Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Lenovo ThinkPad P73 review (Core i9-9880H, RTX Quadro 4000)

11 Comments

  1. Jack Henry

    December 7, 2019 at 10:46 pm

    Thanks for the detailed review. I've just ordered a P73 with an i7-9750H and an RTX3000. Do you think I'll have any issues with performance degraded by poor cooling with this configuration?

    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 9, 2019 at 3:19 pm

      That should do fine imo, it's the best value configuration for this notebook

  2. Chris Hubick

    December 31, 2019 at 11:54 pm

    Optimus limits output to 60hz and prevents correct operation of a VR headset (75-120hz).

  3. Abdulfatai

    February 7, 2020 at 7:05 am

    Hi, many thanks for the review. Please which other laptop options are with Core i7/ Quadro RTX 3000 and which are in a much more compact chassis than the P73?
    Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 7, 2020 at 12:20 pm

      There are many other options, you'd have to do your research. MSI, Acer, Asus all offer some.

  4. Snake

    May 20, 2020 at 8:14 am

    Thank you for the review but, based on the experience of some owners of the previous P-series Lenovo laptops, I truly believe you need to send the unit back for service and do a retest. It seems a somewhat common issue that these laptops do not come with a correctly installed heat solution; that is, these laptops can come with improperly applied TIM from the factory. From your results it unfortunately sounds as if you have received one of these problem units and you should contact Lenovo for a servicing solution.

  5. tutu

    May 27, 2020 at 1:40 pm

    The keyboard is actually terrible.
    Perhaps this is just a habit from reviewers as thinkpad used to have brilliant keyboards.
    P50/51 good keyboard – P52 onwards the keyboard is really bad. stiff and crewed up EU layout.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 27, 2020 at 6:01 pm

      I'm also a fan of the old Thinkpad keyboards, but I think you can get used to this newer layout as well.

  6. Richard

    June 10, 2020 at 1:07 am

    There are many things I like about the P73. Battery life is not one of them. I bought it primarily because of its advertised 13 hours of life. The first time I used it without a charger I got 12 hours less than that. Since then I've tweaked the system a bit and now am up to about two and a half hours usage. This is a problem and had I been aware of just how overblown the battery claim was I wouldn't have acquired the laptop. Too late now.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 10, 2020 at 10:28 am

      The thing is, you should never buy into those numbers, especially on a performance laptop. Runtimes vary greatly based on how each of us are using the laptop, but those claims are never true for real-life use.

  7. Marion

    August 9, 2020 at 7:18 pm

    August 2020:

    i7-9750H
    17.3" 300 nit FHD display
    16 GB DDR4 RAM
    Quadro RTX3000
    512 GB ssd
    500GB 7200rpm HDD
    Microsoft Home and Student 2019

    Cost? $2763+tax Canadian Dollars ( a hair over $2000USD)

    What workstation can compare with that price spec for spec?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *