Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Acer Swift 3 SF314-52 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Acer Swift 3 SF314-52 review – budget 14-inch laptop with Nvidia MX150 graphics

14 Comments

  1. Sushil

    July 23, 2017 at 9:03 am

    Man i have obeserved a 240GB kingston ssd in every review of yours.. I was thinking how do you add that additional drive even when there is not space & connection for another ssd drive.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 23, 2017 at 3:06 pm

      it's just an external SSD hooked up through USB. I use it to load up the benchmarks and usually don't disconnect it before taking the hwifno pic :)

  2. alex

    July 26, 2017 at 1:22 pm

    Thanks for the review. Not surprising to see cpu throttling, hopefully intel improved heat a little bit with coffee lake, otherwise throttling could be even more aggressive in those parts.

    afaik, the dell xps 13 and and some hp 13 inch will be receiving coffee lake, they are being tested right now but not sure if dell will release in early fall or towards the end.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 26, 2017 at 1:41 pm

      I'm really curious on that XPS 13 with Coffee Lake

      • Nitesh

        July 31, 2017 at 3:01 pm

        I hope Coffee Lake means 13"ers will start using 15-28 watt quads.

  3. alex

    July 26, 2017 at 11:00 pm

  4. Bappy

    July 31, 2017 at 1:38 pm

    If you could do a video review that would be great!

  5. Anon

    August 2, 2017 at 5:41 pm

    Is this out yet? I can't find it anywhere?!

  6. Matt

    August 18, 2017 at 2:38 am

    "I absolutely hate laptops with glossy non-touch displays."
    That is what anti-glare screen protectors are for. Also makes the touch experience with fingers/stylus much better thanks to their smooth matte coating. I'm quite surprised very few people know of their existence and dismiss a laptop/tablet/phone just because of its glossy screen.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 18, 2017 at 12:58 pm

      But this is not a touchscreen :) I don't have a problem with glossy touchscreens, I understand the need for the glass in that case, I don't on something without touch. I've been using laptops with normal matte screens for a very long time and without an issue, I can't accept or encourage this approach that for me makes no sense.

      And yes, I'm aware of screen protectors. But my experience with them isn't great. Not that easy to apply perfectly, not that reliable and an added expense that I can't justify. Just my2c, of course :)

      • Matt

        August 19, 2017 at 1:20 am

        That is true indeed. Precisely one of many reasons why I prefer business and gaming laptops to consumer laptops.

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 19, 2017 at 4:33 am

          I do too, I've been using ThinkPads for a long time in the past, but business laptops are expensive and I'd reckon most users can't justify paying the extra. Luckily there are a lot more mainstream laptops with matte screens these days.

  7. John Smith

    August 20, 2017 at 11:31 am

    In the specs a 512gb ssd 2.5inch bay was mentioned. Does that meam there is a 2.5inch bay inside the laptop you can install a hdd?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 20, 2017 at 1:56 pm

      Yes. I didn't get to take a pic of the insides for this laptops, but yes, there are an M.2 80 mm slot and a 2.5" bay for storage

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *