Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus ROG GL552VW Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus ROG GL552VW review – Skylake multimedia 15-incher

115 Comments

  1. agus

    November 2, 2016 at 12:43 pm

    I want to upgrade ssd on my 552vw-dh71 tomorrow..
    Does it work with samsung m.2 850 evo sata 3?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 3, 2016 at 4:38 am

      it should

      • Roland

        November 5, 2016 at 6:58 pm

        If I want that same SSD (Samsung 850 EVO), how can I know the maximal compatible storage? Will it work with a 500 GB SSD?

        • Andrei Girbea

          November 7, 2016 at 3:37 pm

          It should work with a compatible drive regardless of its storage capacity.

  2. Bill McMilleon

    November 12, 2016 at 1:42 am

    Will this laptop accept an SSd in the M.2 NVME PCI format, or does it only use SATA ssd?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 12, 2016 at 5:22 am

      It uses a B+M key 80 mm SSD, which means it should accept PCIe sticks as well, but it's been a long while since I reviewed it and I can't 100% back this affirmation.

  3. Plamen

    November 23, 2016 at 4:43 pm

    what is the right model with metal lid(ASUS G552VW-CN287D)?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 23, 2016 at 5:03 pm

      Yes, that's one of them. There are multiple model-names for this laptop and from what I can tell, all the available ones come with a metallic lid now.

      • Plamen

        November 24, 2016 at 4:11 am

        I want to buy a laptop for the game which to choose:
        ASUS ROG G552VW-CN287D
        ACER ASPIRE V15 NITRO VN7-592G
        HP OMEN 15-AX005NU-gtx965m
        HP Pavilion 15 Gaming

        • Andrei Girbea

          November 24, 2016 at 6:37 am

          Pick the one that best fit your needs, you'll find plenty of reviews on each online

  4. Nicu

    November 27, 2016 at 6:41 am

    Salut Andrei , crezi ca merita 800 e ? ori o sugestie mai buna de alt brand ca si utilizator de CAD,3D soft, si ocazional gaming WOT

    cdon.fi/kodin-elektroniikka/asus-gl552vw-dm890t-15-6-i5-6300hq-8gb-256gb-ssd-nvidia-gtx960m-2gb-w10-p38808029

    Un articol bun! Merci

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 27, 2016 at 9:51 am

      The GL552VW is overall a good laptop, I'm not familiar with the prices in your country, but it looks like a fair deal. However, that core i5 processors lacks HyperTHreading and it would be probably better to get a Core i7-6700HQ configuration if possible, which runs at higher clock speeds and includes HT, as these should prove useful in that 3D rendering software you mention. You'll also need to add more RAM to that configuration.

      PS: Please keep the discussion in English, so others are also able to read the comments. Thanks :)

      • Nicu

        November 27, 2016 at 1:58 pm

        I have ordered today ASUS ROG GL702VT 16gbRAM/i7-6700HQ/GTX970/1TB+256ssd for an extra 300 e for sure is worth it .
        Thanks for advise ! :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *