Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Acer Aspire Nitro V15 VN7-593G Black Edition Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Acer Aspire Nitro V15 VN7-593G Black Edition review – Core i7-7700HQ and Nvidia GTX 1060 configuration

23 Comments

  1. N33

    March 8, 2017 at 3:42 am

    Where can i buy this laptop? I can't seem to find an online store that has them

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 8, 2017 at 4:42 am

      BH photo carries it in the US, but only in one configuration, and it's also available in Germany for now.

      • N33

        March 8, 2017 at 7:38 am

        That's actually not true. I'm looking for delivery in belgium and the only european countrythat has some configurations in stock, is germany. However, these all come with a QWERTZ keyboard, which is not very practical. If you have found anything else, i would love to here.

        • Andrei Girbea

          March 8, 2017 at 8:37 am

          Well, I can't check availability everywhere, you'd have to contact your local shops or perhaps Acer representatives and ask them about it :)

          • N33

            March 8, 2017 at 8:52 am

            Ofcourse not, the point i was trying to make is that this laptop simply isn't available (yet) in europe except for germany :)

          • Andrei Girbea

            March 8, 2017 at 12:17 pm

            Noted, thanks, an I also edited the previous comment to mention that.

      • jaams

        March 8, 2017 at 7:52 am

        Thanks for the review. Much appreciated. Think it's the first one out worldwide?

        This is – as far as I can tell – the only laptop with a 1060 gtx or better without any of the typical gaming aesthetics (red keyboard backlight can be disabled luckily). This will be a big selling point for a lot of people I guess. At least for me it is. I’m almost 40 and still like to play my games, but not everyone I come into contact with has to know this…

        At CES they were announced for Feb. 2017 but seems they got delayed. Not sure what happened there. So happy they now are becoming available (not everywhere though it seems and not all models – not seeing a lot of 'in stock' but lots of preorder)

        • Andrei Girbea

          March 8, 2017 at 8:39 am

          This was a review sample provided by Acer and they usually have these available for us before the actual products are released. I do expect to see them in shops in the near future, some configurations are already available in some countries.

  2. Peter Wankenhuber

    March 8, 2017 at 3:56 am

    Great Review and from the hardware great device, however I would highly recommend Acer to optimize the fan speed configuration for low CPU load usage with an update, as two Fans at audible speed seems to me to high configured for the low Temperatures at typical office tasks and prevent me from buying the notebook. In the next version it might be also smart to widen the air intakes on the bottom and back of the laptop to improve the cooling at high load situations.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 8, 2017 at 4:44 am

      I'm not going to argue with the first part of what you said, but the intake and exhaust grills are wide enough imo. The thing is, this laptop is fairly thin when compared to others with similar hardware, that's why it gets a little hotter. Not sure if bigger grills would help. Also, keep in mind the back temperatures recorded are the highest in each section, so in this case the area right near the exhaust gets to 50s and then temperatures drop as you go down towards the black plastic case.

  3. KR

    March 8, 2017 at 5:19 am

    Hi, are you going to review the 17-inch model too?

  4. Aram

    March 8, 2017 at 5:04 pm

    Thanks for the review. I have a few comments. First, I think there is a typo in the specifications: it says "Weight 6.85 lbs (2.51 kg)", but 1 kg = 2.2 lbs so both can't be true. Based on what you write later in the article, that should be 5.53 lbs and not 6.85 (which would be very heavy for a 15" laptop).

    Second, do you know if the Chi Mei UHD display is a "true" 4K display (like on the previous version of this laptop) or a "pentile" display? I tried to Google the model number, but couldn't find anything.

    Finally, since this is a pre-production version, do you know if there is any possibility of changes such as optimization of the fan behavior?

  5. mystiq

    March 10, 2017 at 3:12 am

    nice review, is the heat always uncomfortable aspect if we using this laptop out door ?

    btw Andrei, would you mind to review new dell inspiron 15 7567 (GTX1050Ti) please.

  6. sicily428

    March 10, 2017 at 3:55 am

    temperatures of cpu are really high in the stress test imho.:(
    do you think that a different speed control of fans could reduce temps? do you think that a cpu/gpu repaste could be useful? there are warranty stickers over cooling system o screws when you disassembly this laptop?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 16, 2017 at 2:26 pm

      There are pictures of the internals in the post. Repasting usually helps. Regardless, stress test temperatures aren't relevant for daily use.

      • sicily428

        April 10, 2017 at 8:21 am

        do you know if thunderbolt3 is 2 lanes or 4 lanes?

        • Andrei Girbea

          April 10, 2017 at 4:27 pm

          haven't checked when I reviewed that one unfortunately.

  7. page

    March 10, 2017 at 6:10 pm

    Great review, thanks. One comment, though: I read elsewhere that the SSD was an NVMe PCIe. Do you know if it depends on the model?
    I've been eagerly waiting for a review and for this laptop to be available, since I discarded the main alternatives I see: the asus gl502-vm has half the ram soldered on the mainboard, which is a no-go for me, and I've read everywhere that the keyboard layout of the new MSI models is completely bizarre. The alienware15 seems ok, but it's around 2k€ for a similar setup.
    Long story short, I asked acer when it will be available and just a couple of days ago I received a message from them saying that they had launched the vx15 in Spain and that the v15 was expected to be available really soon.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 16, 2017 at 2:30 pm

      I'd expect most configurations not to ship with NVMe SSDs, but SATA 3 SSDs instead. You'd have to double check with the seller or just replace the default SSD with an NVMe stick yourself.

  8. OstapB

    March 13, 2017 at 4:01 am

    Hi!
    I am very interested in this laptop, but in the FHD version, do you have any information about how this screen behaves? info about coverage and brightness would be welcome. I have decided to ask after seeing your comment about fhd screen in 17 version.

    thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *