Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons

Acer Aspire S7-393 review – a bump to Broadwell

Acer Aspire S7-393 review – a bump to Broadwell
By Andrei Girbea - @ andreigirbea , last updated on September 22, 2015
Summary: The Acer Aspire S7-393 is an iteration of the "if it's not broke, don't fix it" policy and that's because it is identical to the S7-392, with two exceptions: the hardware platform and the Wireless module. And since the S7-392 was one of the best premium 13 inchers in its days, the S7-393 remains one as well today, with its sleek aluminum and glass made body, its excellent display and fast performance, corroborated with a fair price. But it's starting to show its age here and there, when compared to its more recently designed rivals.
Rating: 4 / 5   Price range: $1299


well made and nice looking, thin body, decent keyboard and trackpad, excellent touchscreen, runs mostly quiet and cool, fair battery life, cheaper than the competition


annoying keyboard layout, quiet speakers, very sharp metallic edges

Acer haven’t been too creative with their ultrabooks in the last years. While other manufacturers have been pushing out several new models each year, they mostly stuck with a single one: the Aspire S7. The beginning of 2015 brings a “new” iteration of the same device, the Acer Aspire S7-393, which we’re going to review here. But in all fairness, this is merely last year’s Aspire S7-392 with Broadwell hardware inside and an upgraded Wi-Fi module.

There’s nothing wrong with sticking to a single model and doing it right, as proven by some other manufacturers as well, like Apple or Samsung, and the truth is the Aspire S7-392s were among the best 13 inch ultrabooks money could buy in 2013 and 2014. They were sleek, well built and fast, they didn’t run out of juice too fast and didn’t have any major shortcomings. But there were still certain aspects Acer could have improved on a new model and they didn’t with the S7-393.

As a result, the only major novelty here is the hardware platform. We have the top configuration for our test with an Intel Core i7-5500U processor, 8 GB of RAM, a 256 GB Raid 0 SSD and the QHD touchscreen. And as I’ve showed you in my previous analysis of the Broadwell U i7 processors, that should translate in a slight speed bump and longer battery life.

This is the Acer Aspire S7-393, the 2015 model: the same as before on the outside, but with a few new goodies inside

This is the Acer Aspire S7-393, the 2015 model: the same as before on the outside, but with a few new goodies inside

However, it’s important to know that we’re reviewing a media-sample here that came directly from Acer, as the retail versions are just starting to pop-out here and there, in a few corners of the world. That’s why this unit’s performances are somewhat hindered by unbaked drivers and the final versions should perform better. But more about that below in the article, so stick with me if you’re interested in the 2015th edition of the Aspire S7, you’re going to find out plenty of things about it.

The Acer Aspire S7-393 video review

The specs sheet

Acer Aspire S7-393
Screen 13.3 inch, 2560 x 1440 px resolution, IPS, touchscreen
Processor Intel Broadwell Core i7-5500U CPU
Video integrated Intel 5500 HD
Memory 8 GB DDR3 (non-upgradeable)
Storage 256 GB RAID 0 SSD (mSATA 50 mm)
Connectivity Wireless AC, Bluetooth 4.0
Ports 2xUSB 3.0, SD card reader, HDMI Acer Converter Port
Battery 4 Cell 6280 mAh 47 Wh
Operating system Windows 8.1
Size 322 mm or 12.7 in (L) x 222 mm or 8.8 in (W) x 13 mm or 0.51 in (H)
Weight about 1.31 kg (2.9 pounds)
Extras two stage white backlit keyboard, adapter included with VGA, USB 2.0 and Fast-Ethernet, faux-leather sleeve included

Design and exterior

On the outside the S7-393 is identical to its predecessor. A mix of glass, metal and matte plastic is used for the entire case and the laptop still comes in a white and silver color scheme, which makes it rather special, as there are only few other white ultraportables out there. It also makes it a bit too flashy for my personal liking, especially with that backlit Acer logo on the hood that glows in the dark, but hey, de gustibus.

Aluminum is used for the frame and chassis, as well as the entire interior and the screen’s hinges. The hood is covered in a layer of Gorilla Glass, doubled by another one on the other side, on-top of the display. The bottom and the laptop’s back are made from plastic though: white for the belly and silver for the rear, around the cooling vents. All these mixed together lead to a beautiful and excellently crafted machine that feels quite sturdy in daily use. However, this is not built like a brick and especially the lid-cover should be treated carefully, as the glass bends fairly easily and puts pressure on the panel, which can cause problems in time. So keep that in mind.


The laptop’s very sleek silhouette gets some of the blame for that, but it’s probably worth it, as the S7 receives many praises for its slimness (just 0.5 inch thick). In fact, it’s slimmer than most other 13 inchers out there. But it’s not very compact though, it has a pretty large footprint, as showcased by the bezels around the display, especially when you put it next to the recently released Dell XPS 13 2015. And it’s not incredibly light either, tipping the scales at around 2.9 lbs. So the truth is, while the S7 remains a beautiful piece of machinery, it’s less impressive today than it was when this design was first unveiled several years ago, compared to what else has been launched in the meantime.

However, my single and biggest gripe with the S7’s design are its very sharp edges. The rear, near the vents, is the only finger friendly area around this laptop and the only place where you can grab it without any fear. Anywhere else and those metal edges will bite. Even opening the lid can be a bit of an adventure if you get in contact with the inner metallic edge that goes around the display. Some of you might say that I’m making a big deal out of a minor aspect, but I’m just used to more friendly designs and never appreciated this particular aspect of the S7.

Now, with that out of the way, let’s talk about the practical aspects. The laptop sits well on the desk, despite resting on some of the tiniest rubber feet I’ve ever seen. One can even lift the screen with a single hand to about 90 degrees, cause beyond that the hinge stiffens and you’ll need both hands to push the screen further back. And BTW, the screen goes flat to more than 180 degrees, but it does not convert. Still, this particular aspect makes the S7 versatile if you use your laptop while lying in bad or on the sofa, leaned on your legs, like I do.

Once you’ll lift the screen, you’ll notice the laptop’s interior, cut from a single piece of metal. Its clean look is spoiled by those two stickers on the left, but you can easily peel them off if you want to. The S7 offers plenty of space for the keyboard and trackpad, plus a fairly-roomy palm-rest area, although that space above the keyboard seems somewhat wasted (more about that a bit later).

Moving on, there’s a fair selection of ports on the Aspire S7, with two USB 3.0s, a card-reader, full-size HDMI and a special connector that looks like mini-DP/Thunderbolt, but it’s actually something called an Acer Converter Port. It’s meant to take the adapter included in the pack, which offers VGA output, an extra USB 2.0 and a Fast-Ethernet port. In fact, this connector is physically identical to a mini-DisplayPort, thus certain monitors can be powered with a miniDP to HDMI adapter, if you’re looking to link two external monitors to the S7. Thunderbolt compatible accessories won’t work though.


Acer offers the S7 with at least two different screen options and our model comes with the 2560 x 1440 px IPS touchscreen version, which is one of the better displays you’ll find on a 13 inch ultrabook these days. In fact, it’s the same screen that was available on the Aspire S7-392 models.

The viewing angles are solid, there’s no backlight bleeding around the corners, touch works flawlessly and the panel is fairly bright and sharp. My colorimeter didn’t measure the same brightness levels as other publications published in their reviews of the S7-392 though or the same deep blacks. It also measured slightly skewed colors out of the box, with a visible cold/blueish tint, but those can be fixed with a calibration run, so you’ll be able to tackle color-accurate work with this laptop, but you’ll need to calibrate it first.

Anyway, check out the numbers below for yourself (measured with a Spyder4Elite):

  • Panel HardwareID: Sharp SPH13FF LQ133T1Jw02;
  • Coverage: 100% sRGB, 73% NTSC, 78% Adobe RGB;
  • measured gamma: 2.1 ;
  • max brightness in the middle of the screen: 254 cd/m2;
  • contrast at max brightness: 400:1;
  • white point: 7100 K;
  • black on max brightness: 0.63 cd/m2;
  • average DeltaE: 4.47 uncalibrated, 0.80 calibrated.


Once again I have to mention the stiff and well-made metallic hinges and the fact that the screen leans back beyond 180 degrees, which for some can be a major selling point.

Keyboard and trackpad

I’ve never been a fan of the S7’s keyboard and since it hasn’t changed from the previous versions, I’m still not. The issue here is the layout Acer chose for this keyboard. Despite having enough room for a complete set of keys, they left the 6th row of Function keys out and instead combined the numbers and Function keys together. For me this extremely annoying, but I admit I’m more sensitive than most other when it comes to a keyboard, since I spend many hours typing/programming each day and I actually use those Function keys often.

That aside, there are also some other weird key placements, like the ~ placed just near the CapsLock key or the Del placed on the bottom row near the Right Alt. And BTW, there’s no right CTRL key.

However, I do think the average user can get used to these changes and once we look past the layout, the typing experience isn’t bad. The keys are large and proper spaced, they are responsive and register clicks even if you don’t press them in their middle and on top of all these, their stroke is decent for a device as slim as this one. In fact, the travel distance is superior to what you’re offered by competitors like the Dell XPS 13 or the Samsung Ativ Book 9 Plus and as a result I was able to type fairly fast and mostly accurate during the time I used this laptop. But the layout is so darn annoying, especially to someone like me who’s used to the full set of keys on the Lenovo ThinkPad X220.

There’s another thing I found annoying. The writing on the keys is a sort of gray, while the keys are silver. Because of that, once you turn ON the illumination, the writing blends in with the key around, which makes it difficult to spot what’s on each key from a standard angle. And that’s annoying even for an experienced typist that doesn’t look at the keyboard much, again, because some keys are not where they’re supposed to be, due to the changed layout. In fact, with the illumination activated, it’s a lot easier to spot a key’s secondary Function, since those are painted in a darker blue, than their main Functions.

The trackpad is fine overall. It’s centered to the space bar and not to the entire laptop, which some of you might not appreciate, and it’s fairly large. This 2015 model uses a Synaptics touchpad with a smooth surface that offers enough grip and a pleasant tactile experience.

This surface is responsive and accurate most of the time. In order to perform physical clicks you need to press it in its lower right and end corners. Taps work well too and so do some gestures. However, those can get finicky from time to time and while things like two finger scrolling and zooming are supported, I couldn’t get two finger Back and Forward gestures to work.

Hardware, performance and upgrade options

Like I mentioned in the beginning, the Aspire S7-393 is only a novelty on the inside and unfortunately that’s the part I couldn’t properly test on this early pre-production model.

I mean, I’ve took it through my usual set of benchmarks and activities, but the numbers aren’t as good as they should be, due to outdated and immature drivers. The only graphics driver that actually worked on this test unit dates from September 2014 and there’s nothing newer on Acer’s website, plus the generic Intel drivers don’t work. So take the numbers in this section with reserve and better check out this article if you’re interested in what the Broadwell i7-5500U processor can actually deliver in benchmarks.

The S7-393 packs the latest Intel Broadwell Core I7 processors

The S7-393 packs the latest Intel Broadwell Core I7 processors

In everyday use the S7-393 proved lightning fast. The 8 GB of RAM and the RAID 0 SSD (above average read performance, average write speeds) sure help and the laptop boots from cold in under 10 seconds, resumes from sleep almost instantaneously and handles smoothly daily tasks like browsing, watching all sorts of movie content, editing photos and texts and even playing some games. I haven’t run that many titles on this unit because the unbaked drivers would have resulted in poorer results than you should actually expect with the retail units, but I did run some benchmarks.

  • 3DMark 11: P1151;
  • 3DMark 13:  Ice Storm – 51860, Cloud Gate –5002, Sky Driver – 2609, Fire Strike – 724;
  • PCMark 08: Home Conventional – 2432;
  • CineBench 11.5: OpenGL 25.32 fps, CPU 2.90 pts, CPU Single Core 1.31 pts;
  • CineBench R15: OpenGL 29.15 fps, CPU 266 cb, CPU Single Core 121 cb;
  • X264 Benchmark 4.0: Pass 1 – 87.79 fps, Pass 2 – 16.13 fps.

The numbers are very close to what I got on an i5-5200U / 4GB configuration with a slower SSD, hence clearly flawed by those drivers, and you should expect them to be 15-20% better on the final products.

I do have to mention one thing that will probably have an impact on performance out of the box: bloatware. There’s plenty of it installed on this Acer laptop and I recommend getting rid of it. I did that and while at starters Windows 8.1 shows around 90 active processes running with the computer idle, once cleaned, their number drops to under 60. And yes, these aren’t intensive processes, but they are still things that run in the background and affect both the speed and the battery life.

That aside, the Acer Aspire S7 will probably be available in a bunch of different configurations and some of you might want to know how it handles upgrades. Well, the back is extremely easy to take apart, you’ll just need a Torx screw for that and once in, you can have a peak at the internals.

There are two cooling fans on this device and the heat-pipes are actually on top of the motherboard, which offers a justification for that large unused space on the interior’s top part, above the keyboard. You’ll also notice that the RAM is soldered and cannot be upgraded, but the storage can, as well as the battery can be replaced later down the road if needed. There’s also the ability to change and upgrade the Wi-Fi module, but for that you’ll need to first unscrew and lift the entire motherboard, as the chip is hidden behind it, and that can be a bit more complicated if you don’t know exactly what you’re doing.

Anyway, about that SSD. Acer uses a 50 mm mSATA SSD (in this case with two 128 GB segments grouped in RAID 0 on the same PCB), which is an older standard, as most other manufacturers these days went with M.2 NGFF or PCI-E solutions. However, the mSATA sticks are actually cheaper than the M.2s, are available in up to 1 Tb capacities, plus match them in speed, but are slower than the PCI-E models. And the mSATA RAID 0 version on the tested config is faster than a standard M.2 NGFF module.

Noise, Heat, Connectivity, speakers and others

Noise and heat are not going to be a problem with everyday use, as long as you make sure not to cover the intake and exhaust grills on the laptop’s belly and back. The aluminum interior does get warm when browsing or watching movies, but it’s far from being hot, while the two fans remain mostly inactive or run at almost inaudible levels.

Don't cover the intake and exhaust grills

Don’t cover the intake and exhaust grills

Once you push the laptop a bit more, like start a 4K movie or have 20+ tabs open in the browser or run a game, the fans will start ramping up and the temperatures will raise. I haven’t stressed this laptop, but I did run a game for several hours in order to see how it performs under load and how hot it gets. The pictures below will tell you more about both the outer case and the inner components’ temperatures in several different conditions.

temperatures-dailyuse temperatures-highload

*Daily Use – 1080p Youtube video in IE for 30 minutes;
*Gaming – Need For Speed: Most Wanted on High for 30 minutes

It’s worth noting that once the laptop heats up and the fan kicks in, it will require a few minutes for it to cool and the fans to go quiet again. But the whole process is way faster than on the Dell XPS 13. With casual use, if the fans will need to start from time to time, they’ll also turn off quickly once the more demanding activities finish up.

Connectivity wise, the Acer Aspire S7-393 offers Bluetooth 4.0, Wi-Fi AC and Fast-Ethernet with the adapter included in the pack. The faster wireless module in another novelty here, as the older S7-392s relied on Wi-Fi N modules only. Acer went with an Intel Dual-Band Wireles AC 7265 solution and this provides proper speeds and strong signal strength. However, while I still get 5 bars of signal at 30 feet from the router with 2 walls in between, the speed does drop to about half when compared to what’s recorded near the router, so if you have dodgy Wi-Fi signal in your house, the Acer Aspire S7-393 might struggle a bit in certain situations.

Two speakers are placed on this laptop, on the bottom sides, and while the audio quality is half-decent for a laptop in this class, the volume is rather poor, as it peaks to only about 77 dB in my tests. The system will be able to fill in a regular room, but will not keep up in a noisy environment. Acer’s Dolby Digital Plus software can help you tweak the audio and create different sound profiles, but can’t change much.

Last but not least there’s the webcam. It’s placed on top of the screen, with a 720p sensor, and provides blurry and washed-out images. Two microphones sit on the front lip, so if you need this for occasional Skype calls it will do, but don’t expect much. In fact, expect very little.

Battery life

Acer put a 4 Cell 47 Wh battery on this laptop which is a bit small these days for its large footprint. Still, it delivers good enough results, and keep in mind these numbers will probably improve with more mature drivers.

The screen is manually set to 50%  brightness, which in this case equals ~120 nits, and the Auto brightness functions are disabled.

  • 3.8 W (~12 h of use) – idle, Power Saving Mode, screen at 0%, keyboard illumination OFF, Wi-Fi OFF;
  • 6.5W (~7 h 15 min of use) – very light browsing and text editing in Google Drive, Balanced Mode, keyboard illumination LVL1, screen at 50%, Wi-Fi ON;
  • 7 W (~6 h 45 minutes of use) – 1080p fullscreen video on Youtube in Internet Explorer, Balanced Mode, keyboard illumination OFF, screen at 50%, Wi-Fi ON;
  • 8 W (~6 h of use) – 1080p fullscreen .mkv video in VLC Player, Balanced Mode, keyboard illumination OFF, screen at 50%, Wi-Fi OFF;
  • 9 W (~5 h 20 min of use) – heavy browsing in Internet Explorer, Balanced Mode, keyboard illumination LVL1, screen at 50%, Wi-Fi ON;

I’m not going to comment on these numbers because I can’t tell for sure if that’s exactly what we should expect from the final models. On a first look they seem just about right though, the S7 tested here is a bit more power-hungry than the XPS 13 reviewed a few days ago, but it packs a faster processor and a higher resolution touchscreen. And while 6-7 hours of daily use might not sound incredible these days, it’s definitely not bad either.

Browsing and watching videos in Firefox and especially in Chrome requires more energy than on IE and lowering the screen’s resolution has of course NO impact on the numbers above.

The laptop is paired with the same charger as the 392 model, which consists of the 45 Wh power brick with a 6 feet cable, plus an extra cable if you need it. Charging the laptop from 10% to 100% takes about 2 hours and 30 minutes. At the same time they haven’t changed the annoying charging tip, which still wobbles in place and feels poorly built for a device in this price range, as you can see from the video review.

Price and availability

The Acer Aspire S7-393 has recently popped out in some stores around the world.

Acer’s US store lists a Aspire S7-393-7451 model that includes an Intel Core i7-5500U CPU, 8 GB of RAM, a 256 GB SSD, Wi-Fi AC and a FHD touchscreen, for $1299, which is a fair price when compared to its direct Broadwell U competitors. The same kind of money would only get you an i5-5200U /8 GB / 256 GB SSD version of the Dell XPS 13 and an i5-5200U / 4 GB / 128 GB version of the Samsung ATIV Book 9 Plus 2015, albeit with a higher resolution display. The i7 configurations on this latter two will set you back some other several hundreds dollars. So the Aspire is competitively priced.

Check out this link for up to date prices at the time you’re reading this post.

Acer will offer the configuration tested here as well, with the QHD screen, but based on our previous experience with the S7-392, it will not be available in the US, but only in Europe and some other regions. The retail price for this model is set at around 1500 euros over here.

The Acer Aspire S7-393 will retail for $1299 in the US, with a top-tier configuration but only a FHD touchscreen

The Acer Aspire S7-393 will retail for $1299 in the US, with a top-tier configuration but only a FHD touchscreen


As I mentioned from the beginning, the Acer Aspire S7-393 is basically the same laptop as its predecessor, the S7-392, but with a hardware bump to Broadwell. Except for that and the Wi-Fi AC chip now bundled, nothing else has changed.

The new platform will translate in a slight performance boost, most of the time unnoticeable in daily activities, and maybe 30 to 60 minutes longer run times in certain cases. I wasn’t able to properly test those in this article, due to the early and immature drivers, but that’s what I’d expect based on my experience with the Broadwell U line. Thus, when it comes to choosing between an Aspire S7-392 2014 and the 2015 model, it’s really going to be a matter of how much cheaper you can find the 392 versions. I’d say get the 392s if you can save $100 or more.

That aside, Acer’s decision not to change their flagship ultrabook leaves me with mixed feelings. The “if it’s not broke don’t fix it” approach has worked for them in the last two years, but the competition hasn’t been slackening in the meantime. Dell, Lenovo and Samsung already have some very interesting Broadwell U models in store and I’d reckon other manufacturers will offer their options as well soon enough.

The 2015 edition of the Aspire S7 remains one of the best premium 13 inch ultrabooks on the market, but it's starting to show its age

The 2015 edition of the Aspire S7 remains one of the best premium 13 inch ultrabooks on the market, but it’s starting to show its age

Even so, if you want a premium 13 inch ultrabook with a touchscreen, high end specs and a white body, the Aspire S7-393 should be high on your list. It’s not without minor flaws, but there’s nothing utterly wrong with it either and it sells for $200-$300 less than a similarly configured competitor. On the other hand, if you’re not willing to spend $1300+ on your machine, this Acer is not for you, as the Aspire S7-393 will not be available in any lower-end configurations from what I know. But there are other more affordable Broadwell powered 13 inch ultraportables out there.

At the end of the day, the Aspire S7-393 remains one of the most interesting ultrabooks on the market. But it no longer shines among its piers as its predecessors did in their days. It has aged…

With that in mind we’re going to draw the line here. Hope you enjoyed this and please get in touch in the comments section if there’s anything to add to this review or if you have any questions, I’m around to reply and help.

Andrei Girbea, aka Mike, Editor-in-Chief and a huge fan of mobile computers. Since 2007, I've only owned smaller than 12.5" laptops and I've been testing tens, if not hundreds of mini laptops. You'll find mostly reviews and guides written by me here on the site.


  1. fokka

    February 9, 2015 at 1:13 pm

    i like the overall look of the s7 and it’s still one of the slimmer machines, which is nice. i also wouldn’t lament about the weight or the footprint, but i would surely appreciate if manufaturers would work to get battery life more reliably in the range of 10 hours, instead of 5-6 hours when you’re really using the machine.
    i’d happily sacrifice at least some of the thinness for improved battery life, since battery life is only to get worse in the time you own the device.

    what i don’t like about the design is the mix of metal, glass and plastic. i can understand having glass on the lid for design reasons, but plastic on the bottom is a cheap move from acer, even if it’s slightly more affordable than some of the competition.

    i like that you can open the lid a full 180 degree, more laptops should be able to do that, but as the author, i think the keyboard should come with at least an extra row for the function keys. i hate having to press key combos for each and everything and having to use two hands for simple things like screen brightness is just stupid, imho.

    i also think the trackpad should be centered, i don’t really see the benefit of moving it so far to the left.

    it’s kinda sad you can’t reliably judge performance and battery life with pre-release samples like this, because on an iterative upgrade like the s7, what else is there to change?

    still, thanks for the review, the s7 seems to remain a nice little ultrabook, the competition isn’t getting any lesser though.

  2. Fil

    February 11, 2015 at 10:17 am

    Thanks for the excellent review on this one!
    I was wondering how this compares to the newly available broadwell-upgraded Asus UX303LN (I7 5500U, e.g. here: cyberport.de/?DEEP=1C28-1X1&APID=6)

    As you rated the haswell UX303LN very highly, I was wondering how the broadwell version compares, and how you would see its competitiveness nowadays.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 11, 2015 at 10:55 am

      The UX303LN remains a top pick if you want the dedicated graphics. In fact, the only viable 13 inch option. The Broadwell update will have a minor influence on performance and might have some influence on battery life. But it won’t be a major upgrade from the Haswell model. In fact, it’s only a minor one.

      The performance boost in games offered by the Nvidia 840M chip is still massive and well worth the money if you plan to run modern games. the Intel HD 5500 solution is 20-40% faster than the older Intel HD 4400, but still miles after a dedicated chip.

      BTW, does that shop have the Broadwell model in stock? I can’t seem to figure it out from the page, my German sucks :P

      • Fil

        February 11, 2015 at 2:19 pm

        Thanks for that assessment!
        Yes, it is on stock. And since I got the alert today, I guess its newly available.

  3. Fil

    February 11, 2015 at 10:31 am

    As an afterthought of ASUS UX303LN (Broadwell) vs other newer Broadwell ultrabooks like this one:
    I understood that the Broadwell processors pack strongly improved graphics. Is it still worth to go for a medium performance dedicated graphics liek the 840M on the UX303LN? Or is the perfomance gap so small that it does not justify?

  4. Incognito

    February 13, 2015 at 4:04 pm

    Nice review man, was wondering whether you heard any news on the lenovo yoga 3 14inch laptop. This is supposedly coming with an Nvidia graphics card as well as a 1080p IPS display which perfectly suits my needs, but haven’t heard any news from it.

    I also saw your review with the Dell XPS 13 which I am also interested in getting but waiting for an ultrabook with dedicated graphics below £1000 in the UK (worse choice of laptops ever).

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 15, 2015 at 8:55 am

      The Yoga 3 14 is already shipping in the US if I’m not mistaken and should land in Europe soon. Can’t say much about it for now, we’ll have to wait for the reviews.

  5. JMAN

    February 20, 2015 at 10:08 pm

    This is definitely a beautiful laptop. As someone who had the S7-392 laptop, I would say this is high on my list for an Ultrabook. However, I had to return the S7-392 last year because there was a serious WiFi connectivity issue that Acer didn’t have a resolution for. More specifically, the WiFi connection would fail every few minutes, and there were over 40 pages of people reporting the same issue on the Acer Support S7-392 forms. And none of the wireless driver updates from the Acer site seemed to address the dropped connections issue. My question is, did you experience the same on the older S7-392 model and have you seen the same issue on the new S7-393?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 21, 2015 at 2:11 pm

      I’ve read about these issues but I haven’t experienced them on this test model. That doesn’t necessarily mean Asus got a fix…

      • Sietse Vliegen

        June 10, 2015 at 9:28 pm

        No wifi issues with this ultrabook. Works like a charm!

    • ML100

      February 23, 2015 at 2:05 pm

      JMAN re wireless – The wireless issue is related to W8 power management on wlan and nothing to do with drivers – this issue seems to be present on a relatively large proportion of intel 7260 chips >6%. It is a shame MS refuse to admit the problem, upgrading to W7 fixes this on every device. I had the same issue with my 392 until I purged W8 from the device

  6. Anton

    February 24, 2015 at 10:55 pm

    Hi Andrei, I bought GIGABYTE p34w-v3 that have 970m. Laptop itself superfast and light only 1,71kg. However there are a few things i don’t like about that laptop. It overheats during common activities. E.g surfing a web boosts its fan to a speed making noise similar to jet taking off. I don’t do a lot gaming, particularly i play only 10% of all the time. Is there a way to disable something inside BIOS or NVIDIA panel ? I want to be able to use laptop with lower settings that it won’t overheat and turn it ON when I want to play video game. please help ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 25, 2015 at 2:48 pm

      Hi Anton. I’m not that familiar with Gigabyte laptops, but most units allow you to disable the dedicated graphics, if they come with Optimus. You can do that in BIOS, from device manager or even better, from the Nvidia Control Panel. However, are you sure the graphics are determining the overheating? Like I said, you can select when the dedicated chip becomes active from the Nvidia Control Panel.

  7. Guy

    May 7, 2015 at 3:12 am

    Don’t be fooled by the appearance. It looks nice, it’s fast no doubt. The only major issue is bad Image Retention. It can be an annoying factor or a major problem especially for those who deal with graphics. Do consider the image retention factor when buying.

    • Sietse Vliegen

      June 10, 2015 at 9:35 pm

      What do you mean by “bad image retention”? Color accuracy?

      Very few displays have perfect color reproducion out of the box. The display on my S393 is slightly on the blue side, but this can easily be tuned.

      However, if you work a lot with graphics, I would probably not buy a glossy display in the first place.

  8. Syed Alam

    June 30, 2015 at 6:29 am

    Did you guys review the 1440 p or the 1080 p? Where did you find the 1440 p in US? I am confused?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 30, 2015 at 10:01 am

      1440p, it’s stated clearly in the article. This model is not available in the US from what I know, but it is here in Europe.

  9. Brian

    February 25, 2016 at 3:46 pm

    Hey in this article you said that charging takes around two and a half hours. Do you mean this when the laptop is off or in sleep mode? Because mine takes around 3 and a half hours while i’m still using it, which I’m not sure if it is slower than usual despite the Acer care saying my battery condition is ‘good’

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 25, 2016 at 5:06 pm

      Charging times depend on what you’re doing on the computer during this time. It will take 2.5 hours when the laptop is used lightly – text editing, some browsing.

  10. Nathaniel

    May 5, 2016 at 9:31 am

    Great Review. Please could you email me your colour calibration file?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 5, 2016 at 2:55 pm

      Sry, I didn’t use to keep it at the time of this post, so I don’t have it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *