Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Acer Predator 17 G9-791 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Acer Predator 17 G9-791 review – first attempt, first hit

14 Comments

  1. Harsha

    October 27, 2015 at 8:35 pm

    Awesome review Mike!!

    Looking forward to the refreshed Acer V15 & V17 black edition reviews

    • mike

      December 14, 2015 at 11:03 am

      I agree – I prefer 15-16GB Ram but in any case I need some visual clue

  2. Sandbag

    December 8, 2015 at 12:41 pm

    Bloody ugly. There, I said it. The Asus is not much better though. When will they hire a real designer to design a gaming laptop for grownups?

  3. Rene

    January 13, 2016 at 8:50 am

    I wanted to ask how you had the trackpad drivers installed? I have the Predator 17 g9-791-73et and it came with no special trackpad drivers installed and windows didn’t find any for the trackpad. I also can’t find a driver download from acer’s website for the g9-791 predators.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 13, 2016 at 3:13 pm

      Well, mine came with drivers preinstalled, but it was a test sample. You could try to get in touch with Acer’s support.

  4. navinav

    January 25, 2016 at 7:39 am

    One pretty funny question. Is this laptop compatible with windows 8.1. I really dont like Windows 10 at the moment, it still need some work to be done to became the windows I want to use. At the official driver site of ACER there are no drivers for 8.1 for this laptop. Is it true that drivers for Windows 10 are compatible with windows 8.1?

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 25, 2016 at 4:28 pm

      To be frank, I don’t know. My guts is telling me that it should work with Win 8.1, but that’s not something I’ve tried. Still, why would you prefer win 8.1 over 10, if you don’t mind me asking?

  5. kartar

    February 14, 2016 at 12:21 pm

    whooaaa looks like a best gaming machine i have ever reviewed..but would you don’t mind me asking that how important G-SYNC is for gaming? i mean i know Msi Gt-72 is good by all factors…though my 1st choice was Asus 751 but its short battery time which is not detachable lacks it behind..so between MSI GT-72 and ACER PREDATOR 17……

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 14, 2016 at 8:34 pm

      should make content look smoother and eliminate tearing in high-pace games. It’s up to you if that’s a must or not.

  6. kartar

    February 15, 2016 at 6:11 am

    Well i thinkbi should wait bit more to see users reviews of predator 17 and lets see if aal goes good then i m gonna pick it up straightway….must handle Tom clancy’s the division at hd settings…seniors and experts advice plz,.

  7. Xarias

    February 22, 2016 at 3:23 pm

    I am someone who prefers a glossy screen.
    How will I like the UHD Matte?

  8. Iosif

    March 4, 2016 at 10:47 pm

    The competition,meaning the other laptops in Romania are just not a viable option. I mean if it’s like 50-100 euros,sure. But for example the basic model with the 970m, 16 gigs of ram and a 128 ssd from acer is almost 250 euros cheaper than the same configuration from asus. It’s pretty much the same thing under the hood,the msi is at about the same price as asus. In some countries the price gap is much smaller, but I’m not into buying from a country 3000KM away, if something happens that international warranty will not really help me when I will need to wait 2 months to get my laptop back.

    I owned a Nitro V17 for about 4 months, the 960m lacks performance in certain games, otherwise it’s a good all rounder. These companies that make these flashy and bulky laptops kind of forget that usually by the time you get to the age that you manage to afford such a high gaming laptop,you aren’t exactly in your teens anymore. Bragging to someone with a flashing logo and LED’s was cool when you were 14, it’s kind of lame when you are 30.

  9. john

    October 30, 2016 at 8:23 am

    please can did anyone know a gaming laptop with dvd burner and very good battery life in video editing and with very good sound like dolby or better and that run quieter please and <=$1500

    • gg

      November 7, 2016 at 3:02 pm

      alienware or clevo — and buy a dvd external for alienware

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *