Nitro 5 2020 review (AN515-55 model – i7, RTX 2060, 144 Hz screen)

13 Comments

  1. william blake

    July 25, 2020 at 3:00 pm

    i got tired of skylake. i7 my ass. clearly worse than ryzen 5 4600h. and i got tired with those messy amazon links. somehow, they are everywhere, i keep getting them from each of youtuber and media guy.
    "acer nitro 5 10750" in the amazon search field is a mess, not helpful and pisses people off. stop it please.
    anyway, i have a technical question. i know psref.lenovo its a good place. do other manufacturers have a similar database?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 29, 2020 at 10:44 pm

      William, those links are partially what allows this project to exist. Please stop commenting about them. If you appreciate our work, buying from those links is helping us greatly.

      As per your question, most OEMs have their own product pages with all the details that you want, but might not be just as in depth as those on psref.lenovo

  2. Susan

    July 31, 2020 at 8:20 pm

    I want a laptop that isn't too hot or heavy.
    I don't do FPS gaming, don't want a high MHz panel.
    But a quality display otherwise would be great.

    The 2060 or 1660ti is ideal for me, i'd actually prefer max-q versions.
    Not sure what the equivalent would be for an AMD gpu.

    This laptop should be ideal, but intel is so much hotter running i won't even consider it. I don't think of myself as an AMD fanboy, but here I am

  3. Herman

    August 13, 2020 at 9:30 pm

    As HP Omen with RTX2060 GPU and 10750H CPU is our of stock everywhere near me (for where the price isn't too high), same with Lenovo y540 which was my first choice, I'm trying to choose between the nitro with the 2060 and 10750, and omen 2060 and 9750h.
    Seeing as you say that the performance of the 10750 for the nitro doesn't perform as well as the same CPU in other models, do you think it's possible that the Omen is better in that config?
    Surprisingly the omen also cost about 170USD more while having weaker CPU, and 16gb ram compared to the 32GB of the nitro. How would you compare both laptops given these specs?

    • Herman

      August 13, 2020 at 9:35 pm

      Quick correction. I found an Omen with 9750, 2060 but with 32gb ram for similar price as the 10750, 2060 32gb nitro.
      Still, how would you compare them (aesthetics wise I prefer the HP)

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 14, 2020 at 6:46 pm

      idk about the Omen, have never tested their products. they're hard to come by over here and HP have no interest in sending us review units, despite our efforts over the years.

      • Herman

        August 15, 2020 at 5:58 pm

        I see.
        Thanks for the response.
        Quick addition after more thorough search:
        I found a Lenovo p5 with the same GPU rtx2060, and 10875h cpu, 16GB ram, 1T.
        It is roughly 160USD more expansive.
        I prefer its esthetics, and with the better GPU it seems worth it.
        Do you have an opinion about how it compares?

  4. Daniel

    August 17, 2020 at 3:41 pm

    i wanna laptop with an rtx 2060 and an intel processor but cant really make up my mind, my top picks are the acer nitro 5 and the helios 300,can you give any advice on which is better and more budget friendly or a kinda versus review?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 17, 2020 at 5:48 pm

      we've reviewed both. If within budget, the Helios 300 is a better laptop.

      • Daniel

        August 17, 2020 at 10:01 pm

        Thanks for the response, really appreciate your work

        • George

          August 24, 2020 at 8:50 pm

          Was told this was a top of the line gaming laptop for my budget (total was $1400 cdn from Walmart) i brought it home went to install my game there is no disc drive, has to attend an extra $50 to install the game on my to of the line gaming laptop top, it only has 1080p screen, dosen't have 4k abilities. I have a Google Pixel 3a running Lord's mobile with 3 accounts simultaneously 24/7 while still using my phone for everything else i need and never have any issues, i run 3 accounts simultaneously the laptop crashes and needs to be restarted. All i have done with it so far is play spore (am 8 year+ game that is no where near to of the line graphics and the game is constantly lagging and glitching and freezing. I've had the computer a month and it needed to be hard reset 4 times so far from freezing. The battery life is essentially non existent full charge 100% the laptop will crash with 0 battery in less than 2h of watching Netflix, (don't plan to use it to binge watch on a bus or plane) and all together i feel like my Toshiba from 8 years ago for $400 cheaper was equivalent to this machine, my Google Pixel 3a i feel is a superior machine, and have been nothing but disappointed with the acer nitro 5 i7 since i got it

  5. simo

    October 29, 2020 at 9:10 pm

    if you had to choose between the i7-10750H Nitro 5 with gtx 1650ti vs hp pavilion Gaming laptop with (almost) identical spec, which would you prefer buildwise and ease upgradability wise?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 29, 2020 at 9:26 pm

      I haven't touched the HP Pavillion in a few generations, so can't comment on those. They're hard to get over here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *