Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Acer Aspire V17 Nitro VN7-793G Black Edition Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Acer Aspire Nitro V17 VN7-793G review – multimedia 17-inch laptop with modern features

14 Comments

  1. Momo

    March 10, 2017 at 6:47 am

    Hi, can you tell me if this new model can be connected to a egpu? (In the previous model it was not possible). Thank you.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 16, 2017 at 2:29 pm

      Can you offer more details on why the VN7-792G did not work with external graphics? Both laptops get TB3 ports and should work with such peripherals, but I don't have a Core so couldn't test it out on this unit.

  2. surya

    March 11, 2017 at 10:49 am

    Andrei, would you mind to review the new dell inspiron 15 7567 please (GTX 1050Ti).

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 16, 2017 at 2:32 pm

      Rather difficult, since it's not available in my region. You'll find good reviews online though.

  3. TonyRockyTiger

    March 12, 2017 at 5:36 pm

    Thanks for the review Andrei! As a programmer this laptop appeals to me greatly. Do you have any specs on the brightness of the FHD screen? While having extra vertical space would be great for coding, its associated power-usage means less coding time outside the home/office. I'm hoping that the FHD screen is IPS with at least 320 nits.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 16, 2017 at 2:34 pm

      Not right now, you'd have to wait for other reviews. I'm not going to get a FHD configuration to test.

  4. KR

    March 16, 2017 at 5:07 pm

    Hi,

    have you tested if the TB3 port is fully enabled (supports 4 PCI-E lines) and allows for connecting external GPU?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 16, 2017 at 5:55 pm

      Did not, I don't have an external graphics enclosure to test with

      • KR

        March 17, 2017 at 6:03 am

        As far as I understand it is not necessary for you to have one. According to this akitio.com/faq/311-node-is-the-node-compatible-with-all-thunderbolt-3-pcs you only need to look if the option is supported by the driver.

        • Andrei Girbea

          March 17, 2017 at 6:23 am

          Thanks, I didn't know this. The thing is I no longer have this test unit around, so can't check, but I'll keep that in mind for future reviews.

  5. Pedro Almeida

    April 14, 2017 at 8:03 am

    can anyone help me finding a place in Europe to buy this laptop? Or even the 15' version…i just can't find the 2017 nitros anywhere.

    • Deniss

      April 16, 2017 at 11:38 am

      Hello, have bought one from Finland. Also avaliable in Sweden.

  6. Dragos H

    May 29, 2017 at 4:36 pm

    Hi Andrei,

    was thinking about using this laptop mainly for 3DS Max and V-Ray work, also as a development machine. Do you think it is enough for a decent performance?
    Thank you.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 30, 2017 at 3:24 am

      Should be alright, yes. Make sure to upgrade the RAM, the more the better for those apps

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *