Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus Zenbook Flip UX360UA Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus Zenbook Flip UX360UA / Q324UA review – a sleek full-power convertible

100 Comments

  1. Akim

    August 27, 2016 at 6:32 pm

    Hi. Thanks for the review. I am thinking about buying a HP spectre x360 with i5,8gb ram and 256ssd. I have also looked into this Asus ux360ua (also with i5, 8gb ram, 256ssd) and would like to ask which one would you recommend. As what i have understood, the ux360ua and the spectre x360 have very similar specs, but the ux360ua is lighter and thinner. Do you feel the small difference in weight and thickness is noticeable? Does it make the asus a better choice? I do feel that the spectre’s ash silver and copper design is really nice though. Anyways, my question is that which one would you recommend (if the price isn’t a deciding factor). Sorry for the long comment, thank you if you reply.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 28, 2016 at 4:05 pm

      Hard to pick one. I like the keyboard of the Zenbook better, and it’s lighter and slimmer. However, this is a brand new laptop and I can’t recommend it wholehearted until the retail versions start selling and we get some feedback and reviews from users, as there’s always the chance of potential flaws that might plague some units. If Asus does the quality control right though, then I’d probably favor the Asus

      • Dave

        May 9, 2017 at 12:51 am

        I had the ASUS for a short time and had to return it due to a faulty SSD. Now I trying to decide what to get again. Perhaps I'll try another ASUS and hope for one that the SSD isn't faulty.

  2. Jona

    August 29, 2016 at 12:48 pm

    Hi

    Is it still the case that the ASUS ZenBook Flip UX360UA will be updated in september/october with a kaby lake processor (Europe)? the version availible where I live (norway) is with the sky lake processor.

    thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 29, 2016 at 6:08 pm

      I do expect to see the updates by that time. I know my country for instance will only get this with Kabylake in October

      • Richard

        August 30, 2016 at 2:56 am

        Andrei,
        Great reviews; thank you. Do you have any thoughts on the Asus 360 vs. the 306?

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 30, 2016 at 7:40 am

          Well, they share the same hardware, but are otherwise fairly different. The UX306 gets a matte screen and I’d say it’s a smarter pick if you plan to use the laptop outdoors or in bright light environments, where glossy screens would be annoying. The UX360 gets a touchscreen and imo a slightly better keyboard, and I’d get it if you plan to use the touchscreen and the convertible modes.

      • Richard

        November 26, 2016 at 8:10 am

        Is your country getting the Kabylake version in October 2016? or 2017?

        • Andrei Girbea

          November 26, 2016 at 10:00 am

          My country already got it in October 2016, and many other countries in Europe :)

          • Richard

            November 26, 2016 at 8:07 pm

            Order one which is i5 6200u, I think that's skylake. For £522 it's better value than get a kabylake with more expensive price.

  3. omri

    August 30, 2016 at 2:54 pm

    hey
    thanks for the great pre-review.
    I’m looking for a new light and strong computer(with i5,8gb ram,256ssd and touchscreen) and having a hard time to decide between the dell xps and this new asus computer.
    initially i was going to go with the dell, but there are a lot of angry people out there advocating against the computer, saying there are too many problems that dell did not fix (one of them is the wifi crushing). and it a pretty expensive computer.(and f course i read your 18 month with the xps)
    on the other hand, this new asus computer seems light and strong, just as much as the dell. but, people still tell me that the dell is more reliable.

    which one do you prefer?
    and any idea when it will be out in the US (i understand that it is out already in Europe)

    thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 30, 2016 at 4:21 pm

      If I’d look for a touchscreen computer I wouldn’t consider the XPS. For me, a touchscreen is worth getting on a convertible, its use would be limited on a traditional notebook like the XPS.

      So I’d consider choosing between this Zenbook and the HP Spectre x360, which has been my favorite for a long time and has solid reviews. The Samsung ATIV Book Spin is also an option, yet expensive and with a small battery.

      Overall, I’d say your best bet would be with the HP Spectre right now, it’s been available for a while and you can read about all its pros and cons on forums, stores, etc. The Zenbook could be a better option, as it has a better keyboard imo and it’s a bit slimmer and lighter, but there aren’t enough user reviews out there, so there’s no way to tell if it comes with any hidden reliability issues, which have been quite common on Asus laptops lately. If Asus nails it with these quality control issues though, then the Zenbook would sit at the top of my list in this class.

      I’d expect to see this in stores in October, with Kabylake hardware. The few versions available over here in Europe right now ship with Skylake, and I’d advise buyers to wait for the new platform.

  4. Alex

    September 6, 2016 at 2:09 am

    I’m debating between this and the Microsoft Surface Book with the 256GB/ Intel Core i5 8GB/dGPU. I’m going to be working a lot in Adobe Creative Cloud and the one thing that I like about the Surface Book is how user friendly the stylus is, and the detachable option for the tablet. What are your thoughts on this model?
    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 6, 2016 at 3:38 am

      They’re different things. The Surface Book has some significant advantages, but it’s at the same time much more expensive. If you need the tablet and pen functionality, then the Flip UX360 is not really a viable option imo. The HP Spectre x360 offers pen support though, so could be be alternative to consider.

  5. Rickard Sandberg

    September 11, 2016 at 7:58 am

    In Sweden this model UX360UA is already available, but with skylake and no Thunderbolt … :-(

    See link for more info: prisjakt.nu/#rparams=ss=%20Zenbook%20Flip%20UX360UA

    This is very confusing, do you Think the kaby lake versions name will be Another than UX360UA?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 11, 2016 at 4:31 pm

      I’ve seen some sources the Kaby lake model will be called UX360UAK. But that’s not going to get Thunderbolt 3 either, not sure why you mentioned that the Skylake models doesn’t get it.

      • Rickard Sandberg

        September 17, 2016 at 12:12 pm

        I just thought since this has USB type C 3.1 gen 1 that the kaby lake model would get thunderbolt as I have heard that kaby lake should have native support for thunderbolt. But I might have misunderstood this “native support”-part?

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 17, 2016 at 12:29 pm

          Those were the initial rumors, but it looks like Kayblake needs a separate Thunderbolt 3 chip as well, just like Skylake.

          • Rickard Sandberg

            September 17, 2016 at 2:56 pm

            Ok that is too bad. But thank you for updating me. And thank you for ultrabookreview.com its really awesome!

  6. David

    September 14, 2016 at 6:33 am

    Hi,

    Thank for the review.

    Have you try to update BIOS update to version 300 to see if it improved things about fan noise?

    Currently ux360ua i7 version can be found in a limited time at 999e in France, and not sure that asus.com/Notebooks/ASUS-ZenBook-Flip-UX360UAK/specifications/ need really to be waited (no majors changes, no usb 3.1 gen 2, same overheat I think with always 14nm processor, only better graphics and new processor instructions).

    Thks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 14, 2016 at 10:38 am

      This was a pre-prodcution model and there were no BIOS updates at the time of this preview. Still, based on my past experience with Asus laptops, I wouldn’t hold my breath on them tweaking this aspect.

      The UX360UAK is similar to the laptop previewed here, except for the hardware, as it comes with an Intel KabyLake platform

  7. omri

    September 22, 2016 at 10:55 am

    HEY
    did you notice any loud buzzing sound in the unit you reviewed?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 22, 2016 at 11:14 am

      Not really. Where from?

      • omri

        September 22, 2016 at 11:19 am

        The fan.
        its sounds a bit like coil whine, though its my first time hearing something like that

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 22, 2016 at 11:33 am

          I see, well, not on this one, but I did run into coil whining on other Zenbooks, so I wouldn’t be surprised if some of the UX360UAs are plagued as well. Should try replacing it if it’s bad.

          If it’s a sound coming from the fan that you can hear louder when you put your ear on it, then it’s coil whining and there’s nothing that can be done about it, at least as far as I know.

  8. syed

    September 24, 2016 at 3:42 pm

    hello,
    i need best price value notebook or laptop with 32gb, intel i7 processor, ram but need slim and screen size less than 14 inches, if its not 32gb ram but 16 gb is also okay but at least its up gradable upto 32gb because i am working in virtualization so for i need more more memory.
    please suggest me which one is best in valuable price ??

    I am really waiting for your valuable feedback and suggestion !

  9. niyireth

    September 24, 2016 at 10:37 pm

    I am interesting about the lapton Zenbook Flip UX360UA
    How much will it cost from Colombia?

    thank you very much for the information

  10. Othman

    September 26, 2016 at 2:29 pm

    Hello Andrei i’ve read all your reviews of every Zenbook UX pc, which are clearly the best and most professionnal i’ve ever read, and i have 2 preferences but still many questions, between the UX360UA and the UX330UA and if i don’t really find a use in the touchscreen, what should i choose ? Are the speakers better on the UX330 ? Because there are Bang & Olufsen. Does the screen of the UX360 really looks cheap because of the plastic inner ? I’m waiting for your answers and maybe other advices :)

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 26, 2016 at 4:22 pm

      Hmmm, the two are similar in many ways. I’d say the UX360 has the touchscreen as a strong-suit, the form factor and what I found to be a better keyboard. Not sure if they speakers are better, check out both my reviews for impressions.

      The UX330 gets the matte screen though, but it’s not very bright, so you’re not really going to be use it properly in strong light. Still better than the glossy screen on the Flip though. Keep in mind the dispaly on the ux330 only goes back to 120-130 degrees, this for me is really annoying.

  11. Nina

    September 29, 2016 at 3:50 pm

    After lots of searching and reading I wonder whether this might be the right laptop for me. I know I can’t get one with a matte screen and a keyboard I’d be happy with in the long run, and I love the Asus keyboards for some reason. Looking at the specs at the Asus website I see the following three screens:
    13.3″ (16:9) LED backlit QHD+ (3200×1800) Glare Touchscreen with 72% NTSC
    13.3″ (16:9) LED backlit FHD (1920×1080) Glare Touchscreen with 72% NTSC
    13.3″ (16:9) LED backlit FHD (1920×1080) Glare Touchscreen with 45% NTSC
    What’s the difference between them, for non-techies? I suppose they all have the same glossyness, If you’re used to 1366×768 resolution on a 13.3″ screen, would you think the middle option might be the best?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 30, 2016 at 4:16 am

      the first two have an IPS screen, which means better viewing angles, better colors, less color shifting when watching the screen from the sides or from below/top. I wouldn’t consider than bottom option, that’s a much poorer TN panel.

  12. Niels Woisin

    September 30, 2016 at 5:01 am

    I would buy this if it had Thunderbolt 3…

    Why does Asus have it in those cheap little convertibles with crappy CPUs, but not in ANY of their Ultrabooks??

  13. Martin

    October 4, 2016 at 3:32 pm

    Still no news on when the UX360UAK will drop in Europe? And I know a similar question is posted above, but which of the two screen configurations (1080 p vs. 3200 p) on the i5 model would you choose? In my country (Denmark) I expect a difference in price around 120 EUR on the two models. Is the upgrade worth the money?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 4, 2016 at 3:55 pm

      No. Over here they’ll only have the UX360UA in October, no news of the 360UAK, but Kaby Lake isn’t such an important upgrade anyway, I don’t think it’s necessarily worth waiting for.

      I’d get the FHD screen, sharp enough for a 13-incher and a decent panel. Not the brightest or the more color accurate, but for daily use it’s good enough. Also helps significantly with battery life.

  14. Christophe

    October 4, 2016 at 8:05 pm

    Hello,
    I’m french and I have an UX360UA, Intel Skylake Core i7-6500U CPU, QHD+.
    The default resolution is 3200×1800.
    Is it possible to switch to a lower resolution even if Windows recommends 3200×1800?
    If so, what other optimal resolutions on this screen?
    Does the battery will have more autonomy with a lower resolution?
    Thank you for your answers.
    Christophe

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 5, 2016 at 10:59 am

      1. I wouldn’t switch to a lower resolution, however you can scale de interface up. Right Click >> Display Settings and play with the size settings. You can change the resolution, but anything besides default will look fuzzy. with scalling, most things should look good.
      2. No, nor changing the resolution or scaling will have any impact on battery life, since the screen has its 3200 x 1800 px that are always backlit, regardless of what they display

  15. Charles Hankey

    October 10, 2016 at 10:14 am

    Love your reviews. Any insight as to a U.S. release date for the ux360ua? Can’t get a reply from ASUS twitter. Thought we’d be seeing it by now since it has been available everywhere outside U.S. and U.K. for six months.

    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 10, 2016 at 10:17 am

      Sry, no, I don’t have any inside contacts with Asus North America. Normally, it should have been available by now, but perhaps they have other plans for its release.

  16. Macnz

    October 12, 2016 at 2:18 am

    Hi Andrei. Thanks for your review. It helped me to decide to buy the UA (as opp. CA) model and I am happy I did here in Australia. This is my 4th ASUS. Had for 3 weeks now. The fan is a bit aggressive and noticeable in very quiet settings but thats the ONLY con I have found. Thumbs up on backlit keyboard -although an indicator when it is fully off would be nice. Keys are very tactile, responsive, and quiet – made immediate impression. Screen display/graphics very satisfactory. Hinges function as you describe and are finished off nicely. No complaints about trackpad sensitivity or battery. Weight and speakers also thumbs up. Between this, and similarly spec’d – HP Spectre x360, lenovo 900 and Microsoft Surface, I think I definitely got (more) bang for my buck from this model. Win10 start-up is smooth and effortless and there was not a lot of bloatware to remove. Performance wise – processing and response times I agree with your comments. Sleeve and USB/Ethernet adaptor nice bonus. Thanks for the internal tips and photos. Look forward to reading your further reviews.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 12, 2016 at 1:31 pm

      Thanks for the feedback. Bummer they’ve done nothing about the fan, but like I mentioned in the post, I wasn’t expecting they would. Perhaps they’ll have a BIOS update someday.

      Not sure what you meant by “Thumbs up on backlit keyboard -although an indicator when it is fully off would be nice” though :)

      • Macnz

        October 12, 2016 at 8:14 pm

        Thanks for your reply.

        UA model having the backlit keyboard, the CA version not, was one feature that sold me as my previous models didn’t come with that. and Ive come to realize how useful it is.
        The backlight comes with a couple of intensities by toggling the F3/F4. Initially I wondered if there was any indicator to to confirming when I had completed powered off the backlight aside from the obvious (no light around keys). just for peace of mind really as I hate coming back to a half juiced laptop just because I forgot to turn off something.

        re: fan – agree but I guess they have to keep something back for the next incarnation. yes let hope a bio upgrade can address the pesky coil. : )

  17. Laurent

    October 12, 2016 at 6:05 pm

    Hello Andrei,

    Thank you for this comprehensive test. This computer really interested me. By cons, there is a question I ask myself and I can not find the answer:
    Can I charge the computer by USB Type C port?

    I think it’s a real comfort.

    Thank you for your answer:-)

  18. Daniel

    October 18, 2016 at 8:46 pm

    Hey,

    Im intested in buying the laptop and i saw in the asus website that that the ram is upgradable up to 16 gb.
    In review you said it isen’t… Can you please explain to me if there is an option or not? Im a little bit mixed up…
    (also in other ultarabooks usualy ram upgrade isn’t possible)
    Ty in advanced!

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 20, 2016 at 5:02 am

      There are configurations with either 8 or 16 GB of RAM, from what I’ve been told. However, the RAM is NOT upgradeable, it is soldered on the motherboard and that means you’ll stick to what you’re getting in the beginning, without the option to add more later, like on other larger laptops.

      • syed

        October 20, 2016 at 6:04 am

        Hello Andrei,
        I have given order of this notebook modeled ASUS Convertible UX360UAK-C4222T. When i was placing order its configuration is mentioned of 16GB of RAM but i just wanted to confirm you that Is the above model is inbuilt RAM of 16GB without possible to upgrade and also highlight the features ?
        Thanks in advanced !

  19. Diego

    October 20, 2016 at 8:29 am

    Thanks Andrei for this review, it has been the best so far for this exact model.

    I have been wanting to upgrade my aging Asus U47A for about a year already, but the offerings have been a bit disappointing….

    At first I wanted the UX303UB, since the extra graphics would come in handy for my 3D Modeling… But I don’t want to risk getting hinge problems….

    Then I feel in love with the Transformer 3 Pro back when it was announced because I use a Surface Pro 3 at my office…. But the battery life is too bad to let it pass….

    Now I am considering this one and after your review I think it has a lot of potential for my needs….. I only want to know how will it perform for tasks such as SoldWorks designs and media editing?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 20, 2016 at 4:32 pm

      Not familiar with SoldWorks, but it will perform as good as a Core i7 U processor can in prolonged loads. I don’t remembering running into throttling, but I didn’t test a final production unit either.

  20. Kor

    October 20, 2016 at 11:21 am

    Nice review, I have something to add. I tried to use my UX360UA with i7 and QHD+ screen to use with a second screen. That totally went wrong. Black blocks keep appearing on the second screen and it is horrably slow. We tried a 4k screen and a FHD screen. We tried with the HDMI connector, we tried with a docking with USB3. We tried a second UX360UA. Still the same. After multiple contacts with Asus my flip was sent back. Still waiting on a reply from Asus. Anyone experienced the same problem?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 20, 2016 at 4:33 pm

      Personally I haven’t tried hooking up a secondary monitor, but hopefully someone else will pitch in.

  21. Julian Buchmüller

    October 21, 2016 at 7:17 am

    The UX360UAK is avaivable in Germany now, i have already preordered it with a special student offer so im getting it mid November. Do you plan to upload a full review of the uak soon? It seem to have an upgraded flip mechanism and a slightly changed design.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 21, 2016 at 10:26 am

      I don’t think there’s a different mechanism on the UAK. Do you have any links about that?

      • Julian Buchmüller

        October 25, 2016 at 2:31 am

        mediamarkt.de/de/product/_asus-ux360uak-c4203t-2179559.html its from a german electronics market, the design seems to be changed, maybe the also did some changes to the hinches.

        • Andrei Girbea

          October 25, 2016 at 3:38 am

          Those pics are a little misleading. The first one, with the larger hinges, is of the older UX360CA and probably the UX360CAK, while the others, with the smaller hinges, are actually of the UX360UA models. Also, the design isn't changed over what we have here, it's just a different color in those pictures.

    • Irina

      October 31, 2016 at 5:01 am

      Let me know how it is, I was thinking of ordering it at I think the same page. How much did you pay?

  22. Daniel

    October 25, 2016 at 2:02 pm

    Hey everyone,

    Im debating between this laptop and lenovo's 710s ideapad with 16gb ram (i7 6500u).
    Unfortunately couldn't find anyone selling this computer with 16gb ram.
    I Need a computer mainly for programing (studing electric engineering and computer scince)
    Both computers are with i7 6500u and 512ssd.

    Which laptop would you recommend?

  23. Charles Hankey

    October 27, 2016 at 11:07 am

    I was waiting for the UX360UA to be released in the States but on Andrei's recommendation I took a look at the HP Spectre 360x 15t. Got one on EBay as a manufacturer refurbished for $1,150. i7 U6550 16gb ram, 4k (Iris) screen, 15.6" screen. 512 SSD. 2-1 flip. Could not be more pleased. I am a software developer so the larger screen is important for Visual Studio and SSMS even when I remote into my desktop's 3 27" monitors with TeamViewer.
    This is probably my 20th laptop since I got into computers in 1978 and is definitely my favorite. Lots of good Youtube video reviews.

    A word on refurbished units: I have had a lot of success with them but remember the sellers are selling a sealed box they get from HP. There is almost always no problem but in the few case where there is it very important who you buy from. In my case there was a small screen imperfection and I wanted an exchange. I received first unit on Monday and by Thursday I had received a replacement from the Ebay seller, colocomputer (in Colorado) That won't happen if you don't choose carefully.

    I cannot recommend colocomputer on Ebay highly enough. These guys are terrific and really went out of their way to make me happy (and this is a completely unsolicited endorsement)

  24. Annelisa

    November 2, 2016 at 11:10 pm

    I have been considering getting either a Asus Zenbook UX360UA or a Dell XPS 15, but after reading the reviews (of this and for Dell XPS 15 with a lot of bugs and issues) i am wondering if Windows 10 will be a good substitute to a Mac OS where I've been using a 13-inch Macbook Pro Retina since 2013. The new Macbook Pro is not cutting it either, with only USB C ports and a touch bar I am probably never going to use, the other option is to get the same model of 13-inch Macbook Pro Retina (2015) with a new Force Trackpad. I am really conflicted if I should switch over to a Windows 10 ultrabook or stick to a Mac OS purchasing the same model I've been using. My main consideration is the start up time and the time the laptop takes to go to sleep or shut down (something I have never done for a really long time for my 13-inch Macbook Pro Retina), because I am used to closing my macbook as and when without worrying about the laptop crashing or having problems when I start up again.
    Points to take note: I mainly use my laptop indoors, either at home or the office. It would also be great if I could get a laptop much lighter than my current one at 1.57kg, which is also why I am considering switching over to Asus Zenbook UX360UA.

    I'm pretty sure you are a Windows 10 user who has used HP Spectre x360 for a long time so I'm just wondering if you or anyone would give comments about any worries or problems with Windows 10 and if you have used Mac OS before, how it compares and your preference.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 3, 2016 at 4:47 am

      I haven't been a long enough user to actually have a well documented opinion on sleep and resume times on the two OSes, but form my experience it's true Macs do it faster and more reliably. That being said though, I don't turn off my XPS either, unless I don't plan to use it for a long while. It goes to sleep in 2-5 seconds and then it resumes in 2-3 to the Login window, and I find these acceptable.

      On the new Mac, the USB-C IO is something I believe most could get used to. And there will be adapters available online, both from Apple and third parties. You can also go for the base Mac Pro 13 and get regular keys instead of a TouchBar, you'll be stuck with 8 GB of RAM but that's be enough for daily use, and the storage can be upgraded (in a shop or by yourself if you know what you're doing).

  25. Scott

    November 6, 2016 at 12:15 am

    Any idea when this will be for sale in the U.S.?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 7, 2016 at 3:37 pm

      Not really, I don't have any insiders with Asus North America. You could try contacting them and see what they have to say about it.

  26. Keith Sloan

    November 7, 2016 at 10:20 am

    Great review. Any word on the UX360UA release date in the states? It's has quite a few upgrades over the CA that better meet my needs.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 7, 2016 at 3:38 pm

      Sry, no, I don't have any insiders with Asus North America so I don't know anything more than you .

      • Keith Sloan

        November 8, 2016 at 10:35 am

        Thanks, I reached out to Asus but no reply yet. I'll update my post here if I hear anything. Thanks again!

  27. Julien

    November 17, 2016 at 10:02 am

    We can find it here in Switzerland (where I live) with KabyLake (and in some other shops in CH): digitec.ch/en/s1/product/asus-ux360uak-dq207t-1330-qhd-intel-core-i5-7200u-8gb-ssd-notebooks-5886826?tagIds=614
    Actually I'm also thinking to change my 13" Macbook Pro 2011 to this Asus UX360UAK or the UX330UA: digitec.ch/en/s1/product/asus-ux330ua-fc117t-1330-full-hd-intel-core-i5-7200u-8gb-ssd-notebooks-5886787?pcscpId=1
    It's almost impossible to find a real review with KabyLake processor to have a good idea if to change or not. As I said I come from Mac so I wanna be sure before changing the OS to W10. I like MacOS but i need to change my old macbook and the new one are too far expensive (thinking with 2015 maybe) I'm mostly scared about the noise (but how is it with i5, any comparison with i7..?!) and if I choose the UX330 I'm also scared about the low opening angle..
    Well, lot of questions left so I need to wait a bit before to take a decision, to stay by Apple or not, to take UX330 or 360UAK, i5 or i7, FHD or QHD…pfffff still many questions :D

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 17, 2016 at 10:57 am

      Just my opinion, kaby lake is a minor upgrade and the differences from this tested version should be minimal in daily use. Yes, it will run a little longer and work a little better in games, but otherwise, should behave much like a Skylake laptop. Just my2c

  28. Shayne

    November 18, 2016 at 2:53 am

    I have one. Purchased 4 weeks ago, Australia, JB HiFI.

    Was excited to get it however this is my least favourite device and is used barely at all just a few weeks later. Doorstop. DOA. It has utterly miserable WiFi range. I have to sit almost on top of the Wifi to get any connectivity. Then it is unstable to the point of being useless. I am on a list to have it replaced but apparently JB has accepted dozens (50ish?) of these for return.

    I am really not very hopeful the replacement will be any better. Big disappointment.

    • Keith Sloan

      November 22, 2016 at 10:24 am

      @Shayne Are you referring to the UX360UAK? And are you saying it's useless due to the poor Wi-Fi range? Just wanted to get into the specifics of what you didn't like about it since I'm considering purchasing a Zenbook Flip as well…thanks

  29. robert

    November 23, 2016 at 7:50 pm

    Andrei, Your A Pro!

    Thx for answering our questions even if this one is too long. Understand.

    1) About ASUS Component Choices

    ASUS Storage – SSD
    – They like to say fast SSD, but its still sata3? Are this optimized?

    Ram
    – Why is ASUS still using DDR3 when so many cheap laptops using DDR4
    – It may be marginal, but asus had this brand of having "good stuff man"!

    2) HP x360 Spectre Observation – New Version

    – A Gripe, I configured one on HP direct. Can't get i5 and 8GB ram and expect to upgrade to 16 later. You have to get the i7/7500 with 16gb loaded. Can you believe that forced BS.

    3) Random Gripe – Component Reviews

    – Wish reviews would begin to discuss how component choices work for the new power
    users of 2016 who are not hard core gamers, but may need some of that power.

    – Pwr Users Defined – Many tabs opened, running biz apps, Youtube channel open,
    making short videos for blog or biz (camtasia etc) – Who does this – Well, actual
    biz users can you say marketing mr rodgers – how about the new economy of
    consultants after the banks f'd us all up in 2008 – and lets not forget johnny –
    13yr olds making 10 vids per day for Youtube and facebook.

    – I want to know things like 8gb vs 16 GB ram, DDR3 vs DDR4, i5 vs i7(if its not a
    quad i7 should I care), mobility.

    – I' ve come to conclusion best bang for the buck config for these needs are likely
    met by: i5/6th gen min, 16gb ram, SSD storage, Intel 520/620-1080 max res. But, I
    love to see more reviews on processors, ram and graphics for this need. Ex: Intel
    520 vs some laptops (lenovo flex 4/$499) offer low end amd mx430 dedicated cards
    with 2GB – had to find any stats, discussion on things like rendering videos
    that's processor stuff right? Ram covers the open tabs,biz apps opent etc??

    – I heard that an i7 waste of money unless its quad core for needs outlined above?
    Maybe 7th gen has advantages for us who are mobile? Power usage? yet, if a 7500
    paired with 620 is magnitudes better than i5/6200 with intel 520 – thats stuff I
    want to know. Come on man – wake up manuf's. It's a new user today!

    My Weekend Sale Short list –

    Cheapest – Under $500

    – Lenovo Flex 4 – 14" – i5/6th – 8gb/16/DDR4/- 256 SSD – Intel 520 – KB lite
    – Acer Spin 5 – 13.3 – Same config
    – Dell Inspirion 13.3 – i5/7th – 8gb/16/ddr4 – intel 620 – 1TB (upgrade later SSD)

    Eye on Lenovo

    – If a blow out
    – 510s, 710s, T13, X1, T460S, X260

    Desired High End – If On "big" Sale

    1) HP X360 Spectre – New Version – $1099 Direct 11/23 only
    i7/7th-16gbram-256gb/pcie-620 graphics

    2) HP Envy 13T – $999/Sale (same config)

    3) ASUS – UX360UA – i5-8gb-256ssd-620 – Price ??

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 24, 2016 at 6:43 am

      Ua, that's a long comment, hopefulyl I'll not miss anything :P

      1. some of their laptops get SATA SSDs, but some of the top-tier options get PCIe/NVMe drives, like the UX390 for instance
      2. Everyone does that recently, not just HP.
      3. Noted, I had such a series in mind for a while, but never got to do it. I plan on puting it together in the new year. Your conclusions are pretty much right though, for someone who needs an ultraportbale.
      4. Good discount on that new Spectre, especially since it's a such nice laptop. The Core i5 model sells for $1049 already, but that's with just 8 GB of RAM
      5. The UX360UA was not available worldwide last I've checked. It's cheaper than the Spectre, but not exactly in the same league.

  30. fx

    November 25, 2016 at 7:02 am

    Promo at amazon UK : 599£ instead of 799£ for the i5 version :)

    • Krystal

      November 26, 2016 at 8:19 am

      Nice find~
      Got my at 522£~
      But does the unit comes with UK keyboard?

      • fx

        November 26, 2016 at 11:23 am

        I guess so, I don't have it yet ;

  31. robert

    November 25, 2016 at 11:15 am

    Andrei, thx for your feedback. I Look forward to your discussion soon on the new power user that the manufactures have neglected or more likely their supply chains take a year to catch up, but then again we've been here for 2yrs. To recap, talking about a new profile user that fits between lite biz user and hard core gamer and gaming configs like asus rogues

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 25, 2016 at 12:28 pm

      I think this type of users is best covered by ultraportable laptops like the Dell XPS 13 that can be hooked to an external graphics solution via Thunderbolt 3. That gives you a well built, powerful and long lasting laptop in a compact and light form-factor, but also the power to run games if you hook it up to an external monitor and external graphics. Yes, the CPU is still a bottleneck, to some extent, but not that much as it might seem, since a quad-core CPU is not necessarily needed for gaming (with some exceptions of poorly optimized titles that rely more heavily on the CPU).

  32. robert

    November 25, 2016 at 11:21 am

    Andrei, quick iff topic, maybe others would like too. Any links to a good lite Android security app not too much crap in it. In fact, that's a good topic. I have not easily found good concise I info on this search. Best Robert.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 25, 2016 at 12:31 pm

      I don't really know, I think Bitdefender makes a mobile antivirus and I know they're very big on computers, so perhaps that could be useful. I'm on a iPhone though and I don't use such software, I rely on my own judgement of knowing what to click and what not to :P

  33. James

    November 26, 2016 at 5:50 pm

    I've been waiting for this to come out in the US for a while now. I noticed your update and checked out the computer on bestbuy but it only comes in FHD not QHD. Can you confirm that this is the same laptop though? The computer is for my wife and I sold her on the display being similar to the MacBook Pro.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 27, 2016 at 9:45 am

      Well, I can't be 100% sure without seeing it, and that's not possible since I don't live in the US. But it seems to be the same from the specs and the pictures I've seen online.

    • James

      November 27, 2016 at 1:30 pm

      Nevermind, it is on the Asus US website listing all the same features except a QHD or QHD+ screen…disappointing. The computer is a BestBuy only deal ($1200) that people have apparently purchased and are selling on Amazon for a $200 markup ($1400). The HP Spectre X360 is $100 more for the 1920×1080 Kabylake version ($1300) or $200 more the 2560×1440 Skylake version ($1400) on BestBuy. Amazon has the QHD+ for $1400. Is the build quality, faster SSD, and better screen worth $200 more for the HP?

      • Andrei Girbea

        November 27, 2016 at 3:35 pm

        I personally haven't touched the HP yet, but Derek vouches for it and based on his reviews, there's very little wrong about it. Whether it's worth $200 or not, I guess that's up to each one to decide. Personally, I would probably get the HP. Keep in mind HP also offers a Core i5 model on their site for $1049, could be considered if you don't necessarily need the Core i7.

    • robert

      November 27, 2016 at 1:34 pm

      Are u sure your looking at the ux360ua and not the ux360ca. I found no ua models at BB or anywhere in the US.Plus, BB would be the last place I'd expect a new launch. They suck big time. Maybe your OK with the CA model, but your post was unclear and this review is for the UA model. If I missed any important details I claim the 5th.

      • James

        November 28, 2016 at 12:54 pm

        The current US release version is the Q324UA which is only available in FHD and a matte finish for $1199. I went to Best Buy to purchase but saw that the new Spectre X360 was in sale for the exact same price…the ASUS felt a little cheaper, the bezel was larger, the screen wasn't as vibrant, the sound aweful compared to HP (HP speakers face forward and Asus face down),and the exterior didn't look as good. Plus the Spectre's trackpad was huge. The Toss up was that the ASUS has DDR4 ram and the HP has DDR3 but the performance should be negligible as with the power savings…I spent 90 min in Best Buy deciding because the new HP only has 1USB 3.1 and the only other two ports are USB-c thunderbolt. The lack of pure hdmi, sd reader, and normal USB was a huge turnoff. I didn't want to have to spend another $60 on an adapter. At the end I went with the 2016 HP Spectre X360 FHD i7 kabylake 16Gb 512SSD. Same price on sale but seemed better all around. Hopefully no major issues though, will have to wait and see. Haven't noticed a loud fan like they say with the Asus but the thing does get pretty hot.

  34. Ash

    November 27, 2016 at 3:56 pm

    I purchased a UX360UA-C4136T recently based in large part on this excellent review (easily the best on the web). Very pleased overall, it's a great unit and was a very reasonable price.

    The fan is definitely far too aggressive by default, as noted in your review. However, I completely solved this by installing Notebook Fan Control (Google it, it's a GitHub project). With NBFC installed and configured the fan does not come on at all in general daily usage – a massive improvement.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 27, 2016 at 4:10 pm

      Thanks, I use the same software on my old Lenovo. Just a heads up, though, keep an eye on internal temperatures while using this kind of software. It's good that it quiets down the fan, just make sure the internals don't get hotter then they should, especially under load

      • Ashton

        November 27, 2016 at 4:47 pm

        Yes, general usage temperatures sit between 35-45 deg C. Under load, temperatures increase but NBFC kicks in at about 55 deg and the temperature stabilises around that level, even under full load. My understanding is that the Core i5 6200U should be fine at these sorts of temperatures.

        • Andrei Girbea

          November 27, 2016 at 5:01 pm

          Yes, those are perfectly fine.

        • Hasse

          March 28, 2017 at 8:12 am

          Hi! Which configuration did you use with Notebook Fan Control? I downloaded it but can´t see this model in the config-file, although there is a bunch of other Zenbook models.

          • Ashton

            April 1, 2017 at 4:23 am

            Hi, I use version 1.4.4 of NBFC and chose UX360UAK, which works fine on my UX360UA.

  35. Monica

    January 4, 2017 at 2:15 pm

    Hi,
    I had the zenbook ux360ca for a month when I started experiencing an issue with the pointer. Often it went to the bottom left corner of the screen and clicks stuff there.
    At first I tought it was a touchpad issue but after some testing I found out that it was an issue with the touch screen – when the touchscreen was disabled everything is fine.
    Since the service was taking too long to fix the issue (tiuch screen replacement) they offered my money back and I took them -I need a new laptop pretty fast, and couldn't wait any longer.
    I fell in love with my zenbook and I don't want to switch to another, but I'm scared as f*ck that this could happen again.
    Also, do you think the ua is a better choice?
    I cannot decide if the fan is the better choice or not, and if this version is a better choice for me in general.
    I am a writer and I use it mainly for WordPress and Photoshop.
    Ps: They both are the 8gb ram and 256 ssd version, since that's the only version available in my country.
    Thanks,
    Monica

  36. M

    January 7, 2017 at 5:22 pm

    Hi

    Does this laptop support pen?

    thanks!

  37. Tony

    January 14, 2017 at 3:36 pm

    Any information or updates on the UX360UA being available in the United states soon? I really like the specs and the look and feel of the keyboard that asus makes and hoping to pick one up.

  38. shane

    January 18, 2017 at 7:12 am

    hi, this review is pretty great, how appropriate this laptop would be for coding? when it comes to applications like visual studio, SQL server and other advance applications?

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 18, 2017 at 9:44 am

      Depends on the resources you'd need. Could do, with the i7 and 16 GB of RAM, but there's only that much you can ask for a 15 W dual-core. The alternatives are the larger laptops with quad-core processors, or the more expensive and rare options with 28W Intel processors (like some Lenovo, Dell laptops, and perhaps the Macbooks if they're right for your needs).

  39. Ricardo

    February 15, 2017 at 10:44 am

    My girlfriend bouth this zenbook two days ago, and so far has been a dispointing experience. The monitor isn't properly calibrated, the colour is yellowish and we didn't find anything wrong to do with windows 10 or intel drivers so far, besides that the right button of the mouse pad stopped working.

    This baby is going back to the store today, hope I have better luck next time.

    It's a shame that an expensive device such as this comes with this problems.

  40. Kingston

    February 22, 2017 at 7:34 am

    Hi, thanks for good review. I looking asus zenbook ux360us i5, 8gb memory, 512gb ssd harddrive. I m small nervous for it is helpful for my height study of server installation and testion, as well as test some network configuration practies, using vmware to install some os to simultanuslly do some configuration

  41. Imran Awan

    April 20, 2017 at 11:01 am

    Does anyone own the Asus Zenbook and the Surface Pro 4? I'm looking at both devices, but leaning towards the Zenbook given its better value for money and just as portable, albeit the screen doesn't detach from the keyboard.

    Any views about both devices is welcome.

  42. M

    May 14, 2017 at 5:49 am

    Hi! I bought these 1 week ago, I charge battery 2 times, and know is not charging after 97%. Is that normal?

  43. Peter Woods

    May 16, 2017 at 12:21 am

    I BOUGHT ONE ! (Ser NoH10WU07043502D) Never got to use it , out of the box it didn’t work. Obviously lots to fix in ASUS Service Care. Took Sam Thuy, customer support team, a few days & another email to reply. I arranged to have it delivered by person to their capital city centre service ( I live in a regional area) as under Australian consumer law I am entitled to a replacement, their offer was to repair it. They wouldn’t replace it so it still doesn’t work. Many reviews back up Asus’s reputation for poor service something you don’t find out until after the purchase.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *