Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Acer Aspire R 13 Andrei Girbea Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Acer Aspire R 13 (R7-371T) review – an odd 13 inch convertible

12 Comments

  1. Sean Rosenberg

    May 12, 2015 at 7:44 pm

    Nice review, I just received my R13 last Friday from Microsoft Store and love the device except for 2 things. The touch pad (likes to move a bit after leaving finger) and more largely, the keyboard. You mention the issue in your review, but on my unit if you don’t press right in the middle of the key it won’t register the key press.

    Are you saying this really isn’t an issue for you? Would love to keep this device as it stands but I can’t with the typing situation and will be sending back. The question is do I contact Acer for support or just return to MS and be done with it…

    Thanks,
    Sean

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 13, 2015 at 10:19 am

      Like I said, some people complained about that, some didn’t. I can’t tell for sure if only SOME models have defective keyboards, but I’ve typed a few thousands words on this computer and was overall happy with the response. You could try to send this back to MS and get a replacement, but chances are it will behave the same. It’s up to you, I sincerely don’t know what I’d do in this situation, but to be frank, if you are goign to do a lot of typing on your laptop, you should probably look elsewhere.

      • Sean Rosenberg

        May 13, 2015 at 12:29 pm

        Crazy, I feel like its a very reproducible issue, pressing down on any corner of the key, the key feels depressed but just doesn’t register.

        What a shame, anyway I think I’m gonna end up spending a bit more and go with a Zenbook or if I really want to blow the piggy bank the new XPS 13.

        Hmm, decisions decisions…

        • Andrei Girbea

          May 13, 2015 at 3:35 pm

          I have the XPS since January and I probably typed tens of thousands of words on it, but I still can’t get used to the short key stroke. The keyboard is pretty good otherwise, but the limited travel ruins it for me. If possible, try to see either the Zenbooks on the XPS in some stores. A Microsoft Store should have both, if there’s any in your area. The whole typing experience is highly subjective and there’s a fair chance you might not like what I do, and the other way around…

  2. syed

    May 14, 2015 at 7:15 pm

    hi, Andrei,

    big fan of your reviews, i purchased the r13 two months back, and am in love with it, didn’t have any issues with the keyboard, i type approximately 1000 words a day, can you please update the review considering the lates broadwell based processor, mine in full hd, i5,5200u, 8gb, 256 gb ssd(super-fast, boots up the moment i open the lid), it says 10hrs of battery, i can manage around 8 to 9hrs with medium load and 4 hr max when doing simulation.

    awaiting latest review

  3. Don Monaco

    June 26, 2015 at 4:39 pm

    Hi Andrei,

    Your review was excellent and after spending a huge amount of time reading reviews decided to order the Acer R13 with i7-5500U and 256GB drive since that was the configuration available. Could you elaborate on the prying method used to remove the bottom cover to gain access to the drives. I see that there are 12 screws. Do you take a credit card and run it around the seem to pop the cover off?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 29, 2015 at 11:01 am

      Yes, that’s what I’m always using. Make sure you unscrew all the screw first and then start from the back or from a corner and work your way around with a CC.

      • Don Monaco

        July 12, 2015 at 6:56 pm

        Thanks again for your rapid reply to my question concerning the opening of the case. Based on the outstanding pictures you supplied in this review, I assumed the only difference in what I ordered was going to be the I7 processor and higher screen resolution but I was shipped an R13 with 2 128GB drives setup in RAID 0. Was you R13 setup in AHCI with just the single 256GB drive? I have learned that ACER tech support staff have very limited information in this area so knowing if you were provided with an R13 setup in AHCI would at least tell me I have the option of changing my RAID 0 mode setting when I’m ready to upgrade to larger size hard drives. Of course I will not be able to use ACER’s recovery media to switch over to AHCI. I would need a real copy of Windows 8.1 in order to do a fresh install since the recovery is for RAID 0.

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 13, 2015 at 5:47 pm

          I don’t recall if my unit came with a RAID Config, but I think it did not. Sry

          • Don Monaco

            July 13, 2015 at 6:08 pm

            The pictures in this review only show 1 256GB drive. Is that how your unit came? I ask because a RAID 0 setup requires 2 drives.

          • Andrei Girbea

            July 13, 2015 at 6:25 pm

            Not necessarily. Some laptops come with a single physical SSD (on mSATA or M.2), which is actually made of two different SSDs paired in RAID 0. Acer uses this approach on several ultrabooks, and Asus does it as well on the UX301LA.

  4. Michael Heyman

    October 18, 2015 at 4:04 pm

    Received this laptop on 9/11/2015 and find it’s the worst laptop I’ve ever used. Keyboard layout is funky, you need the function key to go home or to the end. The delete key is down by the space bar. The keys are unresponsive and now the touch screen stopped working; a know issue and on line tech support couldn’t fix it. Never buy from the Acer store as you can only return it within 15 days not 30 like most stores.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *