Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Razer Blade Pro Derek Sullivan Rating: 3 out of 5

Razer Blade Pro 2017 review – what happens when you put a GTX 1080 in a thin laptop

10 Comments

  1. Luke Watts

    May 14, 2017 at 2:18 pm

    Derek,

    I'm looking for a slim gaming laptop with Thunderbolt 3. I'm looking to use the Razor Core with whatever one I go with; probably with a 1080ti or Titan. I was interested in the Razor Blade Pro, but it's looking like I should wait for the Acer Predator Triton 700. Did you think to try the Razor Core with the Blade Pro to see how it affected the heat problems? I'm curious how much the Core would bring the temps down and if that would be worth it. Can you recommend any other laptop other than the Predator Triton 700?

    • Derek Sullivan

      May 14, 2017 at 2:39 pm

      I don't have the core anymore, but I can say for certain that it'll bring temperatures down. With the MSI gs73vr, I saw GPU temps drop but also saw CPU temps drop. Probably because the overall temperature of the laptop was lower and the heat had somewhere else to go. I only use that example because that laptop had two independent coolers and the Razer blade pro's heatpipes are more shared. So you should also see some lower CPU temperatures.

      I can't say that the Pro will perform better with or without the core though. Make sure you see if anyone has benchmarked some cards higher than the 1080. They're is some performance lots through the core and the possibility of getting bottlenecked by the thunderbolt connection. It would be a shame to spend all that money for performance similar to being undocked.

  2. Rix

    May 14, 2017 at 4:57 pm

    I want to know what software you use to measured color spaces.

    • Derek Sullivan

      May 14, 2017 at 6:29 pm

      Just the software that comes with the Spyder4Pro. Unfortunately if doesn't measure accuracy by each color – it just calibrates it to a desired white point and measures the percentage of the total space it's capable of.

      • Rix

        May 14, 2017 at 6:54 pm

        Thanks, I just can't use comes with i1 Display pro the software measured color spaces.

  3. Kyle

    May 21, 2017 at 3:16 am

    "closest competitor"? This overpriced piece of garbage barely comes close to the X7-v6 (1070) much less the X7-DT-v6 (1080), which is unanimously known as the best 17" gaming laptop in the market. Gigabyte Aorus is a legitimate laptop company that knows how to sell gaming laptops. Crap brands like Razer or Alienware are crap, because they charge over a grand more for a heavy, overheating piece of metal with intolerable compromises.

    I enjoy your reviews, but please be real for the sake of tech-illiterate readers.

    • Derek Sullivan

      May 21, 2017 at 4:43 pm

      Well I only meant closest competitor because of the size comparison – nothing more. Realistically, the only people considering this laptop are getting it because it's the thinnest with a 1080. Otherwise, it's a waste of money in my opinion. Perhaps a poor choice of words, but I did not intent to say that the Razer Blade Pro was superior to the Aorus x7 DT in any way. I only gave it a 3/5 so it's not like I think highly of the RBP. :/

      Although it has a couple flaws of its own, I've read many good things about the Aorus x7. Of course, I haven't seen it in person yet, but I am actually getting a unit in this week. So I should have a proper review on it soon(albeit a little late). I was really hoping to get a v7 but they still aren't released yet…

  4. Kunal Shrivastava

    July 2, 2017 at 9:31 pm

    This was a good read, makes me feel a lot better about my decision to stick with a clevo chassis and spend the remainder on something actually worthwhile-good games.
    Although that machine had a couple of overheating quirks of it's own especially owing to the desktop 7700k,
    I was able to work out most of them by delidding,repasting with metal tim and underclocking/undervolting while still retaining my warranty.
    My reason for going with clevo and not MSI/asus/alienware etc was mostly because of the screen choice at the time of purchase- 1440p/gsync/120hz/ahva panel and GTX1080 is a really nice pairing(and my gsync works,yay!)
    Imho, 4k on a laptop for gaming is pointless as its a performance hog.
    Even the GTX1080, which is currently the fastest single GPU solution on a laptop today, cant do 4k/60 on every game. 31-35 fps in the witcher 3 sounds painful. I get around 55-65 @1440p ultra with hairworks on and 2x hairworks aa. Sounds to me like you spent 4000 bucks for looking at some beautiful 4k slideshows somewhat ruined by screen tearing.
    4k with 100% adobe rgb at that screen size only ever makes sense if youre editing photos/videos and not gaming.
    I have never been a fan of touchscreen laptops as the screen orientation makes it awkward and unwieldy. I would not imagine placing this on my lap and then using touchscreen gestures, apple macbook solution to having a touch bar below the screen makes a lot more sense from an ergonomic perspective.
    The bit of research on the keyboard was also really appreciated, you basically confirmed my apprehension-the ultra low profile mechanical switches on this laptop are more of a gimmick. It might have been a genuine effort from razer but it just doesn't work for now. They will need to perfect the technology & anyone thinking otherwise are just trying to justify spending a small fortune on something like a prototype concept.
    Vapour chamber cooling at 0.9 inches is impressive,but again it's unwanted expense. They ultimately had to downclock to tame the 150w GPU-as it is in the newer max-q laptops as well,a design that I feel was inspired by this machine to begin with.
    A cheaper GTX1070 variant with efficient cooling,120hz gsync and without a mechanical keyboard just makes a lot more sense, unless you like your bragging rights.
    I think with such a thin form factor the sound system might be missing on a crucial element- the subwoofer. Atleast thats the case with my macbook pro- it may be louder but the sound from the clevo is rich and more deep,which generally makes for a more enjoyable movie experience.

    99°c on the CPU is not something I would be comfortable with, that kind of heat will wear out your precious 7700hk, regardless of the claims of intel. 7th gen processors are notorious for their sloppy heat management, here's proof:
    https://www.google.co.in/amp/s/www.theregister.co.uk/AMP/2017/05/04/intel_i77700_heat_spike_problems/
    Again,It was really nice reading your review. There's plently of info in there for anyone wanting to make an informed decision.
    Please let me know if you have a youtube channel,I'll subscribe :)
    Cheers,
    Dr. Kunal Shrivastava

  5. Jubilee

    July 30, 2017 at 11:33 pm

    I have a 2017 RBP and within two months the Eight key no longer works at all. I don't think its a coincidence that this area got so hot it was uncomfortable to type during gaming. He's not joking, it can get Extremely hot while gaming.

    • Jubilee

      July 30, 2017 at 11:37 pm

      Also you can't use the Razer Core with this laptop. Its not compatible.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *