Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Dell XPS 13 9343 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Dell XPS 13 9343 review with Infinity Display – a keeper!

151 Comments

  1. Peter Saam

    June 16, 2015 at 2:17 pm

    can you please comment on the key difference between this “as tested” 9343 model and the XPS 13ULT-4289sLV listed on Amazon. I know the XPS 13ULT-4289sLV has the touch screen, but is it otherwise the same?? In particular, are the physical dimensions the same? Thanks for your trouble

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 16, 2015 at 4:39 pm

      That’s last year’s model, the 9333. It’s a different machine, larger, heavier, without an SD-card-reader and so on. It’s not bad, just make sure you know what you’d be getting.

  2. Gill

    June 27, 2015 at 10:55 pm

    Andrei,

    have you found out what was the problem with low brightness. I was in a shop today and screen on FHD model looks dimmer then other laptops like ux303 FHD and some Lenovo laptops as well.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 29, 2015 at 11:15 am

      Well yes, it’s the Intel Contrast dimming feature, can’t remember how it’s called but it can be turned OFF on other laptops and it cannot on this XPS 13, because Dell decided to take that option out of the driver. It hasn’t been fixed from what I know.

      • Gill

        July 1, 2015 at 12:18 am

        Too bad, I really liked this laptop concept, but sometime ago I decided not to buy products with obvious flaws, counting on manufacturers to fix them.

        I wanted something with nice build quality, reasonably light and with 5xxxU CPU and with very good battery life
        XPS 13 has this adaptive brightness, poor brightness problem,
        ASUS UX303 have problem with hinges and in my country, company that repair it for Asus claims that broken hinge is user fault.
        I’ve considered other brands models but most of interesting laptops cost around $1500 here or have glossy screens which is big no-no for me.

        I decided to go little bigger and bought Latitude E7450.
        i5-5300U, 256GB SSD (got with Samsung SM841N, which is 840 PRO made for OEM), Samsung LCD which has quite good color accuracy and only minor backlight bleed on the bottom of the screen, 8GB RAM – for around $1000. Can get up to 8 hours of web use and if it will not be enough then additional battery is small and easy to swap (click-click).

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 1, 2015 at 8:23 am

          IS that an IPS panel on the Dell? If yes, then it sounds like a great deal. I got to play with some E7450 and E7250s a couple of weeks ago and they seemed solid options, except that they bundled TN panels which for me are a total NO-NO.

          • Gill

            July 2, 2015 at 2:10 am

            It is SDC4C48 (HWiNFO) it’s either IPS or PLS, but for sure it’s not TN.
            I know some 15″ SDC4C48 displays were used in Alienwares and 13,3 in 2in1 Inspirons.

  3. Omer

    July 13, 2015 at 2:28 pm

    Can anyone comment on coding with it?

  4. Sarah

    August 3, 2015 at 12:41 pm

    I was wondering if you had issues with the charger being too hot. I had it plugged for about 30 minutes and the little brick was so hot that I couldn’t touch it without burning my hand! The fan was also on for about 40 minutes, pretty loud, and I was only checking my email and social media. I just got it yesterday and its refurbished. Just wanted to know if it was a common problem?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 12, 2015 at 12:51 pm

      Well, no, these don’t happen to me. If you just got the laptop, there’s a fair chance it might be performing updates in the background. Try to see if those are interfering with your activities.

  5. Kevin Tran

    August 4, 2015 at 4:23 pm

    Hi I have a quick question/concern. Does your Dell XPS 13 blur out certain parts of the screen at times? Mine is a matte screen and I believe it is also the same model as yours. However, the screen is blurry at some points of the screen. Is there a way to fix this issue?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 12, 2015 at 12:54 pm

      Hmmm, could you be more specific. Which parts of the screen? Perhaps certain applications or windows look blurry? That’s caused by the fact that some 3rd party apps do not scale properly, and if you set up font-size to anything but 100% , you might encounter blurry elements from time to time.

      • Kevin Tran

        August 13, 2015 at 10:50 pm

        Certain icons on the screen are blurry.. for example the Spotify icon would be blurred out. I’ve tried updating drivers and windows but it doesnt seem to fix the issue. As for the font-size its at 100% as well.

  6. Director

    August 5, 2015 at 12:29 pm

    Hi,

    I’m don’t know wether I should get this Dell XPS 13 or the Asus UX303LN. I won’t use it for any gaming, mostly for university stuff.

    Any advise? The Asus’s sreen isn’t apperently that good, but looks like the Dell’s has some issues too. So at the end, wich one of those two has the best screen? I don’t like screens that aren’t bright, but mustard-looking yellows aren’t that good to.

    Looking at the pictures, the Dell, despite the excellent construction quality, looks a bit “plastic” to me compared to the Asus. Does it feel more “plastic” than the Asus when you hold it ?

    My heart would go for the Asus, but my brain isn’t that sure.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 12, 2015 at 1:00 pm

      The UX303LN shouldn’t be on your list if you don’t plan to play games, especially since the 3200 x 1800 px screen has major color issues.

      You could however look at the UX303LA, cheaper and with a FHD touchscreen.

      Personally, I’d go for the Dell between the two. The XPS 13 is definitely not perfect, but having used it for the last 6 months now, I think it’s worth what I payed for it.

  7. Daniel

    August 28, 2015 at 11:24 am

    Hi (sorry for my english)

    I’m thinking about buying this XPS13, but I’m just a little undecided because of the keyboard “problem”… I have allways had 15″ laptops, and I write all the time in it. I write quite fast and I would like to know … Do you think it is possible to get used to this keyboard and finally write as fast and correctly as in my ussual 15″laps? Now I prefer one of theese 13” because I bring it with me all the time because of my work and my back has warned me twice to change the size and the weigth of it. ;)
    what other options (in case you see a problem here) do you recomend, if I need a lap for a daily use and I ussually work with WORD, EXCELL, POWER POINT and internet research?

    Thanks so much!

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 28, 2015 at 12:37 pm

      It depends which 15 inch laptop you’re used to. I’m used to THinkpads, which have slightly higher keys with deeper travel and more precise feedback, that’s why I’m having troubles adapting to this keyboard, even after using it for 8 Months. Now, don’t get me wrong, you can definitely find worse on these thin laptops, but it’s just not what I would want.

      Perhaps you can see the laptop in some stores? That would be the ebst way to know you’ll be fine with this one or not.

  8. Daniel

    August 28, 2015 at 4:50 pm

    my lap now is a 15″ TOSHIBA Satellite L500-128 (Which is 5 yo)
    I have no way to see any lap of DELL, I’m from Spain and there isn’t any intel store. I only can order a DELL lap by by internet. I don’t care if if the keyboard is like others 13″ but I wouldn’t like it if it is specially small.

  9. Faiza

    October 10, 2015 at 10:38 pm

    Hi ,
    please refer me slim light weight Laptop…

    Brand: Dell
    Processor: 5th Generation Intel® Core™ i5 or i7
    Memory: 8 GB or higher
    Hard Drive: 256GB Solid State Drive
    Screen Size:13″,14″ or 15″
    Color : Black or Silver

    Perfect for working on software like Visual Studio 2013, Matlab r2014, Photoshop ,Unreal Engine .
    which is perfect for intense programming (Graphics(openGL),Video/image processing,game programming)
    I like DELL XPS 13 alot but confused , should i buy this one???
    Or refer me any other according to my requirements.

    Thanks

    • Faiza

      October 10, 2015 at 10:48 pm

      As i am already fed up of my DEll inspiron n4010, it heats up very fast that u can even use it as a heater in winters.
      and stuck on small Matlab image processing tasks . have to wait longer to see simple results.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 11, 2015 at 11:12 am

      What’s you max budget? The XPS 13 is a good option in the 13-inch segment, but you can get faster processors and more RAM with 14 and 15 inchers.

      • Faiza

        October 11, 2015 at 12:00 pm

        if its a best option then i’ll manage to buy this one because I like this one a lot.
        otherwise my budge is maximum 70K Rs… that is 670.5951 US Dollar….

        • Faiza

          October 11, 2015 at 12:10 pm

          and i don’t like to use desktop computers so I don’t have one.
          therefore, i use my laptop for all of my projects. so need powerful one…
          Using DELL Inspiron n4010 i3 ,500GB, 4GB ram,i bought this one 5 years back.

  10. Faiza

    October 11, 2015 at 8:43 pm

    And yeah please give me suggestions about this laptop too according to my requirements and work
    daraz.pk/apple-mjve2-macbook-air-13.3-inch-core-i5-1.6-ghz-128-gb-hdd-4gb-ram-intel-hd-graphics-6000-mac-os-x-yosemite-silver-5354695.html

  11. Faiza

    October 11, 2015 at 8:51 pm

    if XPS13 with infinity display is a best option then i’ll manage to buy this one because I like this one a lot.
    This is the price offering in my area.
    daraz.pk/dell-xps13-9343-13.3-fhd-intel-core-i5-2.2-ghz-cpu-256-gb-ssd-8-gb-ram-windows-8.1-silver-5336678.html

    otherwise my budge is maximum 70K-80k Rs… that is 670.5951 US Dollar….

    and i don’t like to use desktop computers so I don’t have one.
    therefore, i use my laptop for all of my projects.

    so need powerful one…

    Currently I’m Using DELL Inspiron n4010 i3 ,500GB, 4GB ram,Windows 8.1,i bought this one 5 years back.

  12. kris kelly

    December 4, 2015 at 5:37 am

    Andrei… Hi there. Thanks for the review. I am not a techy but I just purchased this Dell laptop model xps 9350 400 I am searching to try to find a compatible monitor as I find the screen way too small and need a big one for my vision and the work that I do. Best Buy reps were not able to find me a compatible monitor with out $$adaptable cords… and the cost was too much. Can you suggest something? Thanks, Kris

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 4, 2015 at 6:00 pm

      Any monitor that support miniDP (mini DisplayPort) input will work. You might need a MiniDP to Display – Port adapter

  13. Ayuni

    May 1, 2016 at 4:37 am

    Hi, I’m just still confused whether to buy dell xps 13 or asus zenbook ux305la. The main reason why I want to buy new laptop because for my study at university and I will also used it for watching movies. My heart said dell xps 13, I don’t think I will concerned about the touch pad issue. But from what I read from other reviews, they said that the battery of dell xps 13 is not that long and some other said that their battery drop from 52 wh to 44 wh after ten month they used it. Is it true? Cause basically I just want a laptop that is light, long battery life (maybe at least 6 to 7 hours). Please help me, which one do you think I should buy?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *