Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Andrei Girbea Rating: 3.5 out of 5

HP ENVY 6t-1000 review – the 15.6 inch ultrabook

31 Comments

  1. John

    July 24, 2012 at 2:44 am

    Mike – thanks for the review – I was wondering about expandability of this device. Example – I see it can take 2 memory modules of 8GB each – how much of a pain is it to open this unit up?

    when SSD prices come down – is the HDD replaceable?

    Also – the one thing I haven’t been able to find – is the battery on this unit removable (without a screwdriver..

    Thanks.

    • Mike

      July 24, 2012 at 3:03 pm

      1. No, the battery is not removable

      2. The HDD can be replaced, but you’ll have to remove the back panel for that. I don’t know how difficult it is to remove it, it shouldn’t be that complicated if you know what you’re doing. I haven’t tried to do it myself

  2. John

    August 31, 2012 at 10:22 am

    I can’t find the i5 ivy bridge model with the graphics card in the HP website the only configurations are sandy bridge i5 with the graphics card or an i5 ivy bridge with intel 4000? I’m very interested in purchasing this model while the free Xbox promotion is running.

    • Mike

      August 31, 2012 at 3:34 pm

      John, i can’;t check right now, but the mode is there, just pick the 6t and than go ahead and change the configuration and you should be able to add the dedicated graphics on the Core i5 Ivy bridge version… if not, drop me a line and I’ll take a look asap, I’m currently not at my pc

  3. dave

    August 31, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    Hi Mike! That was a pretty great review!

    I’m about to buy an Ultrabook and it seems like HP Envy 6-1032sg is not that bad for the price they are offering. I would like to have some external opinions from you all whether or not it would be a nice choice.
    I know it’s not a typical gaming laptop but my budget like most of us is a bit tight. It’s eventually really slim and nice to work with it guess with a nice 15’6 inches display, a 6 DDR3 Random Access Memory, Core i5, a 32Gb SSD where the OS is being installed thus a faster response to normal queries. The sound is being made by Beats audio which is actually not bad at all and 2 USB 3.0 port which is today a MUST!
    My question would be, what about the DVD reader/Writer? It’s absent right? Was it because they wanted to make it slimer? Which external DVD drive would you advise me?

    Thanks a lot.
    Dave.

    • Mike

      August 31, 2012 at 10:26 pm

      Dave, it’s a decent device this HP. It’s light and thin, but maybe not as light as you might expect.

      The optical drive is definitely missing, there’s just no place for it on these slimmer devices.

      If you wnat to check out some of the devices I recommend, have a look at them over here: http://www.tlbhd.com/best-external-dvd-drvies-for-netbooks-774/

      Cheers

  4. Dosto

    September 2, 2012 at 9:36 pm

    Nice Review
    can i change ram? can i expend it into 8gb with 2 4gb each??
    Backlight in keyboard?
    Graphic card DDR5??? Its a better card???
    SSD separade? or buildin in motherboard?
    can i setup OS in SSD??
    Overall how it is???

  5. Craig

    September 7, 2012 at 3:30 pm

    Great review! Thank You! Very helpful in helping me decide between the HP Envy 6 and the Dell 14z (leaning towards the HP at this point)…. Now here’s my question. Buy now? Or wait until the Windows 8 Machines start dropping next month and hope these prices come down with the new machines on the market?

    • Mike

      September 10, 2012 at 5:03 pm

      do you really need win 8? that should be probably your first question.

      and then, prices might drop by november, but not because windows 8 will be launched, but because they usually drop during the winter sales period. so if you can wait, then it might be a good idea.

  6. Kento

    September 13, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    Yeh Mike,how bout FIFA 12 running on the envy 6? Will it perform OK with the minimum settings???

    • Mike

      September 13, 2012 at 9:36 pm

      i haven’t tried it but it shoudl work fine

  7. Coddrut

    November 5, 2012 at 8:22 am

    Salut. Miam cumparat un HP envy6 ci intel corei5 ati radeon 7670m si 4Gb RAM acum o luna si a rulat totul perfect acum nu imi mai merg jocurile cum imi mergeau la inceput. ce ma sfatursti sa fac? am incercat deja sa fac un uptdate la driverele video dar nu s-a rezolvat nimic, am dat 1000euro si imi cam pare rau ca am dat atatia bani.

    • Mike

      November 7, 2012 at 4:44 pm

      Cum adica nu mai merg la fel? Ce se intampla? Da-mi un mail cu detalii amanuntite, gasesti adresa la contact.

  8. Andrei

    November 9, 2012 at 9:49 pm

    Salut, unde anume ai vazut pe site-ul HP ca iti poti comanda varianta cu taste iluminate? La scurt timp dupa ce mi-am cumparat envy-ul am aflat tot de pe net ca exista si modele cu backlit keyboard, doar ca nu am vazut asa ceva in RO.
    Tipii de la suport tehnic pentru HP Romania habar n-au de asa ceva.

    • Mike

      November 11, 2012 at 10:46 am

      Pe site-ul oficial HP, cauta pe google “HP Envy 6t backlit keyboard” . Insa din ce stiu eu in Romania nu se aduc si modele cu asa ceva

      • Miguel

        March 10, 2013 at 4:08 am

        hi mike, what you recommend me the hp envy 6/4 with i5 7670m or hp dm4 beats edition with i5? i can’t decide they both look good, i wonder how well gaming is on envy i know that dm4 has no GPU. I wan’t something good for college. thank you

        • Mike

          March 10, 2013 at 3:04 pm

          Depends. Gaming on the integrated Intel HD 4000 is mostly a no no. Still, if you don’t have high expectations… You can go to youtube and search for “asus ux31a gaming gadgetjm” and see a clip of mine where’ I’m playing games on this graphics chip and a core i7 processor.

          So if you really want the games, you should probably look at the Envy 6 with the AMD graphics

  9. Ahmad

    December 20, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    Thanks for review of the computer, it helped alot. – When the computer gets heated up can it then ruin the computer or what does it do?

  10. richi

    January 3, 2013 at 6:47 am

    Superb review! What is the difference between 6t-1000 and the new 6t-1100???

  11. Firoj Mahmud

    January 30, 2013 at 8:41 am

    Hi Mike,

    I have been searching a whole lot of time to find the review of HP ENVY m6-1114tx. But didn’t get anywhere. Can you please tell me what is the difference between this model and the reviewed one by you. Please I have to decide whether to buy HP ENVY m6-1114tx or not.

    Advance thanks to you.

    Regards,
    Firoj

  12. Ehud

    April 23, 2013 at 11:33 pm

    I wondring between
    Samsung NP530U4E-S01IL
    Or
    Envy 6-1202ea
    help me what i shouls buy…
    What is a better ultrabook?
    The money doesnt matter
    And are hp more quality then samsong?
    I mean Like dell alinware better then the other producers…

  13. Grant

    July 1, 2013 at 3:43 am

    Hey Mike,
    Thank you for the really informative review! My laptop just broke after about 2 years and Im thinking about getting this with 8 gigs of ram and intel 4000 graphics or the Zenbook UX31-RSL8 to replace it. Im hoping that it would run some games that I played on my old laptop, games such as Team Fortress 2, Portal 2, Assassin’s Creed II, and Mirror’s edge. Which would you recommend for running these games? Thank you so much!
    Grant-

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 1, 2013 at 10:31 am

      Hey Grant. These are older games but the Intel 4000 chip is not very fast. Still, as long as you’re fine with trimming the details, I believe they should run decently. If possible though, look for anything with the new Intel Haswell hardware in it, particularly a processor that embeds Intel 5000/5200 graphics, not the 4400. You should see improvements with those.

      Also, if gaming matters much, the Asu UX32VD could be an option, with a dedicated chip (not very powerful, but still better than the Intel 4000)

      • Grant Henry

        July 2, 2013 at 7:02 am

        Thank you so much for the reply! I’m pretty sure Im going to go with this Hp. I noticed that there are some models with a dedicated graphics card, I believe the AMD 2GB Radeon HD 7670M, If I got one without it could I later install it on my own?

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 2, 2013 at 12:48 pm

          no, you don’t. you either buy it from starters or you’ll have to do with the integrated Intel chip

  14. Michael

    July 2, 2013 at 5:32 pm

    Is this laptop weighted well enough where you could lift up the lid with one finger?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 3, 2013 at 9:00 am

      I don’t really remember that, it’s been a while since i tested it…

  15. Dan

    September 5, 2013 at 7:31 pm

    Salut. Mi-am cumparat si eu un Envy 6-1201sq si dupa un timp sau la utilizare putin mai intensa incepe sa scoata un sunet specific calculatoarelor vechi atunci cand procesau, acel sunet ca si un zgariat.
    Care ar putea fi problema? Sau am eu ghinion?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 9, 2013 at 2:48 pm

      are HDD, nu SSD, asa e? acela caraie, probabil este unul destul de lent. Solutia e sa il inlocuiesti cu un SSD, si nu il vei mai auzi deloc, sau cu un HDD de mai buna calitate. eu as pune un SSD

  16. Micaela

    November 2, 2013 at 8:03 pm

    Hey Mike! I was wondering if this laptop is ok to me. Im student of University of Journalism, so I need a thin laptop for take everywhere and a decent battery for the 6 or 7 hours that I expend on my classes. I need Photoshop so the screen doesnt convince me. Can you tell me any other Ultrabook that may be usefull to me?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 3, 2013 at 1:03 pm

      Hey Micaela. What’s your budget? This is a bit old, so I’d probably go for something else. But gain, that depends on your budget

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *