Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus ROG G752 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus ROG G752VT review – Skylake hardware, new looks and a bit more

30 Comments

  1. Mikel

    January 12, 2016 at 11:19 pm

    I have $2000 to spend on a gaming laptop. I can’t decide between the ASUS ROG G751/G752 series and the Acer Predator. I want to be able to play all the latest games on high or even ultra with no issues. I plan to play mostly while sitting in my recliner at home, so the laptop will actually be on my lap most of the time. I’d like something that stays cool and is fairly quiet. Battery life isn’t an issue, as I’ll have it plugged in most of the time. Any advice? Are there other models you’d recommend?

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 13, 2016 at 3:15 pm

      Hmmm, from what I can tell, $1999 can get you a Predator with the GTX 980M graphics, but I couldn’t find any version of the ROG G752VY in this budget. Could you?

      • Mikel

        January 13, 2016 at 4:31 pm

        Here’s one of the G751 ROGs I’m looking at. It has a 980m with 4GB for less than $2000. But you’re right. I can’t find a G752 ROG with a 980m for that price.

        store.asus.com/us/item/201510AM160007800/A18486

        What sells me on Asus ROGs is the cooling. All the reviews I’ve read or seen say it has the best cooling in it’s class. I’ve heard different things about the Predator. Some say the cooling is great, others say the extra fan doesn’t help the much. But I think one of the downsides to a ROG is that the fans can’t be accessed for cleaning. The G752 models seem to address this with a dust release system, but like you mentioned, you can’t find a G752 model with a 980m for my budget lol. I’m torn.

        • Andrei Girbea

          January 13, 2016 at 4:54 pm

          Not the same thing. The G751 is built on Haswell processors, the Predator gets the latest Skylake platforms.

          On the Predator, the cooling system is very good and YES, the extra optical-bay fan doesn’t do much, but again, that’s because the main cooling is well done. Imo, the Predator G9 and the ROG G751 have many things in common, design wise. Personally, I’d probably go with the Predator, albeit I admit there’s little we can tell right now about its reliability. Still, it makes sense getting the newer hardware with DDR4 memory, nvme storage, etc.

          Update: On a second thought, that G751JY sells for $1569, while the Acer Predator sells for $1999. If the two were close in price, I would have recommended the Predator, as mentioned above. But in these conditions, I think the G751JY is the better deal for the money.

          • Mikel

            January 13, 2016 at 5:53 pm

            Thank you very much for your input. It helps a lot.

  2. Richard Dauler

    January 22, 2016 at 5:34 am

    I’m looking to find a laptop that I can use for flight simulation (Xplane, MFS) as well as normal home computing such as financial apps. and email/printing. Is the Asus G752VT overkill for what I’m looking for. Thanks for your time.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 22, 2016 at 1:02 pm

      Could be. Depends whether you want a large computer and how much you’re willing to spend.

      The MSI GS60 offers similar performance is a more compact body. Or if you’re on a lower budget, there are plenty of Skylake laptops with Nvidia 960M graphics, both 15 and 17 inchers. Frankly, I don’t know what are the requirements of those flight simulators, so you should start by finding out whether the 960M is powerful enough for the job or you’d rather need a 970M chip

      • Rich

        January 22, 2016 at 3:16 pm

        Thanks Andrie. Guess it would have been helpful to give you the requirements. There asking for a quad core 3.0 GHz or faster, 16-20 GB RAM, high performance,DirectX ll capable video card with at least 4GB of on board RAM. I’ll take a look at the MSI G60. Thanks again for your time.

        • Andrei Girbea

          January 22, 2016 at 3:21 pm

          In this case you’ll need something like the Asus G752VT (gets only a 970M graphics chip wioth 3 GB of VRAM, but should be enough), or you can look at the Asus G751VY/Acer Predator G9-791 or G9-591 with more powerful graphics (Nvidia 980M). The MSI GS60 and GS70 are also options to consider.

          • Rich

            January 22, 2016 at 3:28 pm

            Thanks for the info and your prompt replies.

  3. Jon

    February 9, 2016 at 4:53 am

    I recently purchased the laptop. The store offered a $300 instant rebate that brought the price to $1300.00. Very happy. Battery life could be better. Playing the 1st Tomb Raider and got the sequel free as part of the purchase as well. So deals definitely can be found.

    Those lights on the hood also is something I particularly don’t like and been trying to find out how to turn them off. However, I can’t find that software you mentioned. Where is it?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 9, 2016 at 10:58 am

      Hmmm, it’s one of the ROG programs, it’s hidden among the options. I don’t have the laptop around anymore and don’t remember exactly where to find it

  4. Freddy

    February 25, 2016 at 10:32 pm

    Hi Andrei.
    Yesterday I saw in Tokyo a model G752 VT 30980.
    I see in the web page but I don´t find it

    The Price is very expensive: US$ 3098
    On more thing. What about the battery performance?
    Is it a better versión tan G 750 jy

    Do you agree with that?

  5. Gonzalo

    March 28, 2016 at 6:10 pm

    Hi,

    I’m looking for a great gaming laptop for several years and I think that g752vt could be a good choice. I like its design, its low noise and temperature and its performance. However I’m a bit worried about the weight and if it could accept a eGPU.

    ¿Do you recommend another laptop?

  6. Kevin

    June 5, 2016 at 12:54 am

    Please this laptop G752 it is good for 3D and Multimedia applications like 3Ds Max, after effects and Photoshop ??

    • Gonzalo

      June 12, 2016 at 7:55 pm

      I don’t expect you have any problem of performance with this laptop.

  7. Steve

    June 29, 2016 at 10:50 am

    1st off, my model is the G752VL-DH71. Basically the same computer.

    Has no one else noticed the specs for this “Thunderbolt 3” only read 20 Gbit/s, twice the bandwidth of USB 3.1? asus.com/us/ROG-Republic-Of-Gamers/ROG-G752VL/ bottom of the page

    Those are definitely TB2 transfer rates.

    Upon looking further into say, the GX700, they have an identically formed spec page that states the correct Thunderbolt 3 at 40Gbit/s, four times the bandwidth of USB 3.1.

    asus.com/Notebooks/ROG-GX700VO/ bottom of the page again

    Anyone have anything to add on this? ASUS Customer service has been blowing me off for over 6 days now on this question so I am turning to the community for some guidance. Also, the only reason this is such a big deal to me personally is because I want to hook up my GTX 1080 as an eGPU solution through the Razer Core or another 3rd party solution in order to use the Vive/Rift at full potential. Thanks for any input!

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 29, 2016 at 12:30 pm

      personally, I haven’t tested the TB3 connection, so I can’t comment on the speeds. It should be 40 GBps though, otherwise it wouldn’t be a TB3 port.

      I found this thread online: rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?78890-G752-Thunderbolt-3-only-20-Gbit-s, but it doesn’t offer a clear answer to the question.

  8. John

    July 24, 2016 at 11:30 am

    Hello Andrei, does the G752VT standard 8gb ram version has the ram chip inside the laptop, or on the outside where is easier to access? If you buy G752VT and fill all 4 slots, removing the case, will you loose the warranty?

    I’m thinking of buying G752VT and adding 24gb rams more, 1 ssd and 1 m2 drive but i am afraid that I will loose the warranty… is it ok ?

    Buying the G752VT and maxing it out yourself is cheaper than buying it maxed out from Asus (G752VT + ssd + m2 = 1800E, compared to 2600E from Asus)

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 26, 2016 at 2:55 pm

      1. I don’t know where the RAM is placed on those version. Could try to ask the shop. It would make most sense to be placed in the least accessible slots, but I can’t tell if that’s the case or not.
      2. If you have to access the ram slots beneath the motherboard I’m pretty sure you’ll void warranty.

  9. Anthony Pearce

    August 21, 2016 at 10:23 am

    Hello. I am a volunteer in the South Pacific and my family just recently came to join me, and brought me the G752VT. I realized after buying the laptop that the Benq projector I had my wife purchase was 3D compatible. I couldn’t find evidence that this laptop would play 3D titles, so I had her purchase an LG external 3D Blueray player. I also have some Elephas active 3d glasses. However, with all of this I am not able to view the 3D movies properly. Can you help me with what I am missing?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 21, 2016 at 11:53 am

      Well, I never used a 3D projector, but I do have a regular 3D TV and it plays 3D videos well via HDMI, there’s no need for specialized hardware or software for that. All I have to do is get into the 3D mode (button on the remote). I use digital content though, not Bluray disks, but I can’t see why that would matter.

      So do you have the content in a digital format? If yes, you can try putting it on a stick and play it from the projector. You can also look for a 3D trailer online, download it, and see if it works on your setup. Also, did you try with more than one disk? Like I said, the laptop should be capable of dealing with this just fine

  10. Uber

    September 9, 2016 at 5:48 pm

    Hi,

    please, how can i calibrate colours without spending money in physical calibrator ?

    thank you

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 10, 2016 at 4:50 am

      IF you have the exact screen tested here, there’s a ICC calibrated profile available for download in the Screen section, which you can add to your laptop. Here’s how: pcmonitors.info/articles/using-icc-profiles-in-windows/

  11. Jove Tyson

    October 11, 2016 at 6:38 am

    Hello Andrei,

    Great article. I am a filmmaker shooting mostly HD footage, but the occasional 4K project. I use Premiere and other Adobe apps for editing. I am in need of a portable workstation and have come to the realisation that Apple might not be my best option for value. What are your thoughts on a gaming laptop to do the above requirements. I appreciate your input on your above comments greatly and am fully aware this is essentially free info you’re offering, but nonetheless its really helpful and I am glad people like you take the time to educate the market.

    Kind Thanks,

    Jove

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 11, 2016 at 7:20 am

      Depends on your budget. If it’s really big, you’d probably be better with a workstation like a Dell Precision or an HP ZBook.

      If it’s around the $2000 to $2500 mark, I’d get a gaming laptop with the fastest processor possible (probably a Core i7-6820HQ in that budget), lots of RAM (32 GB will probably suffice) and a decent graphics chip, but the CPU and RAM are more important for graphics works. A good screen will probably help as well. There’s a list of modern gaming laptops with Nvidia 1060 graphics here: http://www.ultrabookreview.com/11702-laptops-nvidia-1060/ , and another with 1070/1080 here: http://www.ultrabookreview.com/10939-laptops-nvidia-1070-1080/ , should be a good place to start your search.

      Also, If you don’t care much about portability you can also look at the Clevo/Sager/Schenker options with Core i7 K series desktop grade processors.

      • Jove Tyson

        October 11, 2016 at 7:27 am

        Thanks Andrei, this is incredibly useful information.

        Portability is paramount in this case. Interesting, so CPU and RAM more than graphics card. I was under the impression I would need at least 16GB Ram and a 970M graphics card with a I7.

        I appreciate the links and will get in touch to tell you which one I purchase. My budget is around $2000.

        Kind Thanks,

        Jove

  12. Steve C

    October 11, 2016 at 11:56 am

    Jove,
    I was recently in the same boat as yourself. I decided to go with an Alienware 17R3. They have several different models, but I decided on the 1080p screen, i7 6700hq processor, I upgraded to 16GB of G.Skill RAM (cost ~$70 and literally took less than 3 minutes start to finish), 970m graphics. I use DaVinci Resolve 12.5 with no major lag issues and as long as you “Create Optimized Media” this baby FLIES! Like Andrei said, the CPU and RAM are a big deal, but the new programs that can take advantage of GPU acceleration will benefit hugely from a more powerful graphics card. I would HIGHLY recommend getting into one of the 10 series NVIDIA laptop chips for this purpose. Another viable option, which is what I personally do, is use an eGPU solution (Alienware Graphics Amplifier) which only costs $200 and lets me JUICE up my performance when stationary at home by using my GTX 980 desktop card in conjunction with the laptop hardware. Just some food for thought, and good luck!!

    • Jove Tyson

      October 14, 2016 at 9:30 am

      Steve, apologies for the lag in delay for this. This is unbelievably good information you’re sharing, and so helpful! Alienware…never thought of them for editing. How are they compared to say Asus Rog’s? And you’re so right about Thunderbolt 3, looks like thats the way the industry will be heading.

      Can I ask a very dangerous question, that holds no intended ignorance. Why would you say, these laptops would be better than a top spec Apple Macbook Pro? I only ask as, its so easy to be tempted to get one as everyone uses one and bangs on about how good they are for editing. But, I am educating myself around software and can see why they’re not the best choice. YOur thoughts would be very appreciated.

      Kind Thanks,

      Jove

  13. Steve C

    October 11, 2016 at 12:08 pm

    Jove, also another thing you will want to keep in mind is a Thunderbolt 3 port. I am using the port on my AW 17R3 to transfer my media to the new Samsung USB type C 3.1 portable hard drives (Samsung SSD T3 250gb or 500gb) and get a constant 480-490mbps WRITE speed using a USB C 3.1 GEN2 cable, which is about $10 on amazon. Not to mention all of the other peripherals coming out which will be able to take advantage of this EXTREMELY high bandwidth connection. Thunderbolt 3 WILL be the future so I would go ahead and get one with that port. There is some confusion a lot of people have over the exact specifications so here is an article to help explain the differences ( pocket-lint.com/news/134112-thunderbolt-3-explained-double-speed-usb-3-1-friendly-dual-4k-support-and-more.amphtml?client=ms-android-att-us )

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *