Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Derek Sullivan Rating: 4 out of 5

MSI GS63VR Stealth Pro review – Nvidia GTX 1060 graphics in a compact 15-incher

71 Comments

  1. David

    September 21, 2016 at 10:36 pm

    Any new info on the Best Buy related screens?

    • Derek Sullivan

      September 21, 2016 at 10:51 pm

      Not from me but if anyone gets one, I’d like to hear what screen model they have and what they think of it.

      • Giancarlo Benedetto

        September 22, 2016 at 3:06 pm

        Hi I have the best buy version… Is exactly the same as reviewed.. LP156WF6-SPK1… Is not great but is enough…

        • Francisco Ortiz

          January 5, 2017 at 5:00 pm

          I bought this same version cause i didnt look into it thinking as the gs60 series that all panels were the same….sucks i didnt..i live abroad and bought it at the BB…is it possible for u to try and better the colors with you spyder pro and the settings in the display controlpanel and let us know what setting u get…i also have the GS60 and have been playing around with this and found that tweaking the color settings a bit made a huge improvement, never will be like the IPS Lg or GS60 Samsung but definitely much better…maybe some day ill go crazy and swap it for the better lg panel but for now this will do as i plan on upgrading to a 512gb nvme and 32gb ram, alreayd swapped out the hdd for a 1tb ssd

          • Derek Sullivan

            January 5, 2017 at 5:16 pm

            There's no way to make it better. It's only capable of putting out the mediocre colors that it has. Calibration only makes the colors as true to their assignment – it doesn't add color.

            Have you checked to see if the connectors are the same on your GS60? If so, it's very possible you can swap that very panel you already have. Do a little homework on panellook and see if they are cross compatible first. Also, if you take the plunge, do yourself a favor and but a replacement bezel beforehand because it's really easy to break the little plastic clips.

            Sorry you got burned. The forums are full of people in your same situation. Unfortunately there's no way to tell for sure what models have what screens, but it appears that the Best Buy models are all low gamut screens.

    • josh jewell

      September 28, 2016 at 3:14 am

      This review is for the model from best buy. I got one from Ibuypower.com and the screen is a sdc324c samsung ips. Which is way better.

      • Derek Sullivan

        September 28, 2016 at 8:36 am

        Thank you for sharing that. That’s the same panel from the old GS60, which is actually a really nice one, imo.

  2. Isaac

    September 22, 2016 at 5:32 pm

    Hey awesome review! I’ve been almost clicking the pay now button on this laptop for weeks haha. So would you recommend the 4k screen over the 1080p if I was to use it mainly for gaming, watching movies, web browsing and office work? Is the only disadvantage of the 4k screen the battery life and extra cost or are there a lot of scaling issues as well which makes it hard to see anything? Thanks!

    • Derek Sullivan

      September 23, 2016 at 11:55 am

      I honestly wouldn’t recommend the 4k screen on this one. On the 17″ version I give it a pass because it’s bright, full gamut and larger so the scaling is slightly more tolerable. But on the 15″ version, those three things aren’t the case and the battery life is pretty pitiful. The FHD screen has crummy colors though. You don’t notice it after using it a while but when you look at your phone or tablet in comparison, it’s a very noticeable difference.

      I’m still waiting on confirmation that the other FHD models might have better colors. Best Buy sells the -001 model, which is the one I reviewed. Others on Youtube have mentioned that their screens have 100% sRGB. If that’s the case, I’d go for those models but I’d still like to see someone confirm the actual panel part number.

      • Aleksander Lyse

        September 30, 2016 at 6:32 am

        Im a bit confused about your reply here. In the article you are saying go the the 4K version, but here you wont recommend the 4K screen.

        I do have a small dilemma. The store accidentally sent me the FHD and the 4K version by a mistake, and I have to make a choice. I can send one of them back and keep the other one by not paying more for whatever I choose.

        Should I keep the 4K version or the FHD version (the FHD version got the LG panel).

        • Derek Sullivan

          September 30, 2016 at 7:27 am

          If you can deal with the diminished colors, you should probably keep the FHD model. The between scaling and battery life, you’ll probably be happier in the long run. I only would choose the 4k model based on the colors and the crispness of the image, but that’s just because it’s a pet peeve of mine. Really just go with what you think you can tolerate looking at for a few years. IT’s a good thing to have both in front of you to make an informed decision. I personally found both not to my liking though. Honestly, if there was a way to identify a model with a Samsung panel, I would have gone with that one.

  3. Stephane

    September 26, 2016 at 5:42 am

    Hello,

    I myself got the 4k version in August.
    I can confrim everything in this great review.

    Some hints on the slow SD card> disabel the Xboost fomr the msi software.
    I though tI wa sunlucky and might need ot have the laptop replace as it was soooo solow for fil transfer.
    I disabled the x turbo boost fo the disk and bang it worked great.

    Also there is an issue with the Nahimic software and you need to diable it for skype for businees to work ( regular skyped works fine, but everyone complains a my low volume when I speak, I need to tune it better).

    The 4k screen is great. And is not glossy.

    The only down side, I had to pay 2500 euro to get it ( compared to 1500euro I paid the 4k version of the GS60 that I ended up returning), but the dell xps 15 was at 2400 euro here anyway.

    And Size!!! The GS63 is smaller than the GS60.. significantly smaller.

  4. mystiq

    September 28, 2016 at 9:55 am

    hello, would you mind to review asus ROG STRIX GL502VS GTX1070 please ?

    • Derek Sullivan

      September 28, 2016 at 10:18 am

      Andrei usually reviews the Asus models. I don’t know if he has plans for that one, but I’ll ask.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 28, 2016 at 3:13 pm

      I can’t promise, the GL502VS is not yet available over here and I don’t know if I can get a sample.

      • mystiq

        September 30, 2016 at 9:29 am

        i see, i m looking forward to see the review on the asus STRIX GL502VS on this site,

        thanks in advance

  5. Devin

    September 29, 2016 at 10:40 am

    I guess they reserve a USB 2.0 port to avoid the conflict between USB 3.0 and 2.4G wireless mice.

    It may also lead to a better connectivity for 2.4G WiFi.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 30, 2016 at 4:21 am

      It’s rather for backwards compatibility with older peripherals that might not work best with USB 3.0 . Those interferences can be resolved with shielding and other methods nowadays, I don’t think they should be a problem on a late-2016 laptop, at least in theory.

  6. Niels Woisin

    September 30, 2016 at 4:59 am

    The Warranty sticker is also meaningless in the EU and can be removed without loosing your warranty.

  7. Ryan

    September 30, 2016 at 10:53 pm

    If you look at the specs on MSI US website, the Best Buy version which is 001 is not even stated as IPS like the other models. It is “eDP Vivid Color 94%” which practically means the most horrible panel on the market. It also replaces the Killer wireless with Intel.
    https://us.msi.com/Laptop/GS63VR-Stealth-Pro-6th-Gen-GTX-1060.html#hero-specification&sku_no=1763
    I’m curious why this review isn’t listed on the Reviews page.

    • Derek Sullivan

      October 1, 2016 at 8:13 am

      Yeah, now that I’ve finally gotten some reliable sources on the panels for the other models, I’ll update the post. I don’t usually go straight from their spec sheet because they commonly have errors(4 speakers for example). I’m not even sure what Vivid 94% means because nothing on this panel is 94%, even on the actual spec sheet for the panel. It is still IPS though.

      I’ve actually seen the “better” IPS panel before and it is indeed a big improvement over the -001 model. I’ve seen it on other models, just not this one. In that case I would increase my score to 4 out of 5.

      What reviews page are you referring to?

    • Francisco Ortiz

      January 6, 2017 at 5:23 pm

      I actually dont mind intel ive had no issues with any of the intel stuff wheras one of my previous laptops had a kiler wifi card which gave me a subpar experience with driver sand signal drops

  8. Ryan

    October 1, 2016 at 3:27 am

    The difference between a $1550 model and a $1800 model would not be only 128GB of storage.
    The panel and the wireless adapter are different as well. Best Buy’s 001 model features low quality panel and misses Killer wireless for cost down.
    I’ve seen people posting the specs of their regular $1800 model with LGD046F, which is an average quality IPS panel commonly used for 15″ laptops.
    As the model tested is a Best Buy special version, which is different from all other suppliers, it should probably be pointed out at the beginning.

    • Derek Sullivan

      October 1, 2016 at 8:35 am

      I added a small bite at the beginning and some more coverage in the screen section. Thanks!

      • Ryan

        October 1, 2016 at 9:06 am

        Cheers. I actually bought the GS73 thanks to your review.
        I found the coil whine quite annoying at night. Luckily it can be turn down by disabling CPU C State. Although probably lose some battery life but it was totally worth it. I guess the thin aluminum case with plenty of vent holes might leak more coil whine noise than the other better sealed plastic model such as GL702.

        • Derek Sullivan

          October 1, 2016 at 2:05 pm

          I think I’ve tested so many laptops with this CPU, I’m beginning to tolerate it really well. In this model I didn’t find it as annoying on my lap, but I definitely noticed it when it was a few feet away. Different positions definitely affect the pitch and yes I bet those holes don’t help at all. I really hope the Kaby Lake quad core is better.

          What are you using to disable C states?

          • Ryan

            October 1, 2016 at 6:51 pm

            There is an option in BIOS

    • Aleksander Lyse

      October 3, 2016 at 5:56 pm

      Just to make a note all middels i have seen being sold in Norway (probably Sweden and Denmark too) (full Hd version) got killer wifi, but the same panel as Best Buy 001 so beware :)

  9. Onigami

    October 2, 2016 at 9:35 am

    Hi Derek ! First of all thank you for your review , it made me buy this great laptop. But I have a noob question

    I want to replace the HDD with a 1tb SSD. Is there something I have to be careful with before buying or can I go with any 2″5 SATA III SSD ? Like the Samsung

    • Onigami

      October 2, 2016 at 9:37 am

      Like the Samsung 850 Pro 1tb

    • Derek Sullivan

      October 2, 2016 at 3:22 pm

      Pretty much all ssd are thin enough to fit. I have an 840 evo in mine. 9mm is the max thickness I believe.

      • Andrei Girbea

        October 2, 2016 at 6:07 pm

        Just a heads up, there are a few laptops that can only fit 7 mm 2.5″ SSDs. Not the case here, but worth adding, as those won’t be able to fit a 9 mm drive.

      • Onigami

        October 2, 2016 at 8:58 pm

        And all the cables I need are already in the laptop ?

        • Derek Sullivan

          October 3, 2016 at 6:39 pm

          If you mean power cable then yes, that’s all that comes with it

  10. Devin

    October 7, 2016 at 7:26 am

    I finally purchase a 016CN model, which costs me $2100 (tax-included).

    This model comes with:
    Panel: LGD046F
    GPU: GTX1060-6G GDDR5
    RAM: 2x 8G Kingston DDR4-2400
    SSD: 256GB Toshiba M.2 NVME THNSN5256GPU7
    HDD: 1TB Seagate ST1000LM035
    Lan: Killer E2400
    Wi-Fi: Killer 1535

    Another guy’s 016CN comes with a 256G SM951 and an 1TB HGST, while all other components remain the same.

    Eh…Going to replace the HDD by a Sandisk Ultra II 960G. Note that: in China, the warranty will be avoided by breaking the sticker, and this is for GS series ONLY, which is a bad news for me.

    • Devin

      October 7, 2016 at 7:32 am

      Was going to buy a GS73, because it performs better. However, GS63 is already a heavy one (in my mind), and GS43VR is not lighter.

      Anyway, thank you for your review. The Heat and Battery life parts do help me a lot :)

  11. Ros

    October 19, 2016 at 3:04 pm

    Since the air intakes are on the top, can the laptop still be used for heavy loads (video editing premiere pro) with the lid closed?

    • Derek Sullivan

      November 3, 2016 at 9:37 am

      I did some minor testing with the lid closed and it added a few degrees to my temps. Everything still ran ok though. It wasn't anything more than 20 minutes though.

  12. manu

    November 6, 2016 at 1:28 pm

    I'm looking to buy this from Best buy, is it a bad choice? It's current on sale for 1499 at Best buy.

    • Derek Sullivan

      November 6, 2016 at 2:29 pm

      I'd say there's no harm in trying it out. Best buy has a really good return policy if you don't like it.

  13. Ryan

    November 6, 2016 at 2:32 pm

    Not a gamer at all but need something that will be good for editing GoPro videos. Was recommended this model. Would this be adequate?

    • Derek Sullivan

      November 6, 2016 at 4:05 pm

      Yeah, it should be fine for video editing. Just be cautious of the low gamut screen, if that's even a factor with the editing you plan to do.

      • Ryan

        November 6, 2016 at 5:29 pm

        I am just using it primarily for my GoPro stuff. Had a regular asus for it but it just can't handle it. A friend directed me to this model. Said it should have no issues at all with the graphics card and processor.

  14. James

    November 15, 2016 at 4:34 am

    Hi Derek! Thanks for a great article and for providing feedback regarding the different screen panels available for this model.
    Can you please confirm the contrast ratio, the lack of PWM as well as the matrix structure (RGBW or RGB, pentile or not) for the 4K screen?

    Thanks in advance,
    James A.

    • Derek Sullivan

      November 15, 2016 at 1:16 pm

      I only got 360:1 even though the spec sheet says it should be 800:1. The blacks were very bright on the unit I had, which threw off the readings. I'm not sure what the subpixel looks like up close but it's RGBW and there is no PWM.

      • James

        November 15, 2016 at 2:11 pm

        looks like the super low contrast rate will be a deal breaker for me. Unfortunately, the full hd panels look to be low quality as well. What a pitty, such a great looking notebook with such low quality screens.

  15. james

    November 20, 2016 at 5:16 pm

    can you update the naming of a screenshot where you compare 2 screens side by side?
    currently the name is "Screens – GS73 (left) and GS73 (Right)", but that is obviously not the case

    thanks

  16. Josh P.

    November 20, 2016 at 11:15 pm

    hello Derek, I recently purchased this laptop a couple of days ago. I noticed it gets pretty hot during gaming sessions. I was just a bit curious if the temps i'm getting are fairly normal or should I be concerned? I've purchased a couple of games to test it out. I got overwatch which the CPU temp stays at about 70 to 80C depending if i'm in game or on a loading screen. I also recently purchased BF1 and have had a spike up to 87C while in game. Just curious if these high temps are safe or should I look for an alternative way to keep it cooler while in game.

    • Derek Sullivan

      November 21, 2016 at 12:56 am

      Those are pretty typical temps. The laptop is very thin and the gpu is powerful, so temps as high as 90 are to be expected when under heavy load.

  17. Jeffrey Baker

    December 5, 2016 at 10:20 am

    Can you please let me know the steps you took to use the razer core on the msi gs63vr? I currently have this laptop (best buy model), but I have heard mixed results on how the two work together.

    Thanks!

    • Derek Sullivan

      December 5, 2016 at 10:39 am

      It was pretty much the same steps as if it were a razer blade. Maybe I just got lucky? I outlined my steps in the core review: http://www.ultrabookreview.com/10761-razer-core-review/

      • Jeffrey Baker

        December 5, 2016 at 10:40 am

        Thanks a lot, and great review. I will take a look. I plan on getting the Core in the next month or so here, and would be happy to report back if I had the same success.

  18. Miguel Pérez Borrajo

    December 9, 2016 at 11:57 am

    Hello Derek
    thanks for your article

    now, there is more choice that this moment, and I would like to ask you if you recommend ask a MSI with g-sync or with optimus.
    And 4k or FullHD, do I will notice the diference?
    I was thinking on this one
    MSI GT62VR 6RE-094XES Intel Core i7-6700HQ/16GB/1TB+256SSD/GTX1070/15.6

    thank you

    • Derek Sullivan

      December 9, 2016 at 1:31 pm

      I've never used the GT series so I cannot comment on them. I've heard good things from the users though. I only chose the GS series because of the size, so Gsync is not an option for me and I'm ok with that. I guess the question for you is, is size important enough to sway your decision? If not, I'd say go the GT route and enjoy the better video card and Gsync, at the same price points. As for 4k, if you don't do a lot of consumption and primarily use it for gaming, I'd stick with the FHD screen. It'll save money and a 120Hz screen with Gsync is going to look pretty amazing with a GTX 1070 driving it. I personally like the 4k screen, but I do all my work on this machine, not just gaming.

  19. James

    December 15, 2016 at 7:55 am

    hi
    Any updates on the keuboard flex? how is it compared to ge62vr?

    thanks!

    • Derek Sullivan

      December 15, 2016 at 8:00 am

      I was never able to improve it. I didn't have the laptop long though, so I wasn't able to put too much effort into trying.

      Sorry, I can't compare with the ge72 – never used one.

  20. Don

    December 21, 2016 at 7:33 pm

    Hello, do you know if i can upgrade 1080p panel to 4k panel. Do i need to buy 40 pin edp cable? Thanks.

    • Derek Sullivan

      December 22, 2016 at 4:11 pm

      I'm sure it's possible but I don't know if a new cable would be needed or not. If you know both of the panel numbers, you can look up the specs on panellook and see if they match. Odds are they are probably different though. If they are, you'll have to order the correct cable from MSI. Even then, that might be a long shot since they probably won't support it. You have to give them a S/N to do a parts order and I believe you can only purchase parts for the model you have.

      Good luck though. If you do it, please take pictures and post how you did it in the forums. That kind of info is gold.

  21. Dan

    January 5, 2017 at 3:28 am

    Did you ever get around to undervolting the gs63vr?

    Can you point me in a direction to a guide for undervolting for beginners?

    Enjoyed the review, thanks!

    • Derek Sullivan

      January 5, 2017 at 8:44 am

      Only the gs73vr but it's pretty much the same laptop besides the size. I ended up selling for a -160mv undervolt. I posted my results in the gs73vr article.

      You can use Doug's article as a resource: http://www.ultrabookreview.com/10167-laptop-undervolting-overcloking/

      There's also the throttle stop forums, but that can be a little overwhelming. I personally used sometimes Reddit post on specifically undervolting the i7-6700hq.

  22. Francisco Ortiz

    January 6, 2017 at 5:20 pm

    I agree one will never get it as my GS60s panel but tweaking the Saturation,Hue, RGB settings and Also display calinration in windows improved the experience by alot. Still not GS60 quality but definitely maybe A good TN panel Quality whereas stock it was just 500 dollar laptop 720p bad.

  23. Francisco Ortiz

    January 6, 2017 at 5:26 pm

    Hey Dave, Assuming i get the urge and try to swap panels where cna i order both bezels from, or maybe il just order another LG panel online if I can source one, or can you point me in the right direction??? Ill need a bezel for the GS60 which would keep the Lg panel and one for the GS63 to which id put the samsung panel.

    • Derek Sullivan

      January 6, 2017 at 5:47 pm

      I'm assuming you're asking me and not Dave. :) You can order the bezels directly from MSI. I ordered a replacement one for my GS60 a while back and I believe it ran me about $30. All they need is your serial number for your unit so they can match up the parts. One thing you can't do thoug his order parts outside your model number. That's the way it is in the US at least.

      As for the 3k screen, I really liked it on my old GS60. I've seen it for sale on ebay but I don't know if the connector would be compatible or not. If not, you would need to purchase one and I'm not sure how you would do that other than ordering one through MSI under a 3k GS60 S/N. I think that screen would be perfect for the GS63VR considering the 1060 would be able to play a lot of games at that resolution with no problem. If that had been the screen in the model I had, I would have chosen the GS63VR over the GS73VR most likely.

      If you do replace it with a 3k screen, please take some pictures to share. I'd like to share that news with everyone.

  24. Francisco Ortiz

    January 6, 2017 at 5:32 pm

    Dave what do you think about the GS60 3k Panel i think i can source one of those at a decent price?

  25. Francisco Ortiz

    January 6, 2017 at 6:02 pm

    Crap Derek im sorry was thinking bout a coworker!!!!!!!!hahahhaa

  26. Francisco Ortiz

    January 6, 2017 at 6:09 pm

    Yeah All the GS40 panels ive found are 40 pins where the GS63vR i have has 30 pins, i also saw a Whole LCd assembly with bezels and cables on ebay from a GS60 so that might be the way to go as i dont have to touch my GS60. Or maybe seource a 40 pin edp cable

    • Francisco Ortiz

      January 7, 2017 at 11:59 pm

      GS60 Sorry!

  27. Francisco Ortiz

    January 8, 2017 at 12:07 am

    Found a full LCD asembly off a GS60 with a 3K screen, cables and everything…..gonna try and order the extra bezel off MSI. Im gonna take the plunge and will swap the 128Gb m2 drive for a 512gb 960evo and 32gb ram while im at it. Will try and get this all done once i get all the parts..will keep u posted!!

  28. Francisco Ortiz

    January 10, 2017 at 1:37 am

    Hey Derek, How cna i order the extra bezel, the lcd panel is on its way so is the NVME SSD, decided to stay with 16gb of ram cause i dont think i need or will need 32gb so saved that money for later. Hope with the new panel and SSD ill be able to get 2 to 3 years of gooduse of this one…also ordered a INTEL 8265 wifi module

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *