Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus G551JM / G551 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus G551JM / G551 review – a fair priced 15.6 inch gaming laptop

115 Comments

  1. SILVA

    June 10, 2015 at 3:21 pm

    Install a laptop esta UN 512GB SSD OR SSD 500GB can , agradecere if anyone knows ????

  2. yihtorng

    June 21, 2015 at 2:08 am

    how your calibrated the display for G551jm to make it better ? from intel hd software ??

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 22, 2015 at 8:32 pm

      I’m using a Spyder 4 Elite

      • yihtorng

        June 23, 2015 at 12:24 am

        appreciate if you could provide your icc profile
        by the way the g551jm u calibrate is TN panel ?

  3. Ilse

    July 22, 2015 at 11:51 am

    Hi!
    First and foremost, thank you for the review.

    I’m actually looking for a new laptop that needs to perform both at gaming and the full Adobe Suite (Photoshop, Premiere Pro etc..).
    I was thinking about either this laptop or the Lenovo y50 or the Acer v15 Nitro. But I’m a bit bothered by the missing optical drive on the latter two models.

    Is there any reccomendation you would make between these 3 for the use of photo and video editing?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 22, 2015 at 1:15 pm

      Hardware wise they are mostly similar. The Acer is available in several options, but I’d reckon you’re looking at the Black edition with the quad-core CPU.

      Anyway, if you plan to use them for photo/video editing, I’d be careful about the Lenovo. Most models come with pretty poor TN panels and you’ll need a great screen for accurate color work.

      That leaves you with the Acer and the Asus and both have their pros and cons. You’d have to balance them yourself and decide which one is better suited for what you need.

      PS: don’t worry much about the lack of an optical drive. You can find USB ones for under $50 and without such an unit, manufacturers are able to create slimmer and lighter bodies, or squeeze larger batteries inside. I’d say that’s a win.

  4. vinz

    August 8, 2015 at 3:45 am

    if you have to choose between this product, the Asus ROG G551JM-DM052H and Lenovo Y50-70-8993, which one will you choose? and why?

  5. Shahbaz

    August 20, 2015 at 2:35 am

    Hello there , i am thinking of buying this particular model, here in Qatar, we are getting Nvidia GeForce GTX 960M (4 GB) graphics pre-installed in the laptop along with 12gb RAM, would this be enough for gaming?
    you views plz
    Thank you

    Asus ROG G551JW, Laptop, Intel Core i7-4720HQ, Nvidia GeForce GTX 960M (4 GB), 12 GB RAM, 128 GB SSD, 1 TB HDD, 15.6″, Windows 8.1

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 20, 2015 at 7:25 am

      If you want the latest titles on the Highest details, you shoudl AIM for Nbvidia 970M graphics or higher. If you’re willing to trim down the details here and there, this should do.

  6. baldeep

    November 16, 2015 at 11:12 am

    mm totally confused i have planned to buy a new laptop would u recommend me a laptop between asus 551 and asus 771

  7. Evan

    November 20, 2015 at 6:44 pm

    Hey, about the MSATA MINI drive mentioned. How difficult is it to remove the back plate? I know this voids the warranty, as i read somewhere else online. Also is there a MAX capacity that it can be?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 20, 2015 at 8:29 pm

      Hi Even. Unfortunately I can’t remember, it’s been too long since I reviewed this product. I suggest you head over to the forums on notebookreview.com and try to find an Owner’s Thread for this laptop, then ask these questions there. You should get help. Sry I can’t do more for you.

      BTW< taking the entire back panel apart shouldn't be very hard, just make sure you take care of all the screws. If you're careful and don't break any plastic pins, this should not void warranty. Still, I'm not entirely sure you can use the mSATA slot as a boot drive, if that's what you intend. It's mostly used for a small caching SSD with most configurations, but on some laptops the UEFI allows it to be bootable.

  8. Vei

    December 1, 2015 at 4:59 am

    I have never ending problems with this rog laptop. Too much problems to even list it down here

  9. Costa

    February 9, 2016 at 7:00 pm

    How did you get that temps on that review my gl551jm same cpu 16gb ram and 860m 4gb bios 204 start throttle around 84ºC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *