Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Acer Aspire V15 Nitro VN7-592G Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Acer Aspire V15 Nitro VN7-592G review ( Black Edition)

23 Comments

  1. gc

    December 21, 2015 at 1:54 pm

    There must be an error or typo in the screen color calibration numbers. The calibrated number should be improved, not almost three times worse. If those are your actual results, that looks like an anomaly that should be mentioned in the text, and if possible discussed and explained.

  2. Josh

    February 6, 2016 at 5:28 am

    How is the battery for the FHD version?

  3. Vasil

    February 11, 2016 at 12:01 am

    Hi. What is version of HDMI in this laptop? 1.4 or 2.0? Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 11, 2016 at 12:31 pm

      Good question, but honestly I don’t know, I don’t usually check that, but will do from now on. Sry. I don’t think it’s 2.0, but that’s just my guess. I no longer have the laptop around to check.

  4. Tom

    March 3, 2016 at 5:34 pm

    Do you know if the hdmi output of thisnotebook is wired to intel GPU or nvidia?
    I’m thinking you should be able to use HDMI with either, but for 4k it needs the Nvidia.

  5. Robin

    March 6, 2016 at 9:51 pm

    I was planning on buying this. Though it’s equipped with a i5 6200U, 950m 4gb and a 1080p instead. How do you think it measures up in terms of battery term? Much better? And also, do you’ve any other tips for serious contenders?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 7, 2016 at 5:40 pm

      That’s a different versions, bot as fast, but much longer lasting. How much does it cost and what matters more for you: the speed or the battery life?

  6. Shahid

    May 23, 2016 at 7:51 pm

    You wrote in cons it gets hots under load

    According to full review on for the same model notebookcheck.net/Acer-Aspire-V15-Nitro-BE-VN7-592G-79DV-Notebook-Review.161265.0.html

    According to them, this model is better in temperature than most of model. you should use all laptop and then compare. Laptop company try their best to keep cool as possible.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 24, 2016 at 8:50 am

      The review is based on my test unit. The temperatures are detailed in the appropriate section and my conclusion stays: this laptop gets hot under load.

  7. AltarOfMyEgo

    May 29, 2016 at 2:07 pm

    I bought mine in December 2015. FHD, i5-6300, 8GB DDR4 RAM, 512GB SSD and 960M. Same connectivity. I’m overall very satisfied eventhough it does get hot under heavy load (MAD MAX FHD ultra settings) and the cpu temp can get as hot as 95°C. I’ve set mine to sleep automatically at 90°C. If you put something under it to lift it up a little though and allow more air to go through, it will work just fine. The battery can easily last for 6 hours if you’re filling excel sheets and sending emails. This laptop is worth the money! :D Too bad I couldn’t find any dedicated forum for this beautiful machine…

    • Mihai Rusoaie

      June 16, 2017 at 3:58 am

      I can confirm. Ubuntu 16.04 here:
      – brightness at 3/10
      – onboard Intel graphics (Nvidia disabled)
      – Wifi on
      – normal work (browsing, mysql server and pycharm coding)

      ~5-6 hours of use

  8. Paul

    September 23, 2016 at 12:13 am

    Hi!

    I’m seriously considering getting this laptop (i7 6700hq model), but I am afraid of the high temperatures. You said NFS counts as “under load”. Do other games such as GTA V (notoriously cpu intensive), Overwatch, Skyrim, Black Ops III, LOL, Rainbow Six Siege, and more also counts as under load? Or can you suggest a laptop that has gaming specs (such as this), but cools better without the ridiculous gaming aesthetics that I can bring to school and work? That’s what I love mostly about this computer: its specs and professional look. Thank you!

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 23, 2016 at 5:52 am

      Yes, gaming in general counts as under load.

      The MSI GE62 and the Asus ROG GL552 are other options with similar specs, check them out and see if they qualify.

      • Paul

        September 23, 2016 at 6:11 am

        Thanks so much for the response to this old article!! I did see those laptops before, but they are too flashy to bring to work/school unfortunately. Will this laptop malfunction at 50C? Is it suggested that I look for something else? I guess I am wondering what the max temperatures are before this computer crashes and experiences premature permanent failure.

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 23, 2016 at 1:58 pm

          You should do a Google search on “Acer V15 Nitro problems” and see what comes up. Those temperatures are a little high for my liking, but that doesn’t mean the laptop can’t work fine for a long time. Perhaps you can get some sort of extended warranty (3 year is available over here, for instance), that should be a safety net in case anything goes wrong.

  9. redhong1998

    November 26, 2016 at 8:32 am

    Hi, i was just wondering have you guys tried the razer core with this laptop? I would love to know the result

  10. Yousef Ashraf Shaltout

    January 26, 2017 at 7:13 pm

    Ok there's a store where I can get the 4k version for cheaper than the 1080P version however I wanted to know if I downgrade the resolution to 1080P when gaming will it still look good like the other version with the 1080P screen or will it look blurry ?

  11. Rod Owen

    February 5, 2017 at 4:20 pm

    Will the presumably D\: on the unit allow Steam to create a (86)program folder to store games? The V17-792g will not. The D\: drive is read only

  12. Kaio

    February 13, 2017 at 6:00 pm

    Thanks for the review! Just one question, what's the RAM cap in this unit? 32gb?

  13. Pia Schmid

    February 16, 2017 at 7:24 am

    I love the great keyboard and the speedy upstart of Acer Aspire V15 Nitro. There are some negative points though:
    – my battery is down very fast (lasts not longer than 3-4 hours)
    – if I leave the computer alone (e.g. for virus scans), it goes into a hybernate state in which the red lights burn, but you are unable to do anyhthing forward or backward. There is no other solution than to force the whole system to shut down with the start button and to restart (with the result that you have to begin again with the virus scan).

  14. Moses

    August 14, 2017 at 11:40 am

    I need a replacement for a mother board core i5. How much is it and can I please have it?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *