Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus Transformer Book Chi T300 Andrei Girbea Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Asus Transformer Book Chi T300 review – a $549 premium-looking 2-in-1

12 Comments

  1. DavidC1

    March 31, 2015 at 8:37 pm

    “battery life.”

    Why not test a FHD version? Anandtech’s test of the XPS 13 shows that there can be a difference of nearly 50% between QHD and FHD. I bet ya FHD would show much closer to their 8H claim.

    QHD is a waste of money AND battery life. Your games will run slower anyway so why opt for a crappier alternative?

    • DavidC1

      March 31, 2015 at 8:40 pm

      Oh NVM, it shows a difference of 50-70%. That translated into watts is 2.5-3.3W, which is substantial! Also Dell’s own testing shows in certain scenarios there might be nearly 2x difference in battery for QHD and FHD.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 1, 2015 at 5:39 am

      I agree, i’d opt for the FHD model as well, but some people will appreciate the sharper screen more. I will update the battery section with details on the FHD model though.

      • DavidC1

        April 3, 2015 at 2:34 am

        I still can’t believe how Intel put out such a poor chip. Intel totally lied in its pre-release presentations. You either get a mediocre battery life device with piss poor performance if set at 4.5W, and atrocious battery life with mediocre performance when set at 7-9W.

        I can’t believe even more how others don’t notice this. Perhaps this escapes them because its not relevant to their purchasing power.

  2. justapad

    April 2, 2015 at 7:26 pm

    I think it is a massive blunder by ASUS to design a 1.57 lbs tablet and then match it with a 1.58 lbs DUMB keyboard that apart from being a BT keyboard is NOTHING but a massive counterweight and a hinge.

    For goodness sake, why is ASUS not producing a version that just uses a lightweight type cover? If the keyboard/”dock” is not going to provide any functionality except to support arbitrary screen angles, it is not worth lugging around at 1.58 lbs, DOUBLING the weight of the device.

    I just can’t believe it. The only way it makes sense to have a 1.58 lbs keyboard is if it includes extra battery for the tablet, extra disk storage, ethernet, more USB ports and a sufficiently high-speed electrical or wireless connection to the tablet.

  3. Mark

    June 5, 2015 at 6:57 pm

    > Battery life
    > 3.5 Wh (~9 h of use) – idle, Power Saving Mode…
    > 5.5 Wh (~5 h 30 min of use) – very light browsing…

    Units mismatch. You probably meant power (watts), not energy (watthours).

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 6, 2015 at 12:47 pm

      Hmmm, yes, those are Watts consumed in one hour. I guess I should change this in all the posts from Wh to W/h .

      • Mark

        June 6, 2015 at 1:10 pm

        > Hmmm, yes, those are Watts consumed in one hour.
        > I guess I should change this in all the posts
        > from Wh to W/h .
        > 3.5 W/h (~9 h of use) – idle, Power Saving Mode…
        > 5.5 W/h (~5 h 30 min of use) – very light…

        No, no, you are mixing terms like power (W = Wh/h), energy (Wh, Joules), and (elsewhere) also battery capacity measured in Ah or Wh. The W/h (Watts consumed in one hour) makes no sense at all. The power is Watthours consumed in an hour (which is the same as Watts, time units cancel out), P=E/t. So in the above text seems to me you are referring to load power under different conditions, so these should be plain Watts, i.e. 3.5 W when idling.

        • Andrei Girbea

          June 7, 2015 at 8:29 am

          Yes, you’re actually right. My physics teacher would be ashamed of me, as I am now. Thanks for your clarifications, much appreciated.

  4. Ken

    July 27, 2015 at 3:44 pm

    Our views on this couldn’t be further apart. This is by far my favorite 2 in 1 computer. The only complaint that I have about it is the weight of the dock, it seems Asus could have provided a different solution to stabilize it. Other than that single issue I am totally in love with this 2in1.

    That being said, the only thing I really use a computer four easy editing Microsoft documents and surfing the web. I don’t really stress out a computer with games or the like. So I guess any computer would do for me.

    Sincerely,

    Chi T300 Fanboy

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 27, 2015 at 9:31 pm

      I’m glad you’re happy with this device, it’s definitely not bad. My reviews are more or less subjective and I’m always saying that you might feel different about certain devices that I review

  5. Richez

    August 29, 2016 at 10:09 am

    Using a bluetooth mouse (for me logitech M535) is far more pleasure than trackpad, stylus or finger. And no little thing to plug into the USB.

    Super tablet for reading. There are so many books on the net, I cannot print all I like, would be extensive

    Also good at videos when travelling (256 GB SSD for me)

    The manual is a joke, it does not exist! don’t explain anything !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *