Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
MSI GS60 Ghost Pro Derek Sullivan Rating: 3.5 out of 5

MSI GS60 Ghost Pro 4K review with Intel Broadwell hardware (Core i7-5700HQ CPU)

9 Comments

  1. Foreigner

    July 24, 2015 at 6:23 pm

    “If you’re like me and hate the badge, you can carefully remove it and replace it with something else. I replaced mine with a cat with glowing eyes. Not exactly as subtle as I’d like but it’s a lot better than a glowing dragon, in my opinion.”

    I’m like you and hate the badge. Can you explain in detail how exactly did you remove it? How does it look like before you replaced it with a cat and after? Some photos would be nice.

    Also, does the FHD version of GS60 use TN or IPS panel? Is it any different than the one from Prestige series? How does it fare compared to, say, Clevo 650SE’s IPS panel?

    Thanks in advance.

    • PavelMagnum

      July 26, 2015 at 6:43 pm

      Using GS60 3K now and the only thing I hate about it is the glowing ring around power button. There are minor flaws as well, sometimes hardwarewise, sometimes softwarewise, but overall I’m pretty much satisfied with it. And the rear illuminated badge doesn’t bother me as I never see it (except for the night time when it helps to not hit the boot with something) :)

      As far I remember, the FHD model was equipped with a PLS screen. Sometimes it’s referred as TN panel, but the one of a decent quality, sometimes it’s called “an equivalent to IPS, but made by Samsung”. Anyway, I’ve chosen 3K IPS screen for the sharpness it provides to the texts. Maybe it ends up a bit shorter on battery time than FHD, but this isn’t going to be a MacBook anyway.

    • Derek Sullivan

      July 27, 2015 at 12:56 pm

      I posted a thread a while back. Do a google search for “glowing dragon replacement”. The process I used was overkill and mainly to get the badge out intact(and because I didn’t know how it was stuck on). I believe with a lot of patience you could use a plastic opening tool to somehow pry it off.

      All the screens are IPS/PLS variants except for the low cost models like the 850M, which are TN.

      • Foreigner

        July 27, 2015 at 11:11 pm

        Thanks for answering my questions Pavel and Derek.

        I checked the thread and I don’t feel comfortable doing this on my own. Plus I’d still need something to fill in the hole. I don’t think I’ll be doing this unless I’m very very desperate.

        My other option would be models without the badge like PX60. But it seems overpriced for its specs. That’s why I’m wondering if PX60 excels in any other area besides the number of speakers.

        PE60 is probably better value than PX60 at the cost of being ~0.4kg heavier. It is ranked relatively high on notebookcheck.net’s “Top 25 notebook displays as of July 2015”, that’s why I’m wondering if it uses a better panel. For my usage, I’m primarily looking for a laptop with excellent display and portability; gaming performance can be secondary.

        • Derek Sullivan

          July 28, 2015 at 2:27 am

          Pretty sure the PX60 and the GS60 are the same in every way except the video card and the color. The GS60 has 4x speakers and is Dynaudio as well.

  2. Richard Fields

    November 4, 2015 at 7:13 pm

    Does anyone have any updates on the new Skylake 4K models? I’ve read other articles that say they’ve updated it to a 60 Hz panel, but I have not seen any reviews as of yet.

    • Derek Sullivan

      November 4, 2015 at 7:31 pm

      It’s been confirmed through user forums that it is 60 Hz but still has the same issues with the yellows. I won’t be getting one to review unfortunately. I was initially thinking of trading up but the single M.2 slot and the different key caps are a step in the wrong direction in my opinion. Maybe on the next gen of graphics cards I’ll have more reason to upgrade.

      • Wouter

        January 31, 2016 at 12:46 pm

        How come my haswell version has a 60hz 4k panel?

        Monitor Name: SAMSUNG LƒFL156FL02-P01.

        Also, the configuration screen shows 60hz. How?

        • Derek Sullivan

          January 31, 2016 at 5:53 pm

          There have been a few on the forums that have said the same thing. Maybe a firmware update or they chose a different panel. Either way, that’s a good thing. Did yours have the yellow issue?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *