Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Acer Aspire V17 Nitro VN7-793G Black Edition Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Acer Aspire Nitro V17 VN7-793G review – multimedia 17-inch laptop with modern features

10 Comments

  1. Momo

    March 10, 2017 at 6:47 am

    Hi, can you tell me if this new model can be connected to a egpu? (In the previous model it was not possible). Thank you.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 16, 2017 at 2:29 pm

      Can you offer more details on why the VN7-792G did not work with external graphics? Both laptops get TB3 ports and should work with such peripherals, but I don't have a Core so couldn't test it out on this unit.

  2. surya

    March 11, 2017 at 10:49 am

    Andrei, would you mind to review the new dell inspiron 15 7567 please (GTX 1050Ti).

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 16, 2017 at 2:32 pm

      Rather difficult, since it's not available in my region. You'll find good reviews online though.

  3. TonyRockyTiger

    March 12, 2017 at 5:36 pm

    Thanks for the review Andrei! As a programmer this laptop appeals to me greatly. Do you have any specs on the brightness of the FHD screen? While having extra vertical space would be great for coding, its associated power-usage means less coding time outside the home/office. I'm hoping that the FHD screen is IPS with at least 320 nits.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 16, 2017 at 2:34 pm

      Not right now, you'd have to wait for other reviews. I'm not going to get a FHD configuration to test.

  4. KR

    March 16, 2017 at 5:07 pm

    Hi,

    have you tested if the TB3 port is fully enabled (supports 4 PCI-E lines) and allows for connecting external GPU?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 16, 2017 at 5:55 pm

      Did not, I don't have an external graphics enclosure to test with

      • KR

        March 17, 2017 at 6:03 am

        As far as I understand it is not necessary for you to have one. According to this akitio.com/faq/311-node-is-the-node-compatible-with-all-thunderbolt-3-pcs you only need to look if the option is supported by the driver.

        • Andrei Girbea

          March 17, 2017 at 6:23 am

          Thanks, I didn't know this. The thing is I no longer have this test unit around, so can't check, but I'll keep that in mind for future reviews.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *