Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus Zenbook UX31E review – this could be the best ultrabook, but…

20 Comments

  1. maría

    March 22, 2012 at 10:53 am

    Hi, I find your review very enlightening.
    I need to know how to find one of these notebooks with the new Elan touchpad. Serial number? Manufacturing date?
    I’m especially looking for these UX31 machines, as I need to have an all around metal computer (I can’t tolerate plastic). I just want to make sure I choose the right model. :)
    Thanks.

    • Mike

      March 23, 2012 at 10:52 am

      Not sure what to advise here… You should ask the shops exactly for this particular detail and make sure you can return the product just in case it doesn’t come with an ELAN… Sry I can’t help you more here

  2. mcsue

    March 27, 2012 at 11:17 pm

    This Asus is easily found now at many retailers. I’ve had this Asus for 2 months now and can’t stand it because of the touchpad. I use it with a wireless mouse, but frequently work in situation where a touchpad is needed. I have the Elan touchpad and it is absolutely not good enough. Wait on this one until Asus gets it right. It’s a really bad touchpad if you work on the computer very many hours a day.
    Good about the laptop: love the battery life.

  3. Rehan

    March 29, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    I have the UX31 and have no problems whatsoever with the keyboard and Elan trackpad. Although I prefer to use a mouse anyway when I can, when I do have to use the trackpad I find it quite smooth and consistent, and the multi-touch gestures work fine. Overall I’m very pleased with this laptop.

  4. maría

    March 30, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    Well I finally went and got myself one of these. The UX31e.
    I’ve been testing it and all I can say for now is that I’m pleased with the machine. I’m only using it for pretty boring stuff, I don’t even do games and all that. So, overall I’m happy with it.

    Thanks!!

  5. Jimmy

    April 9, 2012 at 5:12 pm

    I’ve owned a Toshiba Laptop for many many years. I decided (after two weeks of on line research) to purchase the UX31E. I’m very pleased with it. I got it with the 256 GB SSD. Kind of weird there was a “C” drive and also a “D” drive in the SSD hard drive.
    I had some help but now have consolidated both drives into JUST ONE hard drive, labeled “C” The keys will take a little getting used to, I believe. You definitely have to push each with a solid touch to get them to register…… I can highly recommend this unit, however.

  6. Oyvind

    April 22, 2012 at 11:12 am

    I bought my Asus Zenbook UX31E in January. The PC itself is a fantastic pease of machinery, however I can’t use it due to the faulty keyboard. For those who use the SFT (Search, Find and Type) methode with one finger, it’s probably good enough, but using the touch method when typing, it misses so many entries that it just don’t gives the money worth buying it.
    I will try to claim the money back after trying to get used to the keyboard for 3 1/2 months now. I’t just don’t work as espected. A keyboard should register all the entries when you press down the keys. It’s as simple as that – and it doesn’t.
    If I successfully can deliver it back and and revoke the purchase, I will try to go for the Samsung 5 series instead. I have tested the keyboard on that one, and it’s just delightful to type on.
    The question is if ASUS will deny the request and keep a customer for later purchases or if they will just get rid of the unusable machines, knowing that one single unsatesfied customer doesn’t wreck the future for them.

    • Mike

      April 22, 2012 at 12:52 pm

      I doubt you’ll be able to get your money back after such a long time, but please let us know what happens.

  7. Jimmy

    April 25, 2012 at 9:50 am

    The Elan trackpad is very bad….I ALWAYS plug in a wireless mouse and then NO Problems. I go into the settings and disable the Elan mousepad so I don’t inadvertantly bump it……now I’m very happy with the computer. Still have to “push” rather hard on the keys to make them register, though……getting used to it. It runs very very cool and is amazingly fast.

  8. Gaurav

    May 8, 2012 at 6:27 am

    Hi,
    I like your reviews. I’m having difficulties deciding in choosing the right ultrabook.
    Please help me in deciding which one to buy out of Asus Zenbook UX31, Dell XPS 13 or Lenovo Thinkpad X220?

    Thanks

    Regards
    Gaurav

    • Mike

      May 14, 2012 at 5:39 pm

      Guarav, the X220 is not an ultrabook. It’s heavier and thicker. Otherwise, I can’t really help you unless I know what you expect from such a device.

  9. Richwan

    July 11, 2012 at 6:38 am

    hello mike… how to check a zenbook is using elan or not?

    i check it in registry, and check the software, is it right?
    thx

    • Mike

      July 11, 2012 at 9:04 am

      I don’t know what to say, but you should check the drivers for the trackpad, you will find answers there… Anyway, I searched for a method to see which trackpad is on a Zenbook before actually buying it, based on serial number or something, but I couldn’t find anything

      • Richwan

        July 12, 2012 at 3:28 am

        ok thx for your reply…

        and there is 1 problem about ssd

        i know the adata isfaster, so i am looking for zenbook that using adata

        but, i can not find it in my country (indonesia), so, is it worth to buy zenbook that using sandisk?

        or do u have clue, which zenbook is using adata? maybe from the seriar number, or something ?

        thx

        • Mike

          July 12, 2012 at 10:01 am

          From what I know, there aren’t easy ways to see these details from a serial number. But you should ask the same question in the Asus U31 thread on notebookreview.com, on their forum.

          Also, the Sandisk is considerately slower in benchmarks, but i don’t know if you’re going to easily notice that speed difference during real life use…

          • Richwan

            July 14, 2012 at 4:24 am

            ok thx for your advice

            btw, i confusing to choice between ux21e or ux31e

            i love the ux21e size, that is the real “ultraportable” , but the screen resolution is not good for me to work.

            i use the zenbook when i go to vacation only, i use it to work, no gaming, no watch full hd video

            i have to browse internet, download, chat and do some excel to finish my work, so i need higher resolution, and i will get a bigger “workspace”, but the ux21e size is perfect to me in vacation, so i really confusing to choose between this 2 type of zenbook

            any advice?
            thx

          • Mike

            July 15, 2012 at 12:33 pm

            Well, I for one did not digg the screen on the UX21. Besides the low-res, it also has poor viewing angles. But, the newer version, the Zenbook UX21A, might just fix those. Also, the first gen UX21 got really really hot when pushed, but since you’ll only use it lightly, that shouldn’t be an issue for you

  10. Amit

    December 8, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    Hi Mike,

    I am looking for an ultrabook with optical drive and 15.6/15 inch screen size and a battery back-up of atleast 6-7 hours. I had zeroed my options in on Acer Aspire Timeline AS5810TZ, but all the ports being at the back of the laptop made it highly unsuitable. I recently came across ASUS S56CA series, it’s got 15.6 screen size, a DVD optical drive with I3/I5 option but i have no idea about its battery life.

    Would you know about its battery life?
    And could you suggest any other options?

    Thanks.
    Amit.

  11. Marie

    June 20, 2013 at 6:58 pm

    I would not recommend Asus zenbook to my dog. Yes, the zenbook is pretty/stylish. Unfortunately that’s it! It’s not worth $1500. I brought mine a little over a year ago after doing extend research before spending that $1500. And guess what most of those fascinating reviews were lies. That’s zenbook has got to be my worst experience with a laptop ever. I’ve send my zenbook in for repair over fives for manufacture default. And now my laptop won’t even bother turning on. Don’t buy. Don’t buy. It’s best you burn that $1000-$1500 then to waste on that zenbook. At least you’ll save yourself the aggravation and headache.

  12. Jimmy

    June 20, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    Marie,
    That’s a shame. I’ve had mine now for a little over a year and have had ZERO issues or complaints. I’m still not thrilled with the way the keys work (you have to push them harder than I’d like), but I would definitely purchase mine again, if I had to make the choice. It’s light (I travel a lot) and has GREAT battery life. (I don’t work for ASUS, but sorry you’ve had a bad experience).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *