Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons

Asus Transformer Book Flip TP500LA/LN review

Asus Transformer Book Flip TP500LA/LN review
By Andrei Girbea - @ andreigirbea , last updated on October 17, 2014
Summary: If you're in the market for a good looking and powerful 2-in-1 laptop with a 15 inch screen, the Asus Transformer Book Flip TP500 should be on your list. It's a solid option with no particular deal-breakers, but you will be paying extra for the form factor, especially at launch. Maybe even more than it's worth, as a 15 inch tablet is not exactly comfortable to use.
Rating: 3.5 / 5   Price range: $650 - $1000

THE GOOD

good looking and solid built, decent keyboard and trackpad, plenty of ports, solid hardware, runs cool and quiet, alright battery life

THE BAD

poor screen on this configuration, the series priced high at launch, not that easy to upgrade

The Asus Transformer Book Flip TP500 is a 15 inch convertible laptop with a touchscreen, capable Haswell hardware and a start price of roughly $650. The more powerful configurations sell for between $700 to $1000 at launch.

In this post I’m going to tell you what to expect from the standard version of the TP500 line, called the Transformer Book Flip TP500LA. Asus also has a TP500LN version in stores, which is identical to this reviewed one, but also bundles an Nvidia GT 840M dedicated graphics chip. So performance aside, the article remains a reference no matter which model you plan on getting.

I also reviewed the TP300 a few days ago, the 13 inch member of this Transformer Book Flip series, and you might want to check it out as well, especially if interested in a similar, but more compact device.

The specs sheet for the Asus Transformer Book Flip TP500

Asus Transformer Book Flip TP500LA
Screen 15.6 inch, 1366 x 768 px resolution, TN, touchscreen
Processor Intel Haswell Core i7-4510U CPU
Chipset Intel HM87
Video integrated Intel 4400 HD (*Nvidia GT 840M for the TP500LN version)
Memory 8 GB DDR3
Storage 1 TB 5400 rpm HDD + 24 GB mSSD
Connectivity Wireless N, Bluetooth, Gigabit LAN
Ports 1 x USB 2.0, 3 x USB 3.0, SD card reader, HDMI, LAN, volume rocker, Windows Start button
Baterry 48 Wh
Operating system Windows 8.1
Size 22 mm think
Weight about 2.35 kg (5.2 pounds)
Extras stereo speakers, VGA webcam

Design and exterior

The form factor sets this Asus ultrabook apart from most other 15 inchers out there. The screen folds backs to 360 degrees, allowing you to use the device in several different modes: laptop, stand, tent or tablet.

This particular approach is more practical with 11 to 13 inch machines (like the Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro) than on a large and heavy (roughly 5 pounds) device like this one, as actually using the TP500 in tablet mode isn’t exactly comfortable, but it’s just something extra you won’t get with many other laptops (the Lenovo Flex 15 offers a similar form-factor, but its screen only folds back to 270 degrees).

The keyboard does lock automatically when flipping the screen past about 210 degrees (you’ll get a small pop-up that lets you know the Asus FlipLock is activated) and the accelerometer does a well job at rotating the canvas to the suitable position. In other words, as long as you can get used to the bulk and the weight, you should be fine with this Transformer Book, even if you want to use it in any other mode than as a standard laptop.

Aesthetically, I’d say the TP500 is not bad. A dark brushed sheet of metal dresses the lid, while the body is cast from a single piece of silver aluminum and the bottom settles for a rough, simple plastic cover. The interior is smooth, simple and spacious and the hinge (which is also metallic) is rigid enough to hold the screen in place just as you set it up. Last but not least, the laptop also feels strong in hand, sturdy, although there will be some flex and some cranks when grabbing it firmer.

Around the sides you’ll find a good set of ports, with 3 USB slots (only one of them is USB 3.0 though), HDMI, headphone/mic jack, card-reader and an RJ45 connector. There are also some status LEDs on the front flip, and a few other just on top of the keyboard, towards the right. The Power Button is placed on the left edge, next to a volume rocker and a dedicated Windows button, which might come in handy in tablet mode.

All in all, the Asus Transformer Book TP500LA looks and feels great for a sub $1000 laptop. It might not ooze the same premium impression as the Dell XPS 15, the Zenbook NX500 or the Retina Macbook Pro do, but let’s not forget it is a lot cheaper than those. I do have two gripes with it though: the dark metal sheet easily catches smudges and fingerprints, and when having the laptop in tablet mode, the screen does not lock properly in place and tends to wobble.

Screen

Let’s turn our attention towards the display. There’s a 15.6 inch touchscreen on this unit, with a TN panel and 1366 x 768 px resolution, which I could probably call alright for indoor use, but the panel quality is rather mediocre next to an IPS panel. It’s fairly bright and the colors are fine, but the contrast, pixel density and viewing angles are poor, like with most TNs.

Asus will bundle this particular screen with the cheapest version of the TP500LA. The other versions will get a 1920 x 1080 px touchscreen with a TN panel, and buyers seems to complain about the poor viewing angles and contrast. I haven’t seen it in person, so I can’t tell for sure how bad it is.

Update: David mentions in the comments: “I purchased an Asus TP500LA-ub51t from the Microsoft Store this week and found out my unit is NOT IPS. The viewing angles are horrible. Just to clarify, my unit is the 1920×1080 resolution one, so it is NOT the case that all models that are FHD are IPS as well.”

Update2: The FHD configurations come with an AUO36ED panel, at least in the US, which is indeed TN. Thanks KJT for mentioning it in the comments.

I’ve yet to see any reports of FHD units with IPS displays, but stay tuned, I’ll keep you updated.

Keyboard and trackpad

The keyboard and trackpad are similar to what we’ve seen on some other Asus laptops in the Vivobook line (like the V551 that I tested a while ago). There’s no back-lightning, but the travel and the overall feedback are quite good. There’s an European layout on this version, with a tall Enter and a small Left-Shift, but the US layout is going to be slightly different.

Other than that, there’s enough room for a Num-Pad area, with the keys here being somewhat narrower than all the others. I’m not a big fan of NumPads on a laptop, but if you deal with numbers, you’ll probably be glad to have it.

The touchpad is nice as well, with a large and smooth surface, separated from the palm-rest by some beveled edges. It tends to be accurate and reliable most of the time, with occasional hiccups, and it handles well taps, gestures and actual clicks (I could say that physical clicks are somewhat clunky, but that’s a minor detail).

Hardware and performance

Hardware wise, my test unit is competent, packing an Intel Core i7-4510U processor, 8 GB of RAM, and 1 TB 5400 rpm hard-drive with a 24 GB MSSD for caching and no dedicated graphics, as that’s reserved for the Transformer Flip Book TP500LN version.

But despite the punchy processor and the amount of RAM, the TP500LA is not incredibly fast, especially when it comes to launching apps, installing software and moving content around. It does boot fast though and resumes from sleep almost instantaneously. Now, I’s probably somewhat subjective here as I haven’t used a HDD equipped laptop in quite a few months (all my devices pack SSDs and all the ultrabooks tested lately had SSDs as well), but the slow 5400 rpm HDD inside this laptop is clearly a bottleneck here. Luckily, it can be replaced with a 7mm 2.5 inch SSD.

Removing the screws that hold the back panel in place and popping it aside (this might be tricky, you need to use a sharp object to clear one corner of the panel, and then pull firmly to release it, as it has quite a few plastic clams holding it attached) will get you access to the internals.

The HDD resides toward the left in a cage hold in place by a few screws, so it should be quite easy to get out and replace with an SSD. The mSSD is hidden beneath the SSD Card at the right of the HDD, so accessing it might be a bit more difficult.

At the same time, the TP500 series offers 4 GB of RAM soldered on the motherboard, and an extra DIMM that can take an up to 4 GB memory module (equipped with a 4GB stick in our case; an 8 GB module might work as well, but based on the experience with the Vivobooks V551 series, I believe the slot is limited at only 4 GB, but this needs to be confirmed/infirmed). However, just like on the TP300, this DIMM is hidden behind the Silver packaging on the left-side of the CPU, which you’ll have to remove if you want to upgrade the RAM. This guide shows you how to access the spare memory slot.

Last but not least, you’ll notice here the battery, which is fixed in place with a few screws and replaceable, if needed. And there’s also the vertical CPU-heatpipe we saw on the TP300 line. The speakers are placed towards the front on this unit, thus somewhat closer to the user.

  • 3DMark 13:  Ice Storm – 46277, Cloud Gate – 4818, Fire Strike – 539 ;
  • PCMark 08: Home Conventional – 2548, Work Conventional – 3064;
  • CineBench 11.5: OpenGL 23.83 fps, CPU 2.73 pts;
  • CineBench R15: OpenGL 24.27 fps, CPU 251 cb.

Back to the everyday experience, this tested TP500 is fairly fast, but not as fast as some of the premium ultrabooks available out there, and again, that’s mainly due to bundling a HDD. Even so, this laptop can take care of most tasks easily, from the basics (browsing, chatting, movies and videos) to the more complicated ones (programming software, image editing). It can handle light gaming as well, just not the latest titles and not on high details, due to the Intel HD 4400 integrated graphics.

The TP500LN models, with the Nvidia 840M graphics chip, are going to be far more capable when it comes to games. I did review the Zenbook UX303LN with an i7-4510U + Nvidia 840M configuration a while ago and you can see here what to expect from this bundle.

Noise, Heat, Connectivity and others

On the other hand, this simpler configuration runs cool most of the time, even when performing more demanding tasks, as shown in the pictures below. The palm-rest, the underbelly and the area beneath the screen, around the Asus logo (the exhaust is hidden behind the hinge, thus hot air is pushed towards this spot), do get warm in this case, but they never get hot. So you can easily use this laptop on your lap if you want to.

You will however hear the fan. While gaming, I measured a noise level of 43-44 dB at 50 cm away from the laptop (where a user’s head would usually be), which isn’t very loud, but definitely not quiet either. When performing light activities the fan is going to be mostly silent (not OFF though), but I did notice some sort of high-pitch wine coming out of it from time to time. And of course, the physical hard-drive is something you’ll constantly hear in a silent environment.

I expect the TP500LN to reach somewhat higher temperatures, but even so, there’s enough room inside this 15 incher, so you should not worry about the body or the components getting too hot. At least not as hot as on the sleek and compact Zenbook UX303LN, that’s for sure.

The speakers are placed on the belly, but towards the front-side, and fire decent sound, with good volume. Still, I’d say that both the audio-quality and the volume are just above average and definitely not impressive.

Connectivity wise, the TP500 offers Wi-Fi N only (no AC speeds here) and Bluetooth 4.0 , plus Gigabit Lan via the RJ45 connector on the left side.

There’s also a rather mediocre VGA webcam on top of screen, capable of taking decent images in good light, but very grainy ones in dim conditions.

Battery life

The Asus TP500LA packs a 48 Wh battery which for me, was able to push the laptop for about 5 hours of daily use. That includes everyday standard activities (browsing with 10 or so opened tabs, occasional music, editing texts, listening to music), with Wi-Fi ON, Balanced mode selected and the screen at about 50% (I turn OFF automatic brightness adjustment on my laptops). You should also expect around 5 hours of 720p video playing in similar conditions.

Now, one could probably squeeze more out if this laptop when choosing the Power Saving mode, but this caps the frequency and makes the laptop just too sluggish for my taste. But it’s worth knowing you could get 6 and maybe more hours of life on a charge from this laptop. You could also lengthen the autonomy when ditching the HDD for an SSD, especially for activities that tend to write/read a lot of data on the drive.

Expect 5 to 6 hours of daily use on a charge

Expect 5 to 6 hours of daily use on a charge

Price and availability

In Asus’s tradition, the TP500 will be available in stores in a bunch of different configurations for both series, an neither of them is identical to my test unit.

For the Transformer Book Flip TP500LA they’ll have these:

  • Intel Core i3-4030U, HD 4400 graphics, 500 GB 5400 rpm HDD, 4 GB RAM (on-board), 1366 x 768 px TN touchscreen, Windows 8.1 – roughly 600 euro (~$650 in the US);
  • Intel Core i5-4210U, HD 4400 graphics, 1 TB 5400 rpm HDD + 24GB MSSD, 6 GB RAM (4 GB on-board), 1920 x 1080 px touchscreen, Windows 8.1 – roughly 750 euro (~$800 in the US);
  • Intel Core i7-4510U, HD 4400 graphics, 1 TB 5400 rpm HDD, 8 GB RAM (4 GB on-board), 1920 x 1080 px touchscreen, Windows 8.1 – roughly 850 euro (~$900 in the US).

Some versions of the Flip TP500LA are already available in stores, and they are actually cheaper as mentioned above. See this link for up-to-date prices and configurations.

And these for the Transformer Book Flip TP500LN, with the dedicated Nvidia 840M graphics:

  • Intel Core i3-4030U, Nvidia 840M graphics, 500 GB 5400 rpm HDD, 4 GB RAM (on-board), 1366 x 768 px TN touchscreen, Windows 8.1 – roughly 700 euro (~$750 in the US);
  • Intel Core i5-4210U, Nvidia 840M graphics, 1 TB 5400 rpm HDD + 24GB MSSD, 6 GB RAM (4 GB on-board), 1920 x 1080 px touchscreen, Windows 8.1 – roughly 850 euro (~$900 in the US);
  • Intel Core i7-4510U, Nvidia 840M graphics, 1 TB 5400 rpm HDD + 24GB MSSD, 8 GB RAM (4 GB on-board), 1920 x 1080 px touchscreen, Windows 8.1 – roughly 950 euro (~$1000 in the US).

Those EURO/USD prices are my own estimates based to the exact prices for my country, so they might not be 100% accurate. Also, different regions might get different configurations, other from those listed above.

Notice that the Core i3 options are the only ones to pack the 1366 x 768 px TN panel. They also lack the 24 GB caching mSSD, so expect these to be slow.

Besides this, here’s (roughly) a 100 euro difference between a similarly configured TP500LA and a TP500LN, or in other words, the dedicated graphics are going to cost you about 100 EURO/USD. It’s up to you if that’s worth it or not.

Wrap-up

Although there’s nothing majorly wrong with this laptop, I do find it somewhat tough to recommend right now, at launch, because it is rather expensive, especially when looking at its competition.

Let’s take the top version of the TP500LA for a second. $700 will get you a Vivobook V551LA with a Core i7-4510U processor, 8 GB of RAM and 750 GB HDD these days. An Acer Aspire V5-573 goes for around $700 as well and bundles an Nvidia 720M graphics chip too. The TP500LA is $200 more and the only major difference is the FHD screen and the form factor.

And then there’s the TP500LN, with the top configuration going for a bit over $1000. Well, Asus also sells the N550JK, with a non-glare IPS panel, better sound system and Nvidia 850M graphics for roughly $1000 to $1100. Lenovo has the IdeaPad Y50 for around $1150 with GTX 860M graphics, or the IdeaPad Y40 with Radeon R9 275 graphics for about 900 bucks. And Acer has a few aggressive priced units as well.

The Transformer Book Flip TP500 is a good laptop, just a bit too expensive if you don't really want a convertible form factor

The Transformer Book Flip TP500 is a good laptop, just a bit too expensive if you don’t really want a convertible form factor

All these lack one thing: the convertible form factor, so that’s pretty much the main reason you should choose the TP500 over any of the aforementioned options. Otherwise, you can get similar configurations for less, or better ones for pretty much the same kind of money you’d pay on a Transformer Book Flip.

But is the form factor worth the premium? Well, you might feel different, but for me it does not on a 15 incher like this one, that weighs North of 5 pounds. I agree, having a foldable screen sounds good in theory, but actually means little in practice. I only flipped it back once or twice during these last 2 weeks of testing and that was to show some friends this particular feature. I kept it as a standard laptop for the rest of the time, no matter where I was using it. And I believe the same would happen to most users.

So, to wrap this up, the Asus Transformer Book Flip TP500 is a good laptop, with plenty of positive aspects and no major gripes. It just needs to get cheaper, which will for sure happen in a few months. In the meantime, you can have a look at some other 2-in-1 laptops, or check out my lists of the best 15 inch ultrabooks of the moment and this other list of the top ultra-portables you can get for under $800 these days.

Anyway, there you have it, this was my review for the Asus Transformer Book Flip TP500. Let me know what you think about this laptop and make sure to share this post around if you find it useful. And of course, the comments section below is open and waiting for your feedback and questions.

Andrei Girbea, aka Mike, Editor-in-Chief and a huge fan of mobile computers. Since 2007, I've only owned smaller than 12.5" laptops and I've been testing tens, if not hundreds of mini laptops. You'll find mostly reviews and guides written by me here on the site.

105 Comments

  1. Alejandro

    July 29, 2014 at 10:36 pm

    Hello,

    I’m going to buy probably the TP500LN(FHD) with the highest configuration, because unfortunately here the UX303LN(FHD) and TP300LD aren’t yet available, and would be by the end of August.
    So I was wondering how was the display quality compared to the Zenbook lineup, in terms of viewing angles, contrast etc…I suppose that the anti-glare Zenbook have better viewing angles. In both cases we have IPS panels, isn’t it ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 30, 2014 at 7:55 am

      There are IPS panels on both series. The Non-glare option of the Zenbook won’t necessarily have wider viewing angles, but will have less glare. Glare and reflections are going to be a problem if you use your laptop outdoors or in bright light. If you don’t, the glossy touchscreen will do as well. The biggest difference between the Zenbooks and the Transformer Book FLip line is the body-size (the latter are bulkier and heavier) and of course the form-factor.

  2. pranay

    August 3, 2014 at 7:02 pm

    Hii there I don’t know how did you spent so much money for that configuration but I got mine for a 650$ in USA with 8 gb ram, 1 Tb hdd and i5 processor and according to me it is a quite inexpensive laptop and the flip feature kind of feels like free because you get a normal configuration at this price.

    • Josh Lab5

      December 18, 2014 at 9:57 pm

      Where did you find your laptop at such a good price!?

  3. Anthony

    August 9, 2014 at 3:51 am

    How did you install the windows after you upgrade to ssd? my bios is not able to boot up from the recovery disk I created after I installed the ssd. thanks.

  4. Nicolas marshall

    August 30, 2014 at 7:51 am

    Is the ssd cache included in the hard drive (i.e. is this a sshd ?) or do you see both disks separated in your OS ?
    Thanks !

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 30, 2014 at 7:56 am

      It’s not. There’s a separate HDD and a there should be a separate small cache SSD on a mSATA port. It’s not easy to spot from waht I remember, might be hidden behind the motherboard.

      • chow

        August 31, 2014 at 5:39 am

        Anyone successfully replace the hdd to ssd? Unable to boot too after replacement . Does the mssd cache cause this problem?

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 31, 2014 at 9:14 am

          Can you get into BIOS? Is the new drive visible there?

  5. Richard

    September 14, 2014 at 11:12 am

    Hi Andrei. I’m looking to get either the TP300 or TP500 here in the UK but having trouble finding versions with good screens. I have found one of the TP500 which says it is LED panel with 1366X768. Is this an IPS panel? As it has the resolution consistent with the TN panels you mention.
    If I don’t manage to find something in the UK with the right config is it possible/a big pain to order something from outside and use it here?
    Thanks, Richard

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 15, 2014 at 12:37 pm

      that’s a TN panel, Asus only have 1080p IPS panels on these lines. Not sure about importing, should be pretty easy to do it from Germany and other EU countries. However, you will get the laptop with an European plug and I’m not sure if Asus offers International warranty, so in case something gets wrong, you might have to send it back to the country where you bought it.

  6. Jonathan C

    September 19, 2014 at 2:30 pm

    Hey, great review! I’m really considering getting this laptop, as my uni is offering it for a discount. The model their selling is the LN model, with 1920×1080 screen and an i7 chip. Just wondering what are your thoughts on the 1080 display (like is it responsive touch wise, and are the colours and brightness ok), and what is the performance like? I might use it for some occasional gaming, like hitman, and the upcoming gta5, so I’m wondering how it is like.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 19, 2014 at 3:30 pm

      It’s a good screen with an IPS panel, which translates in popping colors and wide viewing angles. Not sure about brightness, but probably around 300 nits at max levels, which is alright even for outdoors use.

      Is there a dedicated graphics chip on that version you mention? The LN packs the 840M Nvidia solution, if I’m not mistaken? If that’s the case, than you should eba ble to run those titles on medium details fine enough. I have a review of a similar config on the UX303LN and I’ve tested some games there, just to make an idea on what to expect: http://www.ultrabookreview.com/4274-asus-zenbook-ux303ln-review/

  7. Jonathan C

    September 19, 2014 at 3:43 pm

    Nope, it comes with 2gbs of gt840m. For around 700 euros (after conversion), with i7, 8 GBs of ram, 1 TB hard drive, plus that 1080p screen, does that seem like a good deal to you? And thanks again for yr super quick reply!

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 19, 2014 at 3:49 pm

      I’d say yes, it’s a good buy. Keep in mind that this is a big laptop, kind of heavy and you probably won’t use it much on tablet mode (because it’s mostly uncomfortable), but the specs sound really good for the price. Make sure you order from some shop that allows returns in 30 days in case you end up with a faulty unit (happens sometimes) and proper test the Wi-Fi module once you get your device, as well as check the screen for light bleeding and dead-pixels.

      And if the budget allows, you might want to ditch the HDD for an SSD, that’s going to make a huge difference.

      • Jonathan C

        September 19, 2014 at 4:10 pm

        I’ll be mostly using it as a desktop replacement at home, cos at school i use an ipad with a Bluetooth keyboard for lectures. I’ve never used a computer with an ssd before, is the speed difference really that noticeable? Thanks so much for your advice

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 19, 2014 at 8:42 pm

          Yes, the speed difference is day and night with an SSD and SSDs have got really affordable these days. Plus no moving parts (less noise) and somewhat higher efficiency (slightly longer batter life on a charge).

      • Jo

        September 26, 2014 at 4:27 pm

        Is it possibly better to switch out the mSSD with a 128Gb for instance to install the OS on and use the 1Tb HDD as a data disk?
        And hav you got any idea how you can reach this mSSD?

  8. Selcan

    September 20, 2014 at 6:53 pm

    Hi,
    I just bought this laptop and now i want to buy an active pen / digitizer /stylus. I need the pen to have a very fine point and be good enough to do handwriting with…arabic handwriting.
    which one will work with this laptop?
    Thanks

  9. Bemn

    September 21, 2014 at 6:32 pm

    Asus doesn’t mention IPS panels anywhere. I even asked about this in a store and the salesman told me that he didn’t know what panel it has (i5-4210U, HD 4400 version) but definately not IPS. Where did you get that information that these full hd laptops have IPS panels?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 22, 2014 at 8:35 am

      From Asus, but from some brochures available before release. I haven’t seen the laptop live so I could not check the panel ID to make sure it’s an IPS or not. However, I’m not aware of any TN FHD 15.6 inch panels used on other Asus laptops in the past, thus I’m pretty sure that’s going to be an IPS.

      Still, if the salesman said “definitely not IPS”, what other options are there, besides TN? So how come he didn’t know what kind of panel it was but he was sure it wasn’t IPS? Doesn’t seem like a trust-worthy reply to me.

      You should try to find some people who actually bought this laptop and ask about the screen’s Hardware ID, this way you can tell for sure what kind of panel is there.

      • Bemn

        September 22, 2014 at 10:35 am

        Thanks for the reply! I’ve googled some forums and people are returning laptops back to seller because viewing angles are not good and they also say it’s not IPS.

        It’s also strange why Asus doesn’t mention it anywhere because IPS is a great selling point!

        I think it’s easier to ask Asus so I’ll email their support.

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 22, 2014 at 3:09 pm

          OK, thanks for the heads-up. I’ll update the post as well. If people are complaining about the viewing angles then yes, it’s probably not an IPS panel.

          • Bemn

            September 23, 2014 at 10:19 am

            Okay, Asus’ support confirmed it’s an IPS panel. It’s really odd they don’t mention it anywhere. Also if you check any webstore’s product information IPS is not mentioned there either.

            And thanks for the review, it’s the reason I’m finally buying this hybrid.

          • Andrei Girbea

            September 23, 2014 at 10:51 am

            Great. Please get back to me with your impressions on the screen and the panel’s HardwareID, if it’s not too much to ask. It would really help the other readers.

  10. Eric Li

    September 23, 2014 at 4:19 pm

    Hello, I’m from HK. I also emailed to Taiwan Asus asking about the screen panel of TP500ln (1080p version). The cs told me that it is a TN panel.

    Anyone gets a TP500ln (1080p version) on hand ?

  11. David

    September 24, 2014 at 8:45 pm

    I purchased an Asus TP500LA-ub51t from the Microsoft Store this week and found out my unit is NOT IPS. The viewing angles are horrible. Just to clarify, my unit is the 1920×1080 resolution one, so it is NOT the case that all models that are FHD are IPS as well.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 25, 2014 at 8:46 am

      Thanks David. Can you please help me out with the panel’s HardwareID? It would help a lot.

  12. Helen

    October 16, 2014 at 9:11 pm

    Hi! I have a question and I tried googling but as English is not my mother language and I’m not that good with technical specifications then I want to ask this – do You know if there’s a 15 inch Asus laptop-tablet where you could separate the tablet from the keyboard? I know that the Asus Convertible ones are the closest things to that but I’d really like if I could separate those two things. And if there’s no 15 inch Asus like that, is there some kind of other brand as good as Asus which has 15 inch laptop-tablet where I could separate keyboard from the tablet? I’ve had an Asus laptop for the last 4-5 years and I’m really happy with it, no complains. I’d be really grateful if You could give me some advice. Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 17, 2014 at 7:03 am

      Hi Helen. There’s no detachable 15 inch 2-in-1 that I know off, only a few convertibles, like the Asus TP500. The largest detachables I know of are 13 inchers (Asus T300).

  13. kjt

    October 17, 2014 at 3:54 am

    Hey,

    I got this laptop from the MS store as well. The display is a 1080p and it isa TL panel. The manufacturer is auo36ed.

    For those of you with the laptop, can you see the 24GB SSD drive in device manager or the bios? I can not. Do I got a dud?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 17, 2014 at 7:10 am

      Thanks. Try to install HWInfo, it should show the 24 GB SSD . NOt sure what to say if it doesn’t, you might want to ask Asus about it. How fast does the laptop boot and resume from sleep?

  14. Voltago

    October 17, 2014 at 8:48 am

    Good Morning!

    I bought the Asus Transformer Book Flip TP500LN-DN075H in Germany. The Panel is an Auo36ed, it seems to be a (from auo.com/?sn=149&lang=en-US&c=34) B156HTN03.x (it’s not a .5).

    The mSSD hidden beneath the “Asus SSD Board 2.0” is a Sandisk U100 msata MINI, and it is shown in BIOS. It will be physically replaceable with something that shares the same Form Factor (look here for more Detail of the aforementioned SSD: sandisk.de/about-sandisk/media-kit/retail-oem-product-photos/solid-state-drives/sandisk-u100-ssd/)

    Dimensions: Size: 3.4mm * Width 26.8mm * Depth 30mm

    The Problem is the form factor. The screw towards the rim of the case that holds the Asus SSD Board in place may be in the way of any non-MINI msata card. Maybe it is possible to use tape to fix the boards – they should be fixed because of the little cable from the Motherboard to the SSD Board.

    And a little warning: I pulled the longer cable off, to unscrew the SSD Board. After plugging it back, some laptop parts heated up: the HDD, and the processor. I caused a short circuit! But why? By replugging it, it seems I lifted one of the conductor paths which then came far too close to another. I found the cause and solution by chance. So be very careful if you plan to lift those cables!

    Well, last to say: If Asus had installed a GOOD IPS Screen, AC-Wifi, a possibility for a second HDD (there is enough room left!) and or at least a m.2 port or real mSata port – this Laptop would be gorgeous. Be ashamed Asus! ,-)

    I have problems to write very fast on the keyboard. Sometimes it’s missing key-presses – Does anyone else have this problem?

    • kjt

      October 18, 2014 at 12:27 am

      Thanks fellas….

      I solved my mystery…. I opened the laptop and I noticed The ssd board was disconnected (I.e no wire was placed to the mainboard). I took the ssd board out and noticed there wasnt a micro ssd under the daugherboard….. wtf Asus…

    • Winny83

      September 8, 2015 at 10:10 am

      I can confirm that a normal sized msata ssd can be put inside and be used. It can only be held in with 1 screw since the other must be removed with pliers for the msata ssd to fit. If the laptop didn’t come with the msata ssd, any 12 pin cable with a 0.5mm pitch can be used to connect it to the motherboard.

      I was not able to get intel rapid storage technology to work since the bios setting for the sata port cannot be changed. Instead asus express cache technology can be used and also use half the msata ssd for caching and the other half for storage.

  15. Grahamf

    October 18, 2014 at 4:25 am

    Hi, I had just purchased a TP500LN off of Amazon and am waiting for it to come in the mail. My configuration does not come with the 24gb mSATA SSD, but it was the only model that met all of my other requirements. I would like to install a small SSD in that slot to use as a cache drive, but according to the pictures it seems like the mSATA is on a daughterboard that would be missing to save cost. Can anyone confirm this? Thanks.

    • kjt

      October 18, 2014 at 2:49 pm

      They Mini MSata (I say mini as only the half size cards will fit) is located under the SSD daughterboard to the right of the Hard drive. Voltago’s post nailed it…

    • kjt

      October 22, 2014 at 3:38 pm

      Update – My Laptop had the daughter board, but it did not have the cable (or the Mini SSD). Andrei Girbea can you confirm the type of 12 Pin Cable (1mm, 0.5mm etc?).

      I had a 12 pin cable from a different laptop but it did not work.

      • Andrei Girbea

        October 22, 2014 at 4:51 pm

        Hi KJT. I’m sorry but I haven’t pried open the HDD cage and haven’t checked out the mSATA port. Maybe some of the other readers can help you out here.

  16. Maria Rodz

    October 29, 2014 at 11:14 am

    Hi there. I’m seriously thinking on buying this laptop. Here where I live I can get the TP500LA-EB31T which is a Core i3, 6GB and 500 GB HDD on a 15.6″ monitor. I’m not expert so I’d like to know if it is still a good buy. The price here is $499. And if you could tell me if i3 is a good CPU for everyday computing I’d appreciate the help.

    I can’t afford to buy both a tablet and a computer so I was told this is a good option.

    Please let me know soon your thoughts…and thanks again!

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 29, 2014 at 3:18 pm

      Hi Maria. The i3 CPU is alright for LIGHT and BASIC activities: brosing with a few tabs open, some video playing, some music, editing texts. Just make sure you’re not going to run multiple things at the same time, it’s not a great multitasker.

      Now, this laptop is decent, but I found it very awkward to use as a tablet. It’s just too massive and heavy for this imh, so if you buy it especially for the 2-in-1 form factor, you might want to think about it, maybe try to see the device in an actual store before getting it, just to make sure it’s exactly what you want.

      • Maria Rodz

        October 30, 2014 at 11:05 am

        Hi again. What about streaming movies? And another thing, the only game I play is The Sims 4. It is good enough for that?

        • Andrei Girbea

          October 31, 2014 at 11:56 am

          If you get a version with dedicated graphics, should handle SIms 4, Otherwise, might not. Streaming movies won’t be a problem at all though, for any configuration.

    • Brandon

      November 13, 2014 at 4:35 am

      The TP500L machine with the i3 / 500GB HD is nice, but… put a 500gb ssd in it and it becomes a very nice little machine. I just set this up for my wife and this is quite the nice little screamin machine. The SSD installs easily using the asus “Backtracker” recovery utility, which puts the recovery system on a usb flash drive. Pop in the SSD, insert the flash drive, restart with the boot drive to the flash drive and presto, Backtracker begins and all is done in a matter of 20-30 minutes.
      Good luck,

      Now to figure out how to put an stack an additional 7mm HDD backup internally, boost the RAM to 12 GB and we’ll be done.

  17. Stephy

    November 2, 2014 at 3:08 pm

    Hi, I’m about to buy a laptop, can u please suggest either ASUS TP500 or LENOVO Flex 2 14 is better? Really confuse about it… Thanks!

  18. Chim

    November 3, 2014 at 4:16 pm

    Hello Andrei ! I love your review.
    btw I want to ask if there is also a yellow sticker near the HDD in TP500?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 3, 2014 at 5:35 pm

      Not on my unit. But the retail versions have the seal from what I’ve been told

      • Chim

        November 5, 2014 at 4:57 pm

        Thx Andrei, and i got my notebook today, i found that there is no warranty woid sticker in HDD.
        It mean that i can change my HDD into SSD right?

        But there is a warranty void sticker covering next to the fan.
        What does it mean??
        http://imgur.com/3hWT8p7
        http://imgur.com/cN6G3I6

        • Andrei Girbea

          November 5, 2014 at 6:06 pm

          Looks like you can replace it. Not sure what their policy is in your country, but you could keep the HDD that came with the unit, in case something goes wrong later down the road and you have to send the laptop in for repairs (that way you can just put the old rive back in). That sticker on the heatpipe is a bit weird. It’s not like anyone would want to access the processor…

          • Chim

            November 6, 2014 at 12:33 am

            Oh Thank u so much Andrei :)

  19. Kevin

    November 7, 2014 at 6:49 pm

    Hello Andrei. I’m trying to decide between the T200TA (with the higher clocked Intel Z3795 processor, 4 GB of RAM, 64 GB of storage and Windows 8.1 64-bit), the TP500 with the i3 processor, 6GB RAM, and 500 GB drive, or the TP500 (with the i5 processor, 8GB RAM, and 1TB drive. It would be mostly for general use and video watching. What is your opinion? Would it be better to go with the TP500 with the i5 because of the 1920×1080 FHD screen, even though it’s TN? Or is the T200TA screen better because it’s IPS, even thought it’s only 1366×768 HD? Thanks for the help.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 9, 2014 at 11:12 am

      Hi Kevin. The TN panel on the TP500 isn’t great.

      Still, you’re comparing apples and oranges. the T200 is a detachable and it’s compact, the TP500 is big and massive. What do you need most? The power of those Core processors, or the portability and long-time use of the Z3795 platform (which is also fanless, btw). Both will handle casual everyday tasks, office and videos well, but the Core models are going to be of course more capable to handle some serious taks as well.

      • Kevin

        November 9, 2014 at 1:06 pm

        Thanks for reply Andrei. Strictly based on display, is the HD IPS on the T200 better than the FHD TN display on the i5 TP500?

        • Andrei Girbea

          November 9, 2014 at 2:18 pm

          imo Yes. The overall panel quality and viewing angles matter more than the resolution.

  20. John

    November 13, 2014 at 4:30 pm

    Hi Andrei, I am seriously considering to buy model TP500LN-DN119H with i7-4510U, NVIDIA GT 840M with 2GB DDR3, shipping with 4gb memory(salesman agreed to upgrade it to 12gb free of cost), 750GB SATA-24Gb SSD. And screen is mentioned as 15″ LED FHD 1920×1080. On the display set at the store they have put a note mentioning it is an IPS display but viewing angles, color reproduction and brightness was not very impressive. Is there a way from OS level to find out which display panel is used on that laptop ?

    I am also considering Acer Aspire V7-482PG Ultrabook with i7-4510U, 12gb RAM, NVIDIA Geforce GT 750M(4gb DDR3 VRAM) and 14″ Full HD 10-point multi-touch screen. I did not get a chance to see a display unit in the store.

    Which of this two laptops will be a better buy ? I will be using it for photo/video editing and multitasking occasionally but not much gaming. I hate laptops heating up but noticed that Asus TP500LN-DN119H runs cool.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 13, 2014 at 9:12 pm

      You can go to Device Manager, Monitors, Right click on the option, Properties, Details and from Property select Hardware. Then do a quick online search of the code there. However, it’s easy to tell if a display is IPS or not. Just check the viewing angles. If there’s little contrast swift when looking from above/below/sides, it’s IPS, if not, it’s TN. Some readers reported the US versions to ship with TN panels. I haven’t see that Acer in Action but the V7s are quite good. That option is definitely more compact and lighter than the TP500, but will run hotter because of the slimmer body.

      • John

        November 14, 2014 at 7:56 am

        Thanks, there is a contrast swift from above/below/sides so you mean it is an IPS panel ?. Colors were looking bit washed out and blacks/contrast were not good also. Comparing to the 1080 panel of Dell inspiron 13 7000 2-1 this one somehow was not looking impressive. I will go back there again and findout which panel it is from device manager.

        Please do a in-depth review of Aspire A7, it appears to be very good ultrabook.

  21. John

    November 14, 2014 at 11:57 am

    Asus TP500LN-DN119H – monitor auo36ed

    Acer Aspire V7-582PG 15″ – monitor-Auo12ed

    I took a look at 15″ model of Aspire V7 display is much better than Asus TP500LN-DN119H. I am going to buy V7, can you confirm from model number V7 display is IPS?

  22. Diego Cabral

    November 19, 2014 at 2:57 am

    Hi Andrei,

    I purchased this laptop by Amazon and there wasn’t information about the screen besides the resolution (amazon.com/gp/product/B00NGK7WY8/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1).

    However, I found out about the LCD problem after buying it, and now I am worried and thinking if I should return it (as I didn’t open the box yet).
    Also, what it is confusing me is because through some websites, they say that the laptop comes with a LED screen (laptopcountry.com/asus-flip-tp500la-dh71t-review/).

    So I really don’t know what to do. Would you have any suggestion? Do you think that Asus might have updated this laptop?

    Thank you

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 23, 2014 at 4:47 pm

      It’s tough to say for sure. You should try to contact the shops and ask abotu the screen. The reports I’ve seen suggest an TN panel on the TP500 configurations sold in the US and IPS panels on some models in Europe. TN means poor viewing angles, contrast shift, etc.

  23. Eddie Yong

    December 1, 2014 at 2:02 am

    Does it have Stylus support? Maybe as accessories?

    If I want stylus support and 360 flip, does it mean my only option is the Lenovo Yoga Pro 2 or 3?

    Thanks.

    • Eddie Yong

      December 1, 2014 at 2:17 am

      Also, can I just buy a Wacom stylus and make it work with the Asus 15 incher?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 6, 2014 at 6:09 pm

      Those don’t have Stylus supports either. I mean, it depends on what you understand by that. Every touchscreen can work with a Capacitive stylus, but those are not very precise. ON the other hand, there are special units that offers a digitizer with pen support, capable of much more accurate tracking. One example is the Lenovo ThinkPad Yoga, another are the Microsoft Surface Pro tablets.

      • Eddie Yong

        December 7, 2014 at 12:26 am

        Thanks, Andrei. Looks like I need to wait further for a convertible that meet my needs. I want a 15 to 15.6 incher. It should be either clamshell (like Yoga Pro) or convertible (like Surface Pro). It must support active digitizer and be able to write in tablet form. SSD is a must. Finally, it should be under 2.2 kg. I’m been using 14 inches notebooks past 10 years and hated the small screens. MacBook Pro looks so inviting.

        Sadly, none of the current products meet all criteria.

        For example,
        Asus Transformer Book Flip T500 – No active digitier and too heavy.
        Lenovo Yoga Pro 2 & 3 – No active digitizer. Only 13.3 inches. Broadwell Core M CPU throttling.
        Lenovo Thinkpad Yoga – Only 12.5 inches.
        Microsoft Surface Pro 3 – Only 12.5 inches.
        Apple MacBook Pro – No active digitizer and can’t be bent into tablet form.
        Acer Aspire R13 – No 15 inches option.
        Sharp RW-16G1 tablet – Not available outside Japan.
        HP Envy x2 15t – 2.5kg heavy.
        HP Envy x360 15t – No SSD and active digitizer.
        MSI GS60 2PC Ghost – No table mode and no active digitizer.
        Fujitsu Stylistics & Convertibles – Only 13.3 inches max.

        So, all the above systems has qualities I desire. Just that none combines them into a single product I want. I’m hoping with Intel Broadwell-U offerings in 2015, something that meets my needs will show up. I’m don’t mind spending US$2K on it.

        For example,
        Sharp Merilis 15.6 inch 4K – Again, hope Sharp’s prototype will not only make it into production, but is available worldwide.
        Surface Pro 4 – Has 15 inches option.
        Yoga Pro 3 Plus – Has Broadwell-U chip. Has Wacom pen. Comes in 15 inches option.

        • Andrei Girbea

          December 8, 2014 at 1:18 pm

          I don’t think there will be many convertibles with a 15 inch screen and I’m pretty sure a detachable that big is mostly out of the question. But we’ll see.

          BTW, there’s also the Acer Aspire R7 2014, it’s a convertible with a 15 inch screen and digitizer, might be worth a look, despite its unusual form factor

          • Eddie Yong

            December 8, 2014 at 6:34 pm

            Thanks, Andrei. You certainly know your stuff!

            As per your recommendation, I’ll look into the following options:
            1) Acer Aspire R7 2014 (i7, GTX 850M, cheap, but 2.5kg heavy)
            2) Sony Vaio Flip 15 (if still in production …)
            3) HP Envy x2 15t (only Core M)
            4) 2015 upcoming models using Broadwell-U

            Good website you’ve got here. Keep up the good work! Cheers! =)

          • Andrei Girbea

            December 9, 2014 at 10:19 am

            Glad I could help. I’d probably stay away from Sony, not sure how they handle their port-sale services now that they no longer make laptops. So in case something will go wrong or you’ll want a replacement battery, you might have a hard time finding what’s needed. Just my2c

  24. Christopher Lawson

    December 4, 2014 at 8:37 am

    I purchased the TP500LA-AB53T and the TN display was okay. After a bit of research I purchased an IPS panel replacement, installed it, and un-installed Splendid Video enhancements.

    The IPS display is worth the additional effort, or finding a laptop with IPS already installed.

    • Dawn

      December 26, 2014 at 4:41 am

      Hi Christopher, could you share from your experience?
      The part number you’ve ordered and from where, how difficult is it to replace, etc.

      • Christopher Lawson

        January 6, 2015 at 6:07 am

        Dawn, I purchased the screen from LaptopScreen.com (www.laptopscreen.com/English/model/ASUS/TRANSFORMER~BOOK~FLIP~TP500LA/). I ordered the glossy IPS, although if I did it again I would order the matte. The hardest part was the disassembling of the screen. There are only 2 screws and the rest is snapped together. Most laptops it would not have been an issue, but with the more sturdy aluminum it took me an hour to figure it out.

        Steps:
        1. Unplug battery connector (cable from battery to main board)
        2. Remove 2 screws from bottom left/right of screen.
        3. Turn over laptop screen down.
        4. With a good quality putty knife or screen removal tool snap apart base of screen (only where the hinge is located).
        5. Turn laptop back over and remove the rest of the snaps from the front of the screen.
        6. Unplug 30pin eDP connector.
        7. Slowly pull old LCD out (it held in place by double sided tape on the front of the screen).
        8. Place the new screen in place (remove protective plastic from new screen and careful not to get dirt or finger prints of inside of the touch screen or new IPS display).
        9. Re-attach 30 pin connector (and tape that holds the connector in place).
        10. Reassemble laptop.

        I hope this answers your questions.
        Have a great day – Christopher

        • Dawn

          January 7, 2015 at 12:25 am

          Thank you Christopher, I much appreciate it.
          With SSD which I already got and FHD IPS screen it’s a great laptop.
          All the best, Dawn

  25. khurrum

    December 9, 2014 at 5:13 pm

    Hi
    Can you compare price difference and performance measure between i3 and i7 of same series? Is it worth while to pay additional money for increasing performance in your expert opinion?

    Khurrum
    Malaysia

  26. lihimsidhe

    December 14, 2014 at 10:21 pm

    @andrei: i’m in the market for a new laptop hybrid. why a hybrid interests me is because of its potential applications with drawing directly into applications like Photoshop or Illustrator (I’m a mixed media artist).

    The TP500 seems to have all the bases covered for what I’m looking for. I do not mind the weight but the size, the ports (including HDMI), the RAM, the storage…. it has everything I’m looking for.

    I can’t find anything regarding if this has Wacom’s digitizer tech built in and/or if this works with bluetooh pressure styluses.

    Could you help me out?

    • lihimsidhe

      December 14, 2014 at 10:31 pm

      Is this my answer? gizmodo.com/wacom-bamboo-fineline-a-bluetooth-stylus-with-a-point-1629726621

      • Andrei Girbea

        December 18, 2014 at 11:10 am

        Might be, but Like I said, I can’t say for sure since I’ve never used one of these. Try to look for user reviews on amazon and other websites

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 18, 2014 at 11:09 am

      it doesn’t have a Digitizer at all. It should work with Bluetooth pens, BUT, I for one have no experience with those and can’t offer any documented advice on the topic.

    • vanstam

      May 31, 2015 at 5:54 am

      Lihimsidhe, I’m very interested in you experience. Did you buy the laptop? And how are you experiences with using it for Illustrator (with a pressure stylus)?

  27. Mike A.

    December 24, 2014 at 1:08 pm

    Excellent review Andrei! Since it appears that the US version of this model, TP500LA, does not have the IPS panel, do you know if the TP550 will have it instead? More importantly, wdhat is the difference between the TP500 and the TP550? I’ve some youtube videos of the latter and I can’t make out the difference.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 3, 2015 at 10:31 am

      Sry for the late reply. Most likely it will not. The TP550 is a lower end version with an HD onyl screen, plastic body, thicker case and an optical drive.

  28. Doug

    December 28, 2014 at 2:59 am

    The newer versions of these laptops seem to have updated features. The Best Buy model for example states that it has an IPS screen among other updates. How can you tell for sure about the IPS? bestbuy.com/site/asus-2-in-1-15-6-touch-screen-laptop-intel-core-i7-8gb-memory-1tb-hard-drive-black/7289029.p?id=1219262038351&skuId=7289029&pid=1219262038351&pcatId=abcat0502000

    • Noah Schmitz

      January 23, 2015 at 9:10 pm

      I have the same question. Best Buy sells a model called Q551LN-BBI706. I saw it in the store and it’s very sleek. It includes an optical drive and dedicated video card, so I assume it’s a variant on the TP550 series. I have a done a lot of research and find inconsistencies on specs and photos at most online retailers. I even chatted with an Asus support person who couldn’t tell me the difference between the model numbers, nor where to buy a TP550 series. Can you comment on any of the recent Flip updates? I am intrigued by the form factor for watching movies and using Skype.

      • Andrei Girbea

        January 24, 2015 at 9:52 am

        Yes, that Q551 is basically a TP500 for the US market and exclusive for BestBuy from what I know.

    • Noah Schmitz

      January 23, 2015 at 9:21 pm

      I have also seen this model number R554LA-RH51T at micro center. Looks like a flip with optical drive, but 6GB RAM and 500GB HDD. Any thoughts on this one? Are these all the same as TP550 but with model numbers specific to the retailer? It’s very confusing.

      • Andrei Girbea

        January 24, 2015 at 9:55 am

        Not sure what to say about this R554. Looks to me like a slightly more premium version of the TP550. The TP550 that is available in Europe comes with a completely plastic case, the R554 seems to have metal on the lid cover, from what I can tell from the pictures. The hardware should be similar though.

        I’m so mad at Asus right now for confusing us with so many different names for similar products. That’s not how they should do it!

  29. Caio

    January 21, 2015 at 11:54 pm

    Hello,what about gestures with its multitouch screen? On another review I have read that it has problems, can you confirm it? I need a screen that can recognize gestures with multiple fingers like pinch, zoom, rotate, and so on

  30. Wanne van Dorst

    February 26, 2015 at 6:27 pm

    The fan noise of this laptop irritates me. Incredible how a € 1000 laptop can make such a noise while performing little tasks. Even launching Google Chrome triggers the fan. How can I reduce the fan noise?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 26, 2015 at 7:39 pm

      Chrome is really heavy on these mobile platforms. That’s why I no longer use it on any of my ultrabooks. Can you try to use Firefox or IE for your daily tasks and see if the fans spin as fast?

  31. Teree

    March 12, 2015 at 2:52 am

    I bought a asus transformer book flip 3 months ago, my husband tried to install an anti virus for me but on the half way the lscreen became blackout out. He turned off and on, as soon as inserted the password the screen became blank again. We tried to press f5 nothing happens. We brought it back to Future Shop they told us we have to ship it to repair since we still have warranty. Can anyone tell me what is the problem?

  32. Stevo

    March 18, 2015 at 1:01 pm

    After buying this laptop, I found that it could not detect my router signal. I updated drivers and BIOS, but it did not fix the problem. I called Asus and they told me that this model was not built to detect 5 GHz Wifi signals. So if you have a broadband router signal for streaming or gaming at 5 GHz, this laptop will be the weakest link.

  33. Chin

    March 25, 2015 at 1:54 am

    Hi Andrei,

    I am going to buy TP500LN and the only available highest specs in Malaysia is only:
    Processor: i7-4510U
    Graphic: NVIDIA GT840M
    Memory: 4GB RAM
    Storage: 500GB HDD + 24GB SSD (can’t find 1TB HDD + 24GB SSD in Malaysia)

    My question is:
    1. How many RAM slot for this laptop? And maximum can up to how many RAM support?
    2. Can I upgrade the SSD without touching the HDD? (remain 500GB HDD but upgrade SSD to 128GB SSD maybe?)

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 25, 2015 at 11:54 am

      1. That’s written in the review. One slot.
      2. The SSD is used for caching, I don’t know whether the BIOS allows you to use it as a regular drive.

  34. PatJ

    April 2, 2015 at 3:12 am

    Have the TP500L with the i7 processor. Has a 1366 x 768 px TN screen. Want to update to an ips screen 1920 x 1020. Can I just update the screen or is there more to it?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 2, 2015 at 7:57 am

      In theory, you might be able to upgrade the screen if you can find the compatible IPS panel. In practice, that’s very complicated and you need to make sure you know what you’re doing or go to an authorized Asus service/reseller for the upgrade.

  35. Firdaus

    April 5, 2015 at 5:23 am

    Hye Andrei, I was owned the Tp500LN(i-Core 3). Do you think I should exchange it with Lenovo Yoga or not? I don’t which are better between Yoga and this Flip Book.

  36. Ahmed Wael

    June 6, 2015 at 10:56 am

    Does this device harmonics with :
    1- linux
    2- android .

  37. Dennis

    September 18, 2015 at 9:43 pm

    Hello Andrei,
    I need a ultrabook fast and with a GOOD battery (5/6 hours for university,i will use Microsoft Word/wi-fi/Google chrome).sometimes i play games (no new games).
    Which is best for You?
    Tp300lj= i7 5500u, 4gb ram, GeForce 920 2gb, 500gb hdd (50watt-hours battery)
    Tp500lb=i7 5550u,8gb ram,GeForce 940 2gb,hdd 2tb (48watt-hours battery)

    There is a best pc for 800 euro?
    Thank you
    Dennis

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 18, 2015 at 11:46 pm

      I wouldn’t get either of those if you want 5-6 hours of battery life. I’d rather aim at the Core i5-5200U processor, 8 GB of RAM and SSD storage.

      • Dennis

        September 19, 2015 at 1:07 pm

        Thanks for your comment,
        Which one do you suggest me?
        Tp300 haven t a good battery?

  38. steveh

    November 23, 2015 at 5:14 am

    I am looking at one from costco.com and it’s the TP500, i3 processor,8GB memory, 500GB HDD. What enhancements have been made on the screen? it’s $100 off, going for $394.99 on Nov.26-30, 2015. Looks like a good buy at the end of it market life. Is it a deal at that price?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 23, 2015 at 10:37 am

      That’s probably the HD screen with a TN panel, similar to the one on this review unit, which is pretty poor. But you won’t find a similar 2-in-1 within that budget.

  39. Marcos Paulo

    January 12, 2016 at 6:20 pm

    Hello Andrei,

    do you know if its possible upgrade the 24GB SSD board of TP500LN OR even install a 128GB SSD board in a TP500LA?

    I dont want to remove the HDD…

    • Marcos Paulo

      January 14, 2016 at 1:45 pm

      Elucidating: not “upgrade the board” but upgrade the SSD given my notebook DOES HAVE a board to mSATA SSD

  40. andy

    February 3, 2016 at 10:16 am

    Does anyone know the part number for the 1920 1080 screen? Im hoping its a direct upgrade for the 1366 768 screen. that is if the motherboard works with 2ch lvds

  41. Eric

    April 5, 2016 at 2:03 am

    How exactly do you remove the battery? I’ve taken apart my laptop and unscrewed all of the additional screws connected to the battery, but it’s still latched onto the rest of the hardware via a connector that I can’t remove.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *