Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Aorus X7 DT Derek Sullivan Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Aorus x7 DT v7 review – the somewhat portable 17-inch GTX 1080 laptop to buy

65 Comments

  1. David

    August 10, 2017 at 2:51 am

    Another insightful review Derek. Looks like a great laptop. I was certain about the Asus Zephrus before reading this but torn again. Now you've completed the X7 DT review which one do you prefer and why?
    Thanks
    David

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 10, 2017 at 10:09 am

      What's more important to you? Overall performance and upgradibility or portability and a slightly better build quality?

      For me it was expansion and upgradibility. One m.2 slot isn't enough for me, especially since I already have 32gb of RAM, 1tb m.2 and a 2tb 2.5" SSD. I wouldn't even be able to use half that in the Zephyrus.

      Other than that, the Zephyrus was a great machine – both are really. Even though the Zephyrus has MaxQ, the performance is probably close to equal considering it only had a FHD screen and has less pixels for the GPU to drive. So you'll be hitting 120fps on many games for both machines.

      I can see how this is a tough call. Looking back, it was for me as well. I value portability and would like the most performance in the most portable package. But the Zephyrus was a single m.2 and ram slot away from being what I needed.

      Let me know if there are any specific areas that mean the most to you and maybe I can put a better comparison of the two out there for you.

      • David

        August 10, 2017 at 11:29 am

        Thanks for this.

        Ultimately I want it for gaming with the best quality graphics and FPS. Portability isn't crucial but a nice to have. I also want it to last a while and not have to replace soon as games get more demanding over time.

        I have a MacBook for everyday use (work etc) so it will be 100% for gaming to replace using consoles. I did consider the XBOX One X but want a laptop instead.

        • Derek Sullivan

          August 10, 2017 at 1:13 pm

          If that's the case, then for you I would recommend the Aorus. Mainly because the performance will last you longer since it can be overclocked.

          • David

            August 10, 2017 at 5:10 pm

            Thanks. Aorus it is. For all your help is there anyway I can rate your review site or big it up etc?

          • Derek Sullivan

            August 10, 2017 at 5:21 pm

            No prob, happy to help! There's nowhere that I know of to rate us but the comments speak for themselves and purchasing through our links always helps as well. I appreciate it!

      • Antonio

        August 13, 2017 at 2:27 pm

        Thank you a lot for the great review. I'm really in doubt between this machine and the zephyrus. I read the 1080 max-q is close to an overcklocked 1070, instead you said this 1080 "go" performs just 5% less that a desktop 1080. How much will this matter for future videogames and for playing in virtual reality (I guess for now both should be fine)? Another question: what about a more modest laptop with a 1080 on the Thunderbolt 3 port?

        • Derek Sullivan

          August 13, 2017 at 3:47 pm

          In hindsight, I should have rephrased that. It was a slightly unfair comparison because my desktop card has a slightly higher base clock speed than the Aorus does. I was able to overclock the Aorus and make up the difference. There still might be a difference, but it's pretty small. Compared to the stock reults of a GTX 1080 FE, the results are nearly identical.

          The Zephyrus won't be able to perform at this level. As I pointed out in my review, I had to overclock it just to get close to being like a full 1080. There was no room to overclock it more.

          A eGPU wouldn't help your situation if you're worried about performance. Those will definitely have 5-10% performance loss, just from having to pass through the PCI lanes through a cable. The only way I see that being worth it is if you value portability over everything else. But in that case, you'll be dealing with an U CPU and will also have CPU performance differences.

          Honestly, both the Zeph and Aorus are fine for current VR. The Aorus will just give you a little more in the long run, but it requires overclocking.

  2. Ken

    August 10, 2017 at 12:47 pm

    Just wonder does X5 V7 and X7 V7 and X7 DT V7 have any keyboard issue, in Taiwan there are people complaints about keyboard will not register when press Q,W key together and A key will not respond, If press A,S key together Q or W key will not respond ~~I have bought X5 V7 in Taiwan and I got keyboard issue and went to gigabyte repair center, those engineers were shocked and told me there are going to work out a solution to fix keyboard issue, I think Aorus laptop doesn't have NKRO~~it is a serious issue in Taiwan at moment.

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 10, 2017 at 5:22 pm

      Ken, I'll look more into this later tonight. I'm not sure.

      • Ken

        August 11, 2017 at 11:08 am

        Hopefully overseas model will not have keyboard issue, in Taiwan it seen engineer from Aorus not able to give answer to consumer

        • Derek Sullivan

          August 11, 2017 at 8:12 pm

          So I just tested it and you are right – there's definitely key jamming. Not something I would expect from a gaming laptop. I wonder if this can be fixed by firmware.

          • Ken

            August 11, 2017 at 10:52 pm

            It seen not a guarantee from Aorus that firmware will fix the issue, Aero 15 also have keyboard issue but it is combination key issue , people using it for photo or drawing software require using combination key

  3. Jason

    August 11, 2017 at 8:16 pm

    Just want to know how are the gaming and stress test's performance. The core temperature, the power consumption during both cases.

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 11, 2017 at 8:21 pm

      I haven't run any stress tests yet. I'll probably get to it sometime next week. As for gaming temps, I posted them above. There's also a screenshot of my HWinfo.

  4. Kyle

    August 12, 2017 at 3:30 am

    Great review. Really nice laptop for creators and gamers alike. Just wondering why Gigabyte won't use a multiplexer (MUX) that would allow their laptops to have both Nvidia G-Sync and Optimus for long battery life. Seeing as how their Aero 15 is such a hit, I'm sure more people would buy their Aorus line only if they adopted MUX in all of their laptops.

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 12, 2017 at 7:38 am

      I agree. This is something I think should be left up to the user. Especially for the thinner laptops, where using them on the road makes sense.

  5. Matthew

    August 12, 2017 at 6:11 am

    Is this really as quiet as the numbers say? 40db at head level – were not previous versions c50+ decibles?

    40db is Max Q levels and I cannot see that with a full fat 1080

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 12, 2017 at 11:09 am

      I thought the same thing. I'm actually getting a new sound meter in tomorrow, so I'll verify it then.

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 13, 2017 at 8:45 pm

      Got my new meter in today and updated the results. Makes a lot more sense now.

  6. Tim Lesnick

    August 12, 2017 at 2:42 pm

    Great review. I've been using an X7 DT V6 for a while. I really like the QHD screen, and far prefer it to a 4K screen. Fewer scaling issues for some reason. My screen never had any of the issues others reported; perhaps it had been addressed before mine was manufactured. I'm not as fond of the USB port on the back – it gets very, very hot back there from the exhaust vents during extended gaming, and I'm not sure what effect this might have on the lifespan of my mouse dongle. I had my CPU and GPU repasted up front. I will mention that I have had great success undervolting the GPU. The 1080 seems to have a lot of room to do so without impairing performance, and I was able to cut down my heat and noise substantially. Finally, after months of carting this around in my backpack and using it daily, I have had no reliability or fit-and-finish issues at all.

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 12, 2017 at 3:01 pm

      Thanks for sharing, Tim! Curious, how were you able to undervolt the GPU? Mine appears to be locked.

      • Tim Lesnick

        August 12, 2017 at 5:24 pm

        I used MSI Afterburner to modify the voltage/frequency curve (get to it with ctrl f). Briefly, you need to flatten the upper part of the curve. In addition, I had to put a bit of a peak at the voltage I wanted to maintain; Afterburner then flattened everything from that point on. It can be a bit finicky getting everything to stick, but not too difficult. I believe a user called phila_delphia posted on a number of forums about his experience. Hopefully Aorus didn't remove this capability with the V7!

        • Derek Sullivan

          August 12, 2017 at 5:42 pm

          I think they did because when I use Afterburner, it only allows me to adjust clock speed and ram speed. I'll keep looking into it but I'm guessing it's a locked vbios.

  7. Mitul Shetty

    August 13, 2017 at 4:46 pm

    Which would you guys suggest as a better overall gaming laptop?
    The Alienware 17r4, Aorus X7 DT V7 or the Acer Predator 17x?
    I'm looking at all the laptops fully specced out with 4k screens.
    Please help.
    I want it to deliver the maximum in gaming performance along with good multimedia and decent webcam capability.
    Which is the best, most consistent and most reliable?
    I'm currently studying my masters in the US but I hope the 3 options I stated can be serviced in India if any problem arises in the future.

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 13, 2017 at 6:19 pm

      If it weren't for the graphics stuttering I had with the AW17, I'd say that one. But the fact I had to in a row with that issue makes me wonder how extensive the problem was. I've never used the Predator in person, so I can't comment on that one.

      I'd say the safest bet would be to try the AW17 and test the crap out of it when you get it. If you have problems, their return policy is really good. I'm only recommending them over the Aorus because servicing Gigabyte laptops in India is an unknown for me.

  8. wintermoot

    August 14, 2017 at 10:36 pm

    I'm seeing KL3K3D model number listed as IPS not TN; could you give the full model number of the unit you reviewed? In the states I'm seeing newegg and amazon carrying an "ips" model with 120hz and 2560×1440 reso.

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 14, 2017 at 11:03 pm

      That's the same model I have. It's not IPS – it's a typo in the listing. There are currently no 17" QHD IPS panels that are 120hz.

  9. Fred

    August 16, 2017 at 9:25 pm

    I am curious has this keyboard problem been fixed? I've been through a few AW17R4's and all had heat/ stutter issue. I gave up and started to look here but keyboard issues seem wide spread.

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 16, 2017 at 11:48 pm

      If you mean the ghosting, then it's still an issue so far. I'm not aware of any other issues.

  10. nomad

    August 16, 2017 at 11:43 pm

    sorry for my english. i bought x7 dt 'v6' qhd yesterday. instead of v7, because v7 took so long to get.
    i just can't be patient about delay.
    am i wrong about this?
    do you think there is a huge difference between 'dt v6' and 'dt
    v7'?
    especially, above all, difference in the 'display'. display is most important thing to me.
    after reading your review, v7 has more decent display than v6. that makes me sad…..

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 16, 2017 at 11:50 pm

      If you don't notice any horizontal lines on still images on your screen, then I'd say don't worry about it and stick with the v6. Those lines were very obvious to me though. I tried but just couldn't get over it.

      • nomad

        August 21, 2017 at 10:19 am

        it`s been 2 days since my x7 dt v6 arrive. there are lines on display, but i notice those lines only when i try to notice it.
        so the horizon line issue is still going on with dt v6, but it`s not a big deal for me….

  11. Sebastian French

    August 22, 2017 at 2:18 am

    Hi

    I got my x7 DT v7 UHD, one point to note is my M2 drive is Toshiba and runs at half the speed of the Samsung you tested! Maybe you got lucky with spec!!

  12. Geppe

    August 22, 2017 at 8:40 pm

    Do you know anything about when is Aorus will send this to stores? Thanks for the review was really helpful, you're the first one that has done a proper review about the laptop. I don't know if I should preorder or wait for more reviews, I'm worried about the keyboard issues from last version.

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 23, 2017 at 12:25 am

      What were the issues from the last revision? I can look into it more.

      • Geppe

        August 23, 2017 at 12:57 am

        Keys getting spam or stuck constantly, or the complete keyboard failing suddenly after a couple of weeks. Also I've heard that CS isn't good.

        What other laptops would you recommend checking out, that are available at the moment?

        • Derek Sullivan

          August 23, 2017 at 11:53 am

          I haven't had any trouble with keys getting stuck. I have had the keyboard stopping working though and it ended up being some bad drivers. Reverting to 1.1.2 fixed my issue, so I'm leaving it there. I've never had a laptop with keyboard drivers, so it's a little annoying to have to even deal with stuff like this. As far as other laptops, what are your preferences? Any particular GPU, screen size and/or weight and thinness requirements?

  13. Daniel

    August 25, 2017 at 3:53 pm

    Hi Derek,

    I am currently sitting on the fence between this laptop or razer blade. I don't mind of things being loud or heavy, but I want the laptop to be reliable as my current one is failing me. Are there some other laptops you might recommend if there are other than these two?

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 25, 2017 at 8:05 pm

      I personally didn't care for the blade. If you don't care about the weight and size though, the Alienware 17 is a pretty good system as well.

  14. Mathias

    August 25, 2017 at 7:58 pm

    How long does it take for the battery to regain its full charge once dead?

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 25, 2017 at 8:03 pm

      I haven't timed it but the charge rate is around 30-40whr, so 2-3 hours.

      • Mathias

        August 25, 2017 at 8:09 pm

        Fair enough, so it usually discharge on battery as fast as it takes to charge it.

        Thanks for your answer. I just bought mine today and now it is the waiting game :) Well the 1070+QHD version.

  15. Mathias

    August 26, 2017 at 10:11 am

    Is there a way to remove the logo on the trackpad or cover it? Is it like, part of the glass or is it a vynil on top of it?

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 26, 2017 at 11:26 am

      No they are both permanent. The logo is underneath the glass.

      • Mathias

        August 26, 2017 at 11:28 am

        Oh? Under? How hard do you think it would be to remove the glass and scrub the logo? It's very ugly >.>

        • Derek Sullivan

          August 26, 2017 at 11:31 am

          I'm not sure. I was thinking of replacing mine but I'm having trouble sourcing one that's the same size. I'll let you know if I ever figure it out.

  16. John

    August 28, 2017 at 7:53 pm

    Great reviews! How do you find the noise levels of this vs the AW17R4? I play games in my living room and the fan noise can drive my family insane. I have an AW17R4 and its noise level is acceptable but its so stinking huge (and that PSU!!). I'm considering the X7 DT V7 as an alternative

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 28, 2017 at 8:09 pm

      I'd say the noise levels are very similar. To me, this is basically a smaller version of the AW17. But smaller means it gets significantly hotter. If you can live with that, you'll like this laptop.

      • John

        August 28, 2017 at 8:57 pm

        I don't mind significantly hotter at all. Just can't have it so loud it clears the room :) Thank you!

  17. Mathias

    August 29, 2017 at 7:42 pm

    Is there keyboard ghosting? Basically, if you do CTRL+ALT then try X,S,W,2, or F3 does those work? I've read up that the laptop isn't Anti-Ghosting, but those keys together are pretty important. That's holding the two Modifier + 1 other key like X or S. Is your X or S still registered?

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 30, 2017 at 8:16 am

      I'll check in the next couple days. I'm moving so it might be a while.

      • Mathias

        August 31, 2017 at 9:27 am

        Thanks! I'll appreciate :)

      • Mathias

        September 6, 2017 at 6:33 am

        I've received my laptop and done some testing… It's pretty bleak truth be told.
        Combinations of the like of: CTRL+ALT+X doesn't work… those are modifiers key, they should work with anything.
        However, the worst is this: S+D+2 S+D+3 doesn't work, in the same manner A+S+1 and A+S+2 doesn't work. Those are movement keys + ability keys. For a gaming laptop, this is pretty deplorable, especially at this cost!

        • Plop

          September 16, 2017 at 10:02 am

          What firmware version are you running on?

          • Mathias

            September 16, 2017 at 11:15 am

            Firmware 1.2.0
            Screenshot: puu.sh/xBagC/4645f0be2e.png

  18. John

    August 30, 2017 at 10:24 am

    Derek, would you mind sharing your EQ settings that you found worked well?

  19. Daniel

    September 17, 2017 at 11:46 pm

    Hi,

    I was considering on buying between the G752VS oc edition or this laptop. Which would you recommend?

    • Derek Sullivan

      September 18, 2017 at 10:19 am

      I can't really comment on the Asus since I never have had my hands on it. It was definitely on my short list when I was choosing a keeper but I immediately lost interest in it because of how large it was at the vent area and the position of the keyboard. I also preferred a QHD screen over a 1080p. especially since the screen size is 17". It definitely looks like a good machine though and will probably perform just as well as the Aorus(maybe even a little better). The heft and flashy orange highlights are just not for me though.

      • Daniel

        September 18, 2017 at 10:26 am

        Hi Derek,

        Thank you for the reply, and when i think of it, Aorus has a gtx1080 while asus has gtx1070. Additionally, the fact it is QHD makes me interested. I will probabaly order it today or tomorrow.

        Thank you once more

        • Mathias

          September 18, 2017 at 1:19 pm

          One note, tho. If you intend to play MMOs with it, you might want to consider.
          This laptop is nearly perfect, I quite enjoy it. However, it has horrible ghosting issues when it comes to the keyboard. On the current firmware, 1.2.0 for the keyboard, the keys A + S + 1 doesn't work together, the 1 doesn't register. Same thing for AS2, SD2 and SD3. So no backward strafing with abilities.

          If you don't think this will be a problem, I also recommend it.

          • Daniel

            September 18, 2017 at 2:01 pm

            MMO, i do play some of it but not that much. Thank you for the notation though, really appreciate it.

  20. Tommy

    September 19, 2017 at 5:13 am

    does this aorus better than razer blade pro gtx 1080 ?? im really considering about buying this aorus or blade pro

    can you give me some advice please ??

    sorry for my bad english before ..

    • Derek Sullivan

      September 19, 2017 at 8:17 am

      Even though they don't advertise it, the RBP is the equivalent of a GTX 1080 Max-Q. The Aorus is more like a desktop 1080, so you'll be getting better performance out of the Aorus. The main advantages to the Aorus are the extra 2.5 HDD bay, the extra ram slots(heck, ram slots in general), the anti-glare screen, better keyboard(besides the ghosting issue), more ports, better cooling, better performance and far cheaper in cost. The advantages of the RBP are better build quality, better trackpad(albeit on the right), slightly more portable, touch enabled. I personally found the keyboard on the RBP to be awful to use, which is ultimately why I didn't keep it. The cooling system was also a problem, but I could have lived with it. There's no way to justify that cost. I still stand by my review on that one – if were $1000 cheaper, it would be a decent machine to get. The value just isn't there to me. The Aorus offers more for the $ if you ask me and the only real deal breaker would be the ghosting issue on the keyboard. But that really only affects just some gamers.

      • Tommy

        September 21, 2017 at 10:17 pm

        Thank you so much for the answer derek
        Now i think im just gonna stick with aorus after what you said

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *