Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus Chromebook C200 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus Chromebook C200 / C200MA review – dead silent

14 Comments

  1. Wesley Files

    June 6, 2014 at 7:23 pm

    Do you remember if you closed out the other tabs while doing the benchmarks? They’re lower than some other people who have benchmarked the C200, enough for me to want to ask.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 6, 2014 at 9:44 pm

      Yes, everything was closed except for the tab running the benchmark.

  2. Ralph Enderby

    June 7, 2014 at 4:57 pm

    Good review. I liked the added benchmarks. I am surprised though that the Celeron N2830 cpu runs slower than the Celeron 2995U used in some of the other Chromebooks like the Acer C720 that I have. I thought the clock speed would pretty much determine the performance and the 2995U slower clock of 1.4 GHz would make the chip much slower that the 2.17 GHz clock on the N2830. Do you have any idea why this is? Also I have been running the WebXPRT benchmark on my different Chromebooks since this is what Intel used in their May press report on the new Chromebooks. You may want to check it out. Final comment: It is also interesting that the N2830 is rated at only 7.5 Watts where the 2995U is rated at 15 Watts. How do you think they got the power drain down by a half when they are both 22 nm technology?

    – Ralph Enderby

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 11, 2014 at 8:39 am

      Hi Ralph. we’re looking at two different platforms. Also, different type of integrated graphics. That’s why there’s the TDP and performance difference. Also, you should never judge a CPU by frequency alone, there are a lot of other important factors, like number of cores, HT, architecture or ammount and type of cache memory.

      I haven’t run that test and the C200 has now went back to Asus. I will keep that in mind for the future. I must admit I haven’t covered many Chromebooks in the past, so I’m learning as I go. That’s why any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

  3. Adam

    June 8, 2014 at 4:11 pm

    What’s really interesting to me is how, in the space of a couple of years, the conversation has turned from laughing at Chromebooks to discussing which model of a growing variety of offerings is best. So Google and their hardware partners have really come a long way since Chromebooks were first announced.

    Chromebook users that want to work with Windows applications can use solutions such as Ericom AccessNow. AccessNow is an HTML5 RDP client that enables Chromebook users to connect to Terminal Server or VDI virtual desktops, and run any Windows application (including MS Office) or even full desktops in a browser tab.

    For an online demo open your Chrome browser and visit:
    ericom.com/Demo-AccessNow-4-Chromebooks.asp?URL_ID=708

    Please note that I work for Ericom.

  4. Sean Lumly

    June 8, 2014 at 6:14 pm

    Great review! I’m really looking forward to your review of the Samsung Chromebook 2.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 11, 2014 at 8:53 am

      Thanks, it might take a while, the Chromebook 2 is not yet available in Europe from what I know

  5. tedus

    June 23, 2014 at 1:33 pm

    very nice review. espacially the details about the inside.
    I hoped that ram und hd would be somehow exchangable – but soldered? why would they do that (anyway – maybe you could still “unsolder” it yourself once the warranty is over or it is broken or whatever).
    Still interesting piece of hardware i have not seen a comparable one currently available.

    Also i found a 4gb of this C200 – called C200 Edu (for 329$)

  6. Mike

    July 7, 2014 at 4:32 pm

    What you’ve got is a Canadian version, which comes with the “bilingual” keyboard with the weird enter key and the tiny shift key on the left.

    Buyer beware – stay away from the Canadian version if you value your typing experience.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 8, 2014 at 2:23 pm

      It’s also the European version, with this particular layout

  7. Nicki

    August 15, 2014 at 8:05 pm

    I recently got 2 Chromebooks for my kids homeschool. I am ready to trash my new HP Windows laptop after using theirs, these little “books” are so much faster than my expensive laptop. The speaker is amazing too. I am constantly waiting on my HP, which I assume has to do with the new Windows, my grandmothers does the same thing, but with the chromebook there is no waiting, very fast. And the battery is the longest lasting battery I’ve used personally. Love the little program bar at the bottom, includes Chrome, Gmail, Google search & YouTube. I LOVE it =)

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 16, 2014 at 8:03 am

      Glad you like them. Did you get 2 of these Asus C200s?

      • Nicki

        August 16, 2014 at 5:03 pm

        Yes, I got them for my kids schooling.

  8. Jody Fetelika

    April 21, 2016 at 9:54 am

    Hi, purchased Asus Chromebook C201PA for my daughter starting high school, purchased Jan 2016, In April 2016 she had a problem with left hand hinge, store will not cover fault, as said it was damaged and have told us repair will cost us $250 + g.s.t for a chromebook that is 4 months old.
    Has anyone else had a problem with Chromebook hinge??
    Thanks Jody

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *