Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus Transformer Mini T102HA Andrei Girbea Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Asus Transformer Mini T102HA review – an excellent miniaturized 2-in-1

13 Comments

  1. Joey

    October 13, 2016 at 2:36 am

    Thanks for the review, this is a great website. About your comment that you would prefer the I/O ports on the bottom of the left side, rather than the top of the left side, I strongly disagree. One common major design flaw that I find with some tablets and 2-in-1’s is that they place ports/plugs on the lower sides and this really interferes with holding the tablet. This is especially bad when the ports are on the lower left side – exactly where most right-handed people will want to hold the device. Surface Pro line got this right by moving the ports to the top sides and making a flat-sitting reversable-orientation power plug that doesnt stick out into the hand like most power plugs. Especially with the often relatively the low running times and sometimes slow charging times, I think they should be designed for comfortable tablet-use whilst being plugged in to power cables.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 13, 2016 at 3:40 am

      Hmmm, that makes sense, never thought about it, mostly because I pretty much never use my tablets while charging (the iPad takes hours too) and also rarely actually hold them in hand. The reason I would want them at the bottom is because I don’t like having the charger and HDMI cable so visible and in the way as they are right now, but that’s just a personal preference and a matter of aesthetics, your argument actually makes more sense in practice and daily use.

      PS: I’ve updated that part and added your point of view. Thanks for taking the time to share it with us.

  2. Zona

    October 13, 2016 at 1:23 pm

    I think this detachable is perfect but the price is a deal breaker, i would pay this around $250-300 NOT $400.

  3. Sarig

    October 14, 2016 at 7:28 am

    Shame you didn’t have the stylus to test, that’s one of the most critical features for me.

    Otherwise it’s about what I expected, so no disqualifying things in the review here for me.

    The Surface 3 was only available for a short while where I live, and at a *much* steeper price than what this is listed for, so while I wanted one, it just wasn’t realistic, and this might fit the bill.

  4. Joey

    October 14, 2016 at 11:25 pm

    I really hope Asus releases this with 4GB in Australia. 2GB RAM is just a flat-out deal breaker for me and many others, but unfortunately Asus has a history of only releasing 2GB versions of their devices in this market segment in Australia. It’s almost 2017, enough with the hobbled 2GB machines.

  5. Joey

    October 14, 2016 at 11:33 pm

    Andrei, your review said the CPU has two cores, but this spec page says it has four cores:
    ark.intel.com/products/93361/Intel-Atom-x5-Z8350-Processor-2M-Cache-up-to-1_92-GHz

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 15, 2016 at 4:39 am

      Right, my mistake, thanks for the heads-up, I’ve addressed it in the post.

  6. Joey

    October 14, 2016 at 11:38 pm

    That Intel spec page also says the CPU was launched Q1’16, not Q1’15 as in your review.

  7. Joey

    October 14, 2016 at 11:46 pm

    Actually, your review says the Cherry Trail *platform* was released Q1’15, not this specific CPU, my bad ;)

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 15, 2016 at 4:40 am

      Yes, the 8350 was released in Q1 2016 like you’re saying, but is based on the same platform that was initially launched in 2015.

  8. Robert

    November 28, 2016 at 12:10 am

    In Jan 2012, I bought a new ASUS Transformer prime TF201 with a keyboard dock. It is Android based. It has been such a piece of garbage I swore I would never buy an ASUS product again. This was a result of the WIFI receiver. Several complaints I have found online about it indicated that ASUS located the receiver near a component that affected its ability to function properly. It would lag severely only 10 feet from the router. Mounting a piece of foil above the upper right corner would double the reception speed. :^P
    I will admit that I might have liked it better if it had been windows based which wasn't really happening much at the time I don't think.
    1. Do you think the WIFI on this unit is much better.
    2. Is it possible to wipe mine off and put windows on it?
    3. Will my dock work on newer ASUS windows based unit?
    I did like having an extra battery built into the keyboard dock.
    <I realize that I have gone mostly off topic. I would be grateful for a response regardless of whether you post this or not>. thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 28, 2016 at 5:49 am

      Hi.

      1. It should be, you have the results I got on my unit in the article, at 30 feet with two thick walls in between.
      2. No, as far as i know
      3. No, the new units have a different physical connector.

  9. Jay Dee

    December 14, 2016 at 8:27 pm

    Microsoft currently has the 64gb version on sale for $279. At this price point, this is perhaps the best tech deal of the holiday season. Especially considering it comes with the keyboard and active stylus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *