Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Aorus X7 DT Derek Sullivan Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Aorus x7 DT v7 review – the somewhat portable 17-inch GTX 1080 laptop to buy

32 Comments

  1. David

    August 10, 2017 at 2:51 am

    Another insightful review Derek. Looks like a great laptop. I was certain about the Asus Zephrus before reading this but torn again. Now you've completed the X7 DT review which one do you prefer and why?
    Thanks
    David

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 10, 2017 at 10:09 am

      What's more important to you? Overall performance and upgradibility or portability and a slightly better build quality?

      For me it was expansion and upgradibility. One m.2 slot isn't enough for me, especially since I already have 32gb of RAM, 1tb m.2 and a 2tb 2.5" SSD. I wouldn't even be able to use half that in the Zephyrus.

      Other than that, the Zephyrus was a great machine – both are really. Even though the Zephyrus has MaxQ, the performance is probably close to equal considering it only had a FHD screen and has less pixels for the GPU to drive. So you'll be hitting 120fps on many games for both machines.

      I can see how this is a tough call. Looking back, it was for me as well. I value portability and would like the most performance in the most portable package. But the Zephyrus was a single m.2 and ram slot away from being what I needed.

      Let me know if there are any specific areas that mean the most to you and maybe I can put a better comparison of the two out there for you.

      • David

        August 10, 2017 at 11:29 am

        Thanks for this.

        Ultimately I want it for gaming with the best quality graphics and FPS. Portability isn't crucial but a nice to have. I also want it to last a while and not have to replace soon as games get more demanding over time.

        I have a MacBook for everyday use (work etc) so it will be 100% for gaming to replace using consoles. I did consider the XBOX One X but want a laptop instead.

        • Derek Sullivan

          August 10, 2017 at 1:13 pm

          If that's the case, then for you I would recommend the Aorus. Mainly because the performance will last you longer since it can be overclocked.

          • David

            August 10, 2017 at 5:10 pm

            Thanks. Aorus it is. For all your help is there anyway I can rate your review site or big it up etc?

          • Derek Sullivan

            August 10, 2017 at 5:21 pm

            No prob, happy to help! There's nowhere that I know of to rate us but the comments speak for themselves and purchasing through our links always helps as well. I appreciate it!

      • Antonio

        August 13, 2017 at 2:27 pm

        Thank you a lot for the great review. I'm really in doubt between this machine and the zephyrus. I read the 1080 max-q is close to an overcklocked 1070, instead you said this 1080 "go" performs just 5% less that a desktop 1080. How much will this matter for future videogames and for playing in virtual reality (I guess for now both should be fine)? Another question: what about a more modest laptop with a 1080 on the Thunderbolt 3 port?

        • Derek Sullivan

          August 13, 2017 at 3:47 pm

          In hindsight, I should have rephrased that. It was a slightly unfair comparison because my desktop card has a slightly higher base clock speed than the Aorus does. I was able to overclock the Aorus and make up the difference. There still might be a difference, but it's pretty small. Compared to the stock reults of a GTX 1080 FE, the results are nearly identical.

          The Zephyrus won't be able to perform at this level. As I pointed out in my review, I had to overclock it just to get close to being like a full 1080. There was no room to overclock it more.

          A eGPU wouldn't help your situation if you're worried about performance. Those will definitely have 5-10% performance loss, just from having to pass through the PCI lanes through a cable. The only way I see that being worth it is if you value portability over everything else. But in that case, you'll be dealing with an U CPU and will also have CPU performance differences.

          Honestly, both the Zeph and Aorus are fine for current VR. The Aorus will just give you a little more in the long run, but it requires overclocking.

  2. Ken

    August 10, 2017 at 12:47 pm

    Just wonder does X5 V7 and X7 V7 and X7 DT V7 have any keyboard issue, in Taiwan there are people complaints about keyboard will not register when press Q,W key together and A key will not respond, If press A,S key together Q or W key will not respond ~~I have bought X5 V7 in Taiwan and I got keyboard issue and went to gigabyte repair center, those engineers were shocked and told me there are going to work out a solution to fix keyboard issue, I think Aorus laptop doesn't have NKRO~~it is a serious issue in Taiwan at moment.

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 10, 2017 at 5:22 pm

      Ken, I'll look more into this later tonight. I'm not sure.

      • Ken

        August 11, 2017 at 11:08 am

        Hopefully overseas model will not have keyboard issue, in Taiwan it seen engineer from Aorus not able to give answer to consumer

        • Derek Sullivan

          August 11, 2017 at 8:12 pm

          So I just tested it and you are right – there's definitely key jamming. Not something I would expect from a gaming laptop. I wonder if this can be fixed by firmware.

          • Ken

            August 11, 2017 at 10:52 pm

            It seen not a guarantee from Aorus that firmware will fix the issue, Aero 15 also have keyboard issue but it is combination key issue , people using it for photo or drawing software require using combination key

  3. Jason

    August 11, 2017 at 8:16 pm

    Just want to know how are the gaming and stress test's performance. The core temperature, the power consumption during both cases.

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 11, 2017 at 8:21 pm

      I haven't run any stress tests yet. I'll probably get to it sometime next week. As for gaming temps, I posted them above. There's also a screenshot of my HWinfo.

  4. Kyle

    August 12, 2017 at 3:30 am

    Great review. Really nice laptop for creators and gamers alike. Just wondering why Gigabyte won't use a multiplexer (MUX) that would allow their laptops to have both Nvidia G-Sync and Optimus for long battery life. Seeing as how their Aero 15 is such a hit, I'm sure more people would buy their Aorus line only if they adopted MUX in all of their laptops.

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 12, 2017 at 7:38 am

      I agree. This is something I think should be left up to the user. Especially for the thinner laptops, where using them on the road makes sense.

  5. Matthew

    August 12, 2017 at 6:11 am

    Is this really as quiet as the numbers say? 40db at head level – were not previous versions c50+ decibles?

    40db is Max Q levels and I cannot see that with a full fat 1080

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 12, 2017 at 11:09 am

      I thought the same thing. I'm actually getting a new sound meter in tomorrow, so I'll verify it then.

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 13, 2017 at 8:45 pm

      Got my new meter in today and updated the results. Makes a lot more sense now.

  6. Tim Lesnick

    August 12, 2017 at 2:42 pm

    Great review. I've been using an X7 DT V6 for a while. I really like the QHD screen, and far prefer it to a 4K screen. Fewer scaling issues for some reason. My screen never had any of the issues others reported; perhaps it had been addressed before mine was manufactured. I'm not as fond of the USB port on the back – it gets very, very hot back there from the exhaust vents during extended gaming, and I'm not sure what effect this might have on the lifespan of my mouse dongle. I had my CPU and GPU repasted up front. I will mention that I have had great success undervolting the GPU. The 1080 seems to have a lot of room to do so without impairing performance, and I was able to cut down my heat and noise substantially. Finally, after months of carting this around in my backpack and using it daily, I have had no reliability or fit-and-finish issues at all.

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 12, 2017 at 3:01 pm

      Thanks for sharing, Tim! Curious, how were you able to undervolt the GPU? Mine appears to be locked.

      • Tim Lesnick

        August 12, 2017 at 5:24 pm

        I used MSI Afterburner to modify the voltage/frequency curve (get to it with ctrl f). Briefly, you need to flatten the upper part of the curve. In addition, I had to put a bit of a peak at the voltage I wanted to maintain; Afterburner then flattened everything from that point on. It can be a bit finicky getting everything to stick, but not too difficult. I believe a user called phila_delphia posted on a number of forums about his experience. Hopefully Aorus didn't remove this capability with the V7!

        • Derek Sullivan

          August 12, 2017 at 5:42 pm

          I think they did because when I use Afterburner, it only allows me to adjust clock speed and ram speed. I'll keep looking into it but I'm guessing it's a locked vbios.

  7. Mitul Shetty

    August 13, 2017 at 4:46 pm

    Which would you guys suggest as a better overall gaming laptop?
    The Alienware 17r4, Aorus X7 DT V7 or the Acer Predator 17x?
    I'm looking at all the laptops fully specced out with 4k screens.
    Please help.
    I want it to deliver the maximum in gaming performance along with good multimedia and decent webcam capability.
    Which is the best, most consistent and most reliable?
    I'm currently studying my masters in the US but I hope the 3 options I stated can be serviced in India if any problem arises in the future.

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 13, 2017 at 6:19 pm

      If it weren't for the graphics stuttering I had with the AW17, I'd say that one. But the fact I had to in a row with that issue makes me wonder how extensive the problem was. I've never used the Predator in person, so I can't comment on that one.

      I'd say the safest bet would be to try the AW17 and test the crap out of it when you get it. If you have problems, their return policy is really good. I'm only recommending them over the Aorus because servicing Gigabyte laptops in India is an unknown for me.

  8. wintermoot

    August 14, 2017 at 10:36 pm

    I'm seeing KL3K3D model number listed as IPS not TN; could you give the full model number of the unit you reviewed? In the states I'm seeing newegg and amazon carrying an "ips" model with 120hz and 2560×1440 reso.

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 14, 2017 at 11:03 pm

      That's the same model I have. It's not IPS – it's a typo in the listing. There are currently no 17" QHD IPS panels that are 120hz.

  9. Fred

    August 16, 2017 at 9:25 pm

    I am curious has this keyboard problem been fixed? I've been through a few AW17R4's and all had heat/ stutter issue. I gave up and started to look here but keyboard issues seem wide spread.

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 16, 2017 at 11:48 pm

      If you mean the ghosting, then it's still an issue so far. I'm not aware of any other issues.

  10. nomad

    August 16, 2017 at 11:43 pm

    sorry for my english. i bought x7 dt 'v6' qhd yesterday. instead of v7, because v7 took so long to get.
    i just can't be patient about delay.
    am i wrong about this?
    do you think there is a huge difference between 'dt v6' and 'dt
    v7'?
    especially, above all, difference in the 'display'. display is most important thing to me.
    after reading your review, v7 has more decent display than v6. that makes me sad…..

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 16, 2017 at 11:50 pm

      If you don't notice any horizontal lines on still images on your screen, then I'd say don't worry about it and stick with the v6. Those lines were very obvious to me though. I tried but just couldn't get over it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *