Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus G751JY / G751 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Asus G751JY / G751 review – the Nvidia 980M powered gaming laptop

28 Comments

  1. John_TN

    January 2, 2015 at 12:35 pm

    Excellent review. Just a typo I believe: “The G751JT only pack the 970M Nvidia chip, which is significantly faster than the 980M graphics on the G751JY models.” I think you mean slower?

  2. rafal

    January 4, 2015 at 2:24 pm

    Does the laptop use OPTIMUS , technology?

    • ken

      January 21, 2015 at 3:48 am

      No, it doesn’t. Hence, the low runtimes

  3. ken

    January 21, 2015 at 3:51 am

    hey Andrei
    mind doing a review for the new Alienware 15? specifically the one with the gtx 970m chip. I think that one has the best value for money.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 21, 2015 at 12:48 pm

      I’m having a very hard time getting my hands on Alienware laptops over here, but I’ll try. Slim chances though.

      • ken

        January 22, 2015 at 1:04 pm

        Great. thanks.

        Really hard to get a review for this laptop. seems quite promising. Than and the msi ge62

  4. Cedric

    January 21, 2015 at 5:57 am

    It is possible that the testing set you received has some audio issues, which result in sub-woofer dominating the right and left speaker. There is even a forum post dedicated to this issue: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?54313-G751-Imbalanced-Sound-Problem-OFFICIAL-SUPPORT-THREAD

  5. none

    February 13, 2015 at 11:50 pm

    Got G751JY the other day. Confirmed poor sound quality and mediocre display… The rest is just great though.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 14, 2015 at 9:22 am

      Mediocre display? Why?

      • none

        February 15, 2015 at 10:09 am

        Because I come from a AUO B156HW01 v.4, 96% Adobe RGB Gamut, 6500K etc.
        The display is truly mediocre in this expensive laptop, also calibrated it misses too much colors, red == heavy orange, yellowish pictures. Shame on ASUS.

  6. ironhulkmanjr

    February 24, 2015 at 11:52 am

    does this run watchdogs in good fps

  7. Matt Chae

    March 11, 2015 at 11:32 pm

    Hi,
    I have the asus g751jm but i feel like i have a fan problem. I can feel the air or heat at the back fan but only on the left side. I dont feel any air coming out the fan on the rightside where the charger goes in. Is it supposed to do that or both fan should be releasing air? Please help D:

    Thank You

    • Filan

      April 4, 2015 at 8:17 am

      No fan problem, Do something that uses GPU and it will blow hot air. the main thing is that GPUs rarely get warm doing windows things. You will see this in desktop cards too, Almost nothing doing things like surfing the net.

      the unigine valley benchmark for example warms things up. I am still loading in my steam library to see if games do though.

      I know the fan is blowing either way with the ole finger lick test to check for a breeze.

      This laptop seems to have really good thermal to noise.

  8. kps

    April 8, 2015 at 10:21 am

    Dear Andrei,

    That was a very objective review….great work, kudos !!

    can you please advise me on the issue : I need a high performance system for 3D modelling with core i7 processor, at least 16 GB RAm and 4 GB nvidia GPU. Can i go for Dell Precision M6800 or Asus G751??!! Money is not a constraint as the project is well funded. I will be grateful for the help.

    regards

    kps

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 9, 2015 at 5:47 pm

      I’m not familiar with that Dell, so can’t comment on it, but I can vouch for this Asus.

      • Antonio

        May 30, 2015 at 10:29 pm

        Hi Andrei,
        Clearly they are two different machines but between this asus and the MacBook Pro 15 which one has the best performance, the best speed?
        I am not interested in games just programming, coding, math and stats models in matlab VBA etc …, large datasets.
        Thank you.

        • Andrei Girbea

          May 31, 2015 at 10:03 am

          This one can be equipped with a slightly faster processor, more RAM and more diverse storage options. Performance wise, I’d pick it over the Mac, unless design or portability are important.

          One thing to consider are temperatures under load. Since the Mac is much thinner, it will heat up easier. On the G751JY temperatures are not going to be a concern, nor will be throttling.

          • Antonio

            May 31, 2015 at 10:30 am

            Thank you very much.
            I agree.
            I will wait for windows 10, then I will buy the asus or the similar one that at the time will be available. I want a 17.3 because at home I can read everything much better (and I do not want to buy an external monitor), then I will buy prob. buy a dell xps 13 for travelling (it should be able to handle some programming, coding, math and stats models in matlab VBA etc …, as well).
            May be a last question: for the Dell the best option for battery and productivity is clearly the full HD, but in case I buy the QHD+ (3200 x 1800) do you think I will have the scaling problems with high resolution using excel, VBA, matlab, Eviews?
            For example at the moment with Windows 8.1, does the excel menu look very small with a QHD+ (3200 x 1800)?
            Thank you in advance

          • Andrei Girbea

            June 1, 2015 at 9:54 am

            The Office suite supports scaling well, not sure about the other though, I haven’t tried them. The battery life dip is significant for the QHD+ version though, make sure you read some reviews and know exactly what to expect. I’m getting 6-7h on my FHD config, despite Dell claiming up to 15, so I would expect around 5 on the touchscreen model

  9. Antonio

    May 30, 2015 at 10:33 pm

    I think that for my needs they will deliver similar performance but I thought to ask you.
    Thanks

    • Antonio

      June 1, 2015 at 10:48 am

      Thank you

  10. Troy

    July 1, 2015 at 9:40 am

    Got the 880m rog graphics model last year and just brought the 980m rog model reviewed here. i live in the tropics with no aircon at home my kids have been smashing the 880m rog all year and it has not missed a bet 27c to 33c ambient temp in the house and very high humidity in the wet season. So that’s why i brought the new model as well. Now the boys are happy slaughtering each other and there friends on counterstrike global offensive. I must buy if you are debating which gaming laptop to buy go with the Asus G751 Rog

  11. dumbo

    February 15, 2016 at 8:51 am

    between Asus G751JY and Acer Predator 15, which one you recommend?

    Or do you have any other suggestion for me? Thank you

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 15, 2016 at 6:43 pm

      The Asus gets a larger screen, but it’s also a larger and heavier device and you can find it cheaper than the Acer.

      If you don’t mind the extra bulk and don’t need the extras provided by the Predator (DDR4 memory, NVMe storage, etc), I’d get the G751.

      • dumbo

        February 15, 2016 at 8:16 pm

        But which one performs better for gaming? lets say I do not care about the size, price and the weight.

        • Andrei Girbea

          February 15, 2016 at 9:06 pm

          The Predator gets a newer processor, and that will have an impact in games. Nor a significant one though. That of course if we’re considering the 980M 4GB versions for the graphics on both of them.

  12. TheMaster

    April 12, 2016 at 8:02 pm

    Love mine. Found this review trying to find any utility to adjust fan speed to run quieter though! (Runs mega cool under all loads, but playing a vid shouldn’t cause any ramp up)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *