Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons

The complete list of laptops with Nvidia GTX 1070 and GTX 1080 graphics

By Andrei Girbea , updated on August 1, 2017

It’s been a while since Nvidia last updated their mobile graphics solutions, but as of late Summer 2016, that’s changing with the new Pascal chips.

This time around Nvidia are not offering dedicated mobile chips for laptops, but solutions similar to their desktop units, just slightly lower-clocked and tweaked in order to meet lower TDP requirements. These are part of the Nvidia Pascal Mobility line.

While details are still scarce for now, you should expect the mobile Pascal solutions to be 40 to 180% faster than the Maxwell mobile chips (GTX 970M and 980M), and only about 5-10% slower than their desktop counterparts. For instance, GTX 1080 notebooks should hit 3DMark11 scores of around 28000 points, compared to around 13000 points for the GTX 980M laptops and 29500 points for the desktop GTX 1080. GTX 1070 notebooks score around 22000 points in the same benchmark, while GTX 970M notebooks can only hit around 10000 points.

What to expect in terms of gaming performance from a GTX 1080 laptop

What to expect in terms of gaming performance from a GTX 1080 laptop

But Pascal laptops are not only going to be fast in games and VR, they’ll also incorporate high-resolution screens with GSync support and up to 12o Hz refresh rates, Thunderbolt 3 and HDMI 2.0 ports and will leave room to overclocking on those units that can handle the increased heat. Most models are built on Intel Skylake HQ and HK (unlocked) platforms, with Kabylake variants to be released sometime in the future (Q1 2017 and later).

In fewer words, if you plan on buying a high-end gaming laptop you should definitely get one with Nvidia Pascal graphics.

This article includes a list of all the available GTX 1070 and GTX 1080 laptops, with the main aspects you should know about them, and I’ll continue to update it and fill-up the gaps as more details are available. GTX 1060 mainstream notebooks are treated in a separated post.

Nvidia GTX 1070 laptops

The GTX 1070 Mobility chips are built on the GP104 core, get 8 GB of DDR5 memory, have a clock speed of 1442 MHz (Boost up to 1645 MHz), a memory clock of 8008 MHz, 256 GB/s memory bandwidth, 2048 CUDA cores and a TDP of around 120 W. Some laptops offer dual GTX 1070 chips in SLI.

Expect GTX 1070 notebooks to start at around $1700.


Performance wise, GTX 1070 laptops can run all the recent games at FHD resolutions and maximum details, while for UHD resolutions you’ll have to trim details down. Compared to the desktop 1070, the mobile version offers 5-10% lower scores in benchmarks and games. However, compared to Maxwell mobile chips, the GTX 1070 solution is about 65-75% faster than the GTX 980M and about 120-130% faster than the GTX 970M.

ModelScreenHardwareGraphicsTB3Weight
Acer Predator 15 G9-593
15.6-inch FHD GSync 60 Hz
Skylake Core HQ / max 64 GB RAM GTX 1070Yes7.93 lbs / 3.6 kg
similar design as previous generation, a bit thick and bulky for a 15-incher, FHD matte screen with GSync, Nvidia 1060 models also available, 90 Wh battery
Starting price: $1999 – configurations and latest prices
Acer Predator 17 G9-793
17.3-inch FHD or UHD GSync 60 Hz
Skylake Core HQ / max 64 GB RAM GTX 1070Yes9.41 lbs / 4.27 kg
similar design as previous generation, FHD or UHD wide-gamut matte screens with GSync, Nvidia 1060 models also available, 90 Wh battery
Starting price: $1999 – configurations and latest prices
Alienware 1515.6-inch FHD, QHD GSync 120 Hz or UHD
Kaby Lake Core HK / max 32 GB RAM GTX 1070Yes7.69 lbs / 3.49 kg
thinner than previous generation (25 mm), several screen options, including one with a QHD 120 Hz panel and GSync, port for the Alienware Graphics Amplifier, Core i7 7820HK overclocked at 4.1 GHz as one of the options, 99 Wh battery
Starting price: ~$2400 – configurations and latest prices
Alienware 1717.3-inch FHD, QHD GSync 120 Hz or UHD
Kaby Lake Core HK / max 32 GB RAM GTX 1070Yes9.74 lbs / 4.42 kg
thinner than previous model (30 mm), several screen options, including one with a QHD 120 Hz panel and GSync, port for the Alienware Graphics Amplifier, Core i7 7820HK overclocked at 4.1 GHz as one fo the options, 99 Wh battery
Starting price: ~$2150 – configurations and latest prices
Aorus X7 v717.3-inch QHD 120 Hz or UHD 60 HzKaby Lake Core HK / max 64 GB RAM GTX 1070No6.4 lbs / 2.9 kg
sleek (1″ thick) and portable for its class, multiple screen options with GSync support, Core HK processor, 3xM.2 and 1 x2.5″ storage, 95 Wh battery, 230 W power pack
Starting price: $2699
Aorus X5 v715.6-inch FHD 120 Hz or WQHD+ 60 HzKaby Lake Core HK / max 64 GB RAM GTX 1070No5.5 lbs / 2.5 kg
sleek (.9″ thick) and portable for its class, multiple screen options with GSync support, Core HK processor, 3xM.2 and 1 x2.5″ storage, 95 Wh battery, 200 W power pack
Starting price: $2399 – configurations and latest prices
Asus ROG G752VS
17.3-inch FHD GSync 75/120 Hz or UHD 60 Hz
Skylake Core HK / max 64 GB RAM GTX 1070Yes9.5 lbs / 4.3 kg
big and heavy, Core HK processor, matte 1080P display with GSync support and 120 Hz refresh rate, 4 RAM slots, 2xM.2 and 2.5″ storage, solid performance, the cooling system is capable and not very loud, 90 Wh battery
Starting price: $2499 – configurations and latest prices
Asus ROG GL502VS
15.6-inch FHD GSync 60 Hz
Kaby Lake Core HQ / max 32 GB RAM GTX 1070No5.7 lbs / 2.6 kg
fairly thin (1.2″) and light, not the best build quality, matte 1080P display with GSync support, 2 RAM slots, 1xM.2 and 2.5″ storage, solid performance, no Nvidia Optimus, 62 Wh battery
Starting price: $1700 – more details and potential discounts
Asus ROG GL702VS
17.3-inch FHD GSync 75 Hz or 120 Hz
Kaby Lake Core HQ / max 32 GB RAM GTX 1070Yes6.4 lbs / 2.9 kg
ROG design lines with silver and orange accents, matte 1080P display with GSync support, 2 RAM slots, multiple storage options, solid performance, no Nvidia Optimus, 76 Wh battery
Starting price: $1700 – more details and potential discounts
EVGA SC1717.3-inch UHD GSync 60 HzSkylake Core HK / max 32 GB RAM GTX 1070No9.9 lbs / 4.5 kg
sleek for its class (1.05″ thick), UHD screen with GSync support, 1x M.2 NVMe and 1×2.5″ storage drives, 75 Wh battery, 240W power supply
Starting price: $2799
Gigabyte P57X v617.3-inch FHDKaby Lake Core HQ / max 32 GB RAM GTX 1070No6.6 lbs / 3.0 kg
medium size (1.1″ thick), matte 1080P display without GSync support, 2 RAM slots, 1xM.2 and 1×2.5″ storage, optical drive, 75 Wh battery
Starting price: $1800 – configurations and latest prices
Gigabyte P37X v617.3-inch FHD or UHDSkylake Core HQ / max 32 GB RAM GTX 1070No5.95 lbs / 2.7 kg
thin(0.9″) and light, matte 1080P or 4K display without GSync support, 2 RAM slots, 2xM.2 and 1×2.5″ storage, optical drive, 75 Wh battery, 200W power adapter
Starting price: $2300 – configurations and latest prices
Gigabyte P35X v615.6-inch UHDKaby Lake Core HQ / max 32 GB RAM GTX 1070No5.3 lbs / 2.4 kg
ultra-sleek(0.83″), matte 4K display without GSync support, 2 RAM slots, 1xM.2 and 1×2.5″ storage, optical drive, 55 Wh battery
Starting price: $2100 – configurations and latest prices
Gigabyte P5615.6-inch UHDKaby Lake Core HQ / max 32 GB RAM GTX 1070Yes
very few details available at the moment, optical drive, 91 Wh battery
Starting price: –
HP Omen 17 Gamer
17.3-inch UHD GSync 60 Hz
Skylake Core HQ / max 32 GB RAM GTX 1070No6.3 lbs / 2.8 kg
light for a 17 incher, Dragon Red backlit keyboard, matte display with GSync support and UHD panel, 2 RAM slots, 1xM.2 NVMe storage, also available with Nvidia 1060 graphics, 95 Wh battery
Starting price: $1700 – configurations and latest prices
Lenovo IdeaPad Y91017.3-inch FHD
Skylake Core HK / max 64 GB RAM GTX 1070Yes10.1 lbs / 4.6 kg
heavy and thick (1.4″), mechanical keyboard with 2 mm drop, matte display (no details on Gsync support and refresh rate), 4 RAM slots, 1xM.2 NVMe and 1×2.5″ storage, 2.1 sound system, 90 Wh battery
Starting price: 2800 EUR (November 2016)
MSI GT62VR RE Dominator
15.6-inch FHD GSync 60 Hz or UHD
Kaby Lake Core HQ / max 64 GB RAM GTX 1070No6.4 lbs / 2.9 kg
fairly light for what it is, yet still think at 1.6 inches, matte 1080P display with GSync support or optional UHD panel, 4 RAM slots, 1xM.2 and 2.5″ storage, GPU throttles at high loads, gets hot, 75 Wh battery
Starting price: $1799 – configurations and latest prices
MSI GT72VR RE Dominator
17.3-inch FHD GSync 60 Hz or UHD
Kaby LakeCore HQ / max 64 GB RAM GTX 1070No8.6 lbs / 3.9 kg
fairly light for what it is, yet still think at 1.6 inches, matte 1080P display with GSync support or optional UHD panel, 4 RAM slots, 1xM.2 and 2.5″ storage, 83 Wh battery
Starting price: $1999 – configurations and latest prices
MSI GE73VR Raider17.3-inch TN FHD 120 HZKaby Lake Core HQ / max 32 GB RAM GTX 1070No6.2 lbs / 2.8 kg
Full-size laptop, 1.2″ in height and 6.2 lbs in weight; SteelSeries keyboard, FHD 120 Hz matte screen and other options, 1xM.2 storage and 1×2.5″ bay, improved cooling and much more punchy speakers than on the GE72, 51 Wh battery
Starting price: TBA August 2017
MSI GT83VR 6RE Titan
18.4-inch FHD GSync 60 Hz
Skylake Core HK / max 64 GB RAM SLI GTX 1070Yes9.9 lbs / 4.5 kg
thinner and lighter than previous Titans, mechanical SteelSeries keyboard, matte 1080p display with GSync support, 4 RAM slots, 1xM.2 and 2.5″ storage, Bluray writer, 75 Wh battery, 230W power supply
Starting price: $3499 – configurations and latest prices
MSI GT73VR 6RE Titan
17.3-inch FHD GSync 120 Hz or UHD
Skylake Core HQ and HK / max 64 GB RAM single or SLI GTX 1070
Yes8.4 lbs / 3.8 kg
mechanical SteelSeries keyboard, either a matte 1080p display with GSync support and 120 HZ refresh rate or an UHD 100% AdobeRGB panel, 4 RAM slots, 1xM.2 and 2.5″ storage, either one or two GTX 1070 chips in SLI, 83 Wh battery
Starting price: $2199 – configurations and latest prices
MSI GT75VR Titan
17.3-inch FHD GSync 120 Hz or UHD 120 Hz
Skylake Core HQ and HK / max 64 GB RAM single or SLI GTX 1070Yes
low profile mechanical SteelSeries keyboard; multiple screen options, 4 RAM slots, 1xM.2 and 2.5″ storage, either one or two GTX 1070 chips in SLI, single 1080 option also available, CoolerBoost Titan cooling solution, 83 Wh battery
Starting price: TBA – expected for August 2017
Origin PC EON15-X15.6-inch FHD GSync 120 Hz or UHD
Skylake Core K / max 64 GB RAM GTX 1070No7.5 lbs / 3.4 kg
thick (1.5 inches), matte 1080P display with 120 Hz GSync support or optional UHD panel, desktop grade processors, also available with Nvidia 1060 graphics (starting at $1750), 4 RAM slots, 2xM.2 and 2×2.5″ storage, 82 Wh battery (??)
Starting price: $2000
Sager NP8157 / Clevo P650HS-G15.6-inch FHD GSync 60 Hz
Kaby LakeCore HQ or HK / max 64 GB RAM GTX 1070No5.6 lbs / 2.55 kg
fairly slim (1.13 inches), matte 1080P display GSync support, 4 RAM slots, 2xM.2 storage, GTX 1060 model also available, 60 Wh battery
Starting price: $1629 – configurations and latest prices
Sager NP9153 / Clevo P750DM2-G15.6-inch FHD GSync 60 Hz
Kaby Lake Core K / max 64 GB RAM GTX 1070Yes7.5 lbs / 3.4 kg
heavy and bulky (1.43 inches), matte 1080P display GSync support, desktop grade CPUs, GTX 1060 model also available, 4 RAM slots, 2xM.2 storage, 82 Wh battery, 330W power brick
Starting price: $2099 – configurations and latest prices

Nvidia GTX 1080 laptops

The GTX 1080 Mobility chips are built on the GP104 core, get 8 GB of DDR5 memory, have a clock speed of 1506 MHz (Boost up to 1733 MHz), a memory clock of 8008 MHz, 320 GB/s memory bandwidth, 2560 CUDA cores and a TDP of around 150 W. Some laptops offers dual GTX 1080 chips in SLI.

Expect GTX 1080 notebooks to start at around $2000.


The Mobility GTX 1080 chip offers very similar scores in benchmarks and games to the desktop GTX 1080 solution. On the other hand, compared to the Maxwell mobile chips, the mobile GTX 1080 is miles ahead, showing 125% bumps over the GTX 980M chip and 180% improvements over the GTX 970M. SLI variants are of course even faster, and these are recommended for high-frequency UHD screens and multi-monitor setups.

ModelScreenHardwareGraphicsTB3Weight
Acer Predator 17 X GX-792
17.3-inch FHD or UHD GSync 60 Hz
Kaby Lake Core HQ / max 64 GB RAM GTX 1080Yes10.03 lbs / 4.54 kg
standard Predator looks, FHD or UHD wide-gamut matte screens with GSync, Core i7-7700HQ or 7820HQ processors, dual-storage, RGB keyboard, 90 Wh battery
Starting price: $2699 – configurations and latest prices
Acer Predator 21 X21-inch curved GSync
Kabylake Core HQ / max 64 GB RAM SLI GTX 1080No17.8 lbs /8 kg
huge, mechanical keyboard with Chrry MX switches, 4.2 audio system, 2560 x 1080 px matte screen, multiple storage options, five fans and multiple heatpipes used for cooling the hardware, 89 Wh battery
Starting price: $8999
Acer Triton 70015.6-inch GSync Kaby Lake Core HQ / max 32 GB RAM GTX 1080Yes5.73 lbs / 2.6 kg
sober black aesthetics, very thin (18.9 mm) and light for its class, dual NVMe storage, mechnaical RGB keyboard, Gorilla Glass touchpad
Starting price: $2999
Alienware 1717.3-inch QHD GSync 120 Hz
Kaby Lake Core HK / max 64 GB RAM GTX 1080Yes9.74 lbs / 4.42 kg
thinner than previous model (30 mm), several screen options, including one with a QHD 120 Hz panel and GSync, port for the Alienware Graphics Amplifier, Core i7 7820HK overclocked at 4.1 GHz as one of the options, 99 Wh battery
Starting price: $2649
Aorus X7 DT v617.3-inch QHD 120 Hz or UHD 60 HzKaby LakeCore HK / max 64 GB RAM GTX 1080No7.1 lbs / 3.2 kg
sleek (1″ thick) and fairly portable, multiple screen options with GSync support, Core HK processor, 3xM.2 and 1 x2.5″ storage, 95 Wh battery, 230 W power pack
Starting price: $3099
Asus ROG GX800VH18.4-inch FHD or UHD
Skylake Core HK / max 64 GB RAM SLI GTX 1080No12.5 lbs / 5.7 kg
big and heavy, Core HK processor, water-cooled SLI graphics in an external enclosure, 76 Wh battery
Starting price: TBA
Asus ROG GX800VI18.4-inch FHD or UHD
Skylake Core HK / max 64 GB RAM GTX 1080No12.1 lbs / 5.5 kg
big and heavy, Core HK processor, internal single GTX 1080 graphics, 76 Wh battery
Starting price: TBA
Asus ROG GX701VI
17.3-inch FHD GSync 120 Hz
Skylake Core HK / max 64 GB RAM GTX 1080Yes8.4 lbs / 3.8 kg
thick (1.37″) and rather heavy, Core HQ or HK processor, 120 HZ display, internal single GTX 1080 graphics, 93 Wh battery, 330W power-supply
Starting price: TBA
MSI GT83VR 6RF Titan Pro
18.4-inch FHD GSync 60 Hz
Skylake Core HK / max 64 GB RAM SLI GTX 1080Yes13.1 lbs / 4.5 kg
thinner and lighter than previous Titans, mechanical SteelSeries keyboard, matte 1080p display with GSync support, 4 RAM slots, 1xM.2 and 2.5″ storage, Bluray writer, 75 Wh battery, 2x330W power supply
Starting price: $4499 – configurations and latest prices
MSI GT73VR 6RF Titan Pro
17.3-inch FHD GSync 120 Hz or UHD
Skylake Core HQ and HK / max 64 GB RAM GTX 1080
Yes8.4 lbs / 3.8 kg
mechanical SteelSeries keyboard, either a matte 1080p display with GSync support and 120 HZ refresh rate or an UHD 100% AdobeRGB panel, 4 RAM slots, 1xM.2 and 2.5″ storage, 75 Wh battery
Starting price: $2800 – configurations and latest prices
Origin PC EON17-X17.3-inch FHD GSync 120 Hz or UHD
Skylake Core K / max 64 GB RAM GTX 1080Yes8.6 lbs / 3.9 kg
thick (1.6 inches), matte 1080P display with 120 Hz GSync support or optional UHD panel, desktop grade processors, also available with Nvidia 1070 or 1060 graphics, 4 RAM slots, 2xM.2 and 2×2.5″ storage, removable 82 Wh battery
Starting price: $2600 (with Nvidia 1080)
Origin PC EON17-SLX17.3-inch FHD GSync 120 Hz or UHD
Skylake Core K / max 64 GB RAM SLI GTX 1080Yes12 lbs / 5.4 kg
heavy and massive (1.9 inches thick), matte 1080P display with 120 Hz GSync support or optional UHD panel, desktop grade processors, also available with SLI Nvidia 1070 or single 1070/1080 graphics, 4 RAM slots, 2xM.2 and 2×2.5″ storage, removable 82 Wh battery
Starting price: $3900 (with dual Nvidia 1080)
Razer Blade Pro17.3-inch UHD IGZO GSync touch
Skylake Core HQ / max 32 GB RAM GTX 1080Yes7.8 lbs / 3.54 kg
slim(0.88 inches) and yet fairly heavy, metallic construction, low-profile mechanical keyboard, UHD touchscreen with 60 Hz GSync support, 2 RAM slots, 2 M.2 storage slots, Thunderbolt 3 port, 99 Wh battery
Starting price: $3699 (from November 2016) – configurations and latest prices
Schenker XMG U727 / Clevo / Avant P870
17.3-inch GSync FHD, QHD or UHDSkylake Core T and K / max 64 GB RAM SLI GTX 1080Yes12.1 lbs / 5.5 kg
big and heavy, very thick, desktop grade Skylake processors, no Nvidia Optimus, multiple screen options with up to 120 Hz panels, 2x M.2 and 2×2.5″ storage drives, 82 Wh battery, 2x330W power pack
Starting price: 4300 EUR
Schenker XMG U716 / Clevo P775 / Sager NP9152
17.3-inch GSync FHD or UHDSkylake Core T and K / max 64 GB RAM GTX 1080Yes8.6 lbs / 3.9 kg
big and heavy, very thick, desktop grade Skylake processors, multiple screen options with up to 120 Hz panels, 2x M.2 and 2×2.5″ storage drives, 82 Wh battery, 230W power pack
Starting price: –

That’s about it for now, but like I said earlier, we’re constantly updating the list.

Bottom point, Nvidia Pascal is a major update for gaming laptops. GTX 1080 machines are now capable of running most titles on 4K resolution with high details, and if you want ultra-details or want to power multiple monitors at once, you can opt for the few solution with dual SLI GTX 1080 chips.

GTX 1070 models are still faster than the high-end GTX 980M notebooks of the previous generation, while selling for less. They offer excellent gaming performance on FHD resolutions and will be able to run most titles on UHD panels as well, but you’ll have to trim down details to medium.

Last but not least, if you don’t have $1500 or more to spend on a gaming laptop and still want something capable of running modern games on FHD resolutions, the Nvidia GTX 1060 laptops are the ones for you. They start at around $1300 and we’ve covered them in another post. You can also check out our detailed article on ultraportable gaming notebooks in case you want a thin-and-light computer, or get in touch in the comments section if you have any questions or anything to add to this article.

Andrei Girbea, Editor-in-Chief at Ultrabookreview.com. I never liked carrying big laptops around and that fueled my passion for mobile computers back in the 2000s. Things have changed much since then, but I'm still interested in the topic and in the meantime I've owned and tested hundreds of thin and lights, so I know a thing or two about them. You'll find mostly reviews and guides written by me here on the site.

79 Comments

  1. Andrew Armstrong

    August 22, 2016 at 12:31 am

    FYI: I think you have the batteries for the MSI models reversed. The GT72VR comes with an 83Wh battery (msi.com/Laptop/GT72VR-6RE-Dominator-Pro-Tobii.html#hero-specification) where the GT73VR comes with 75Wh (msi.com/Laptop/GT73VR-6RE-Titan.html#hero-specification).

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 22, 2016 at 6:11 pm

      Thanks for the headsup

    • darryl

      August 23, 2016 at 4:56 am

      dont think the sc17 has thunderbolt 3

      • Andrei Girbea

        August 23, 2016 at 7:25 pm

        Right, that’s only an USB 3.1 1st gen port, thank for the headsup.

    • QUENTIN DELVINQUIERE

      November 24, 2016 at 5:32 am

      Acer predator 17 is 17,3" not 15,6"

  2. adante

    August 23, 2016 at 12:44 am

    Can I check if the last entry on the 1080 list is right? Googling for ‘Schenker XMG U716 / Clevo P775’ gives me a late 2015 laptop with 980 card.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 23, 2016 at 7:24 pm

      There’s going to be a Pascal edition, but I don’t think it’s available yet. I can’t remember where I found details about this, but it wouldn’t be in here if I wouldn’t have find at least hints of an update.

  3. kyis

    August 23, 2016 at 9:35 am

    Looking at the specs on various sites it looks like the MSI GT73VR only has G-Sync on one UHD variant, FHD 120hz variants don’t seem to offer it.

    Is that why we have yet to see Asus release any G752VS variants with a 120hz panel ?
    Maybe the implementation isn’t going so well, asus is still trying, msi just went to market… (random speculation warning)

    • Shehary

      December 12, 2016 at 2:26 am

      GT73VR with 120Hz variant does support G-Sync out of the box, MSI doesn't list this feature either by mistake or some unknown reason. I'm using GT73VR @ 120Hz @ GTX1080 and screen does support G-Sync.

  4. Palomino

    August 24, 2016 at 3:01 am

    FYI, the ASUS GL502VM (1060) has Thunderbolt 3, the GL502VS (1070) does not. The details are on the Notebook Check review of the VS.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 24, 2016 at 6:45 pm

      You’re right, I got things wrong. Edited. Thank you

  5. Denis

    August 25, 2016 at 5:36 am

    Sager NP8153-S doesn’t have TB3, just regular USB 3.1 sadly

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 25, 2016 at 9:04 am

      Right, I got things confused. Edited, thanks.

  6. Hellvetia

    August 27, 2016 at 7:45 am

    Do you have any source regarding the asus gl702vs? This would be my dream machine but this post seems to be pretty much the only place on the Internet where it makes anappearance.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 27, 2016 at 8:29 am

      There’s nothing on Asus’s website and I don’t have any official info on it, but I did look at the GL702VT in a previous article here on the site and I know they’ll have a GL702VM version for sure, with 1060 graphics, but I also expect for a VS model, given they offer the same on the 15-inch model. There’s always a chance I’m wrong,

      • Mr.Slow

        January 9, 2017 at 5:43 am

        asus.com/Notebooks/ROG-GL702VS/

        Was updated during the first 3 days of this very year. Surprisingly no one's talking about it, and its not even been in CES 2017 as far as CES reporters are concerned.

        It also doesn't have the third fan as the VM model and sports a duo-copper heatpipe system compared to the tripple on the VM model which only has the 1060. More and more intriguing.
        asus.com/Notebooks/ROG-GL702VM/

        Had the VS come last year together or just after the 17 inch VM and the 15 variants, Asus would have had 1 more customer, and probably a lot more, but looks like they did not want to kill sales of their more beastly 17 inches. Bad move IMO with so much great competition in that segment since the GTX 10 series came out.

  7. one9712745

    August 28, 2016 at 6:32 am

    Can you confirm again for MSI GT62VR. Someone in reddit bought this and said its only USB Gen 2, not TB3 compliant.

  8. one9712745

    August 28, 2016 at 11:49 pm

    So for now, the only laptop with gtx1070 + TB3 is only ROG 752VS?
    It’ll be a waste on my TB3 dock ÷)

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 29, 2016 at 11:13 am

      To be frank, I mostly see the purpose of using external graphics through TB3 on a more portable computer with perhaps 1060 or 1050 graphics, when announced. The 1070 is already pretty powerful on its own, so unless you want to power a 4K external monitor, it might not be worth using a TB3 external graphics solution with a 1070 chip. At least imo.

      • Palomino

        September 5, 2016 at 1:37 am

        I see TB3 as a good future-proofing option down the road for what is a very expensive purchase.

        I think it’s extremely short sighted to write it off for top-tier GPUs right now, and I see this misguided approach come up a lot on other forums.

        In 3 years’ time, the 1070 will be the equivalent of the 1050 or 960m. But, your laptop will probably still be functional and fully working in every other way.

        Why wouldn’t you want the ability to just plug in a new GPU like a desktop when gaming from home, and still have something capable at lower settings for on the road gaming?

        • one9712745

          September 6, 2016 at 3:14 am

          Strongly agree. Most of us will stick with that laptop for at least 5-6 yrs. Or could be a once in a lifetime purchase :)

          • Andrei Girbea

            September 6, 2016 at 3:38 am

            Fair enough. I guess I haven’t considered this argument.

          • Somerandomguy

            April 21, 2017 at 2:55 am

            A notebook a once in a lifetime purchase? Good joke… :p

  9. ken

    October 1, 2016 at 9:09 am

    Wish there were 15″ laptops w/ the Nvidia 1080 :-(

    • Dreamer

      October 9, 2016 at 9:46 pm

      I wish there were laptops with larger screens than 21″ and even can be mechanically set up to be two seperate pieces.

      It would be an iron man laptops turned desktop set up with a mechanical keyboard and no touchpad in the middle like traditional laptops.

    • Euzh

      December 30, 2016 at 10:15 am

      There's a 15.6" Eurocom Tornado F5 with up to i7-7700K, 64G and GTX 1080.

  10. one9712745

    October 14, 2016 at 4:30 am

    Any news when you’ll review the new Alienware 15/17 with GTX 1060/1070? Also the Polaris version?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 14, 2016 at 12:34 pm

      Not really. I’d even say chances of a review are very slim, we don’t have contacts with Alienware so we don’t get review loaners from them, and we don’t plan to buy any of these just for the review. Sry.

  11. Yoann

    October 19, 2016 at 4:02 pm

    Hey guys, I can’t find any info on the Asus ROG GX701VI you talked about, except on this page. Where did you find info about it ?

  12. Ruben

    October 24, 2016 at 10:39 pm

    So I came across this site trying to find my first gaming laptop after over a decade of building desktop rigs. What I absolutely needed was a 1440p GSYNC display at >60hz and a GTX 1080, both for less than $3,000 after configuring all the other parts.

    Seems to me that I've got only a single option, the AVANT P870DM2-G from AVA Direct. I mean, I'm not disappointed, it seems to have everything I need and within my budget, but is there any particular reason why none of their laptops made this list? Am I missing something when it comes to them or gaming laptops in general?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 25, 2016 at 3:36 am

      It is on the list, that's identical to the Clevo / Schenker P870. There are a few of this type of computer builders that are using the same barebone and resell it under their brands, and I just missed AVA :)

      • Ruben

        October 25, 2016 at 2:31 pm

        Thanks, I looked further into it and building my own Clevo seems to not only be a great compromise, but also really interesting and even better for my budget!

  13. Alin

    October 30, 2016 at 1:34 am

    Salut Andrei! Ne poti da un link cu un Clevo dotat cu Gtx 1080 la 1700Eur?
    Cu respect!

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 30, 2016 at 2:19 pm

      That was obviously a mistake in the listing :)

  14. Alex

    October 30, 2016 at 6:35 am

    Anyone checked out Eurocom?? Pricing is very competitive for a modular desktop replacement laptop. Desktop processors, multiple drive bays and ram slots, can have SLi too if your wallet stretches. Based around top of the range Clevo chassis from what I can see. Anyone used/seen/bought one?? Also, might be a daft question but all ALL the new 10 series cards MXM3 form factor??

  15. Hansen O Korasare

    November 7, 2016 at 7:32 pm

    Hello. Can you please update because I think some of the laptops that you have put scheduled or TBA by have been released like the Alienware 15 and 17 in the 1070 part. Thank you.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 8, 2016 at 5:23 am

      I'm not seeing the 10 series Alienware 15 and 17 in dell's shop, so I can't update the pricing yet

      • Krutarth Malwankar

        November 9, 2016 at 5:48 pm

        They are there already I bought one last month just check again and type New Alienware 15 that might help

        • Andrei Girbea

          November 10, 2016 at 8:44 am

          Hah, you're right, I haven't looked deep enough. Thanks. I've updated the listings.

  16. Hansen

    November 11, 2016 at 7:40 am

    Hello. Do you haopened to remember where you got the information on the Alienware 17 GTX 1080 release? I'm really looking forward to it. Thank you.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 11, 2016 at 9:38 am

      There were multiple sources back at the beginning of Sept, like this one: pcworld.com/article/3114804/computers/alienware-fills-its-new-laptops-with-gtx-10-series-graphics.html

    • Eddy

      November 14, 2016 at 7:41 am

      Just got a message from Alienware support that the 17 GTX 1080 release will be on the 15th of November 2016.

  17. Cezar

    November 15, 2016 at 9:38 am

    What would you recommend in a 2000 euros budget with gtx 1070?

  18. Hansen O Korasare

    November 18, 2016 at 5:43 pm

    What's the difference between QHD with G-Sync and UHD? Because I don't think UHD comes with G-Sync and which would you suggest?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 18, 2016 at 6:05 pm

      QHD is 2560 x 1440 px, UHD is 3840 x 2160 px. If you need GSync, the choice is pretty obvious

      • Hansen

        November 18, 2016 at 6:07 pm

        Is there a reason why a lot of UHD are without G-Sync?

        • Andrei Girbea

          November 18, 2016 at 6:30 pm

          The technology is just getting to tha tpoint and there are very few UHD panels with GSync available for now

          • Hanks

            November 19, 2016 at 7:27 am

            so would you go with a QHD with G-Sync or UHD?

          • Andrei Girbea

            November 21, 2016 at 11:05 am

            QHD with GSync is gaming is what you want the laptop for.

  19. Koh

    November 22, 2016 at 7:10 pm

    Oh. Um… I think you might want to update. GTX 1080 for the alienware has been released.
    Here is a link. dell.com/en-us/shop/productdetails/alienware-17-laptop/dkcwg05hcombo

  20. George Mathews

    December 1, 2016 at 2:17 am

    Seems like you have advanced knowledge of upcoming laptops. Do you know if the Asus Rog 24 inch is still coming out or is in production? I saw all the May 2016 posts, but I haven't heard anything since.

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 1, 2016 at 4:06 am

      I haven't heard anything about it except for those initial rumors, so I'm inclined to say it's not going to be a real product. That doesn't mean Asus won't probably offer a bigger ROG at some point, but a 24-inch one seems too big for a notebook imo. Perhaps something closer to the 20-21" segment, like Acer's Predator X 21. Just suppositions though.

      • George Mathews

        December 2, 2016 at 2:04 am

        Thanks

    • DELVINQUIERE Quentin

      December 4, 2016 at 12:42 pm

      tO BE HONEST i don't understand the point of a laptop with 24" xD

  21. Dimonoid

    December 2, 2016 at 8:49 pm

    Both Sagers have 120 herz monitors.

  22. Ish Raqiyun

    December 3, 2016 at 3:20 pm

    The Razer Blade Pro does have a single TB3 on it.

  23. Dimonoid

    December 4, 2016 at 6:01 pm

    Has anybody bought anything in prostar market?

  24. QuantomVortex

    December 5, 2016 at 4:38 am

    Any new news on the Asus GX800? I was hoping this would release this year considering this was announced some time ago. However the final specs on this has changed several times. So it's hard to know what exactly the final version will be. About all I know is that it apparently is going to have 2 SLI cooled GTX 1080's unlocked.

    Pretty much everything else I'm in the dark on. Getting kinda impatient I guess considering I am seriously considering this one. But don't want to bite until I have a solid release date. Not to mention some info on it's final version specs and such. Pretty soon it might not be worth it. Considering CES is just around the corner but we will see I guess. :/

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 5, 2016 at 9:08 am

      Haven't heard much else about it and I don't see it listed anywhere in Europe, especially in the Northern countries that usually get Asus products first. Perhaps after CES, although Asus don't usually tie their launches to CES like Lenovo or Dell do.

  25. Dean Zwikel

    December 8, 2016 at 9:39 am

    Please fix the link for the latest configs and pricing for the Aorus X7 DT v6 with GTX 1080

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 8, 2016 at 10:52 am

      I've removed it, it looks it's not available on Amazon anymore. Thanks for the heads-up

  26. Kodlak

    December 16, 2016 at 3:20 pm

    I'm looking for a powerful gaming laptop with a minimalistic appearance (like Gigabyte's P37X v6), but *without* 4k. I can't get a hold of that one with a 1080p resolution, so I need some other suggestions. Anyone?

    • Osanda

      January 17, 2017 at 5:45 am

      Hello!
      Did you find anything that fulfills your criteria? I'm in the market for new laptop with pretty much exact criteria. Kaby lake + gtx 1060/1070 under $2000 with STEALTHY, not flashy at all, no gamer-ish laptop. Any suggestions?

      Btw I think gigabyte has new p37x v7 in 1080p variant as well. But last gen p37 cost like $2400 or something :( Evga's new laptop? or maybe the gs73? Aorus looks much better as well.

  27. Ishraqiyun

    December 28, 2016 at 2:37 pm

    Origin PC EON17-SLX does have Thunderbolt 3. Actually it has 2 although the website says 1. The customize and buy page lists the 2.

    Origin PC EON17-X also has a Thunderbolt 3 according to the specs when you go to customize and buy the laptop. The page for it doesn't say anything about it.

  28. Ishraqiyun

    December 28, 2016 at 2:41 pm

    Such a shame that Aorus made the bonehead decision to leave TB3 off their latest generation. Would have given the Razer Blade Pro a run for its money. Who the heck approves a high end laptop not having a TB3 in late-2016/2017? Was an instant sale killer for me given I have equipment that requires TB3. Nice looking laptop, great profile and weight, great price, and great features other than the missing TB3. Shame.

  29. Osanda

    January 17, 2017 at 5:28 am

    Hello!
    Looks like gigabyte has 2 new laptops with gtx 10 series GPUS. The p56 has to be added to this post under gtx 1070 laptops and hopefully you will have a new post for 1050/1050ti based laptops for people under $1000 budget to include sabre 15, which is the other new offering from gigabyte. Just fyi! Keep up the good work. The site is amazing for notebook lovers and new buyers of all kinds! :))

    Source: gigabyte.com/press-center/news-page.aspx?nid=1489

    • Osanda

      January 17, 2017 at 5:35 am

      Also the very popular dell 7000, $800 laptop with gtx 960m is refreshed with 1050 and kaby lake cpus. Acer has vx15, another $800 laptop for the competition with slightly better hardware (ips screen etc.) I think u should strongly consider writing a new post for 1050/ti laptops as they are going to be really popular and most people are not willing to spend over $1500 for a laptop. Thank you.

      Sources:
      Dell: youtube.com/watch?v=jDPu8nIKMQ8 (HardwareCanucks CES coverage)
      Acer: youtube.com/watch?v=vcuyivSiEB4 (HardwareCanucks CES coverage)

    • Osanda

      January 17, 2017 at 5:38 am

      And of course update the kaby lake based laptops articles as well with the relevant links to other related articles as well as including the new additions.

      Thanks again. Good day! I gotta say this because I visit this site almost everyday for new laptop updates and those lists by GPUs and CPU generations are so damn helpful!

  30. Somerandomguy

    February 2, 2017 at 6:25 am

    When is this going to be updated? :)

  31. Ryan

    March 11, 2017 at 9:44 am

    This list is missing the Asus GL702VS. It has a 1070, 120hz FHD screen with Gsync, and is pretty thin and light for a 17" gaming laptop.

    Source: I own one!

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 16, 2017 at 2:41 pm

      Thanks Ryan, I've added it to the list. That's a great new laptop and unfortunately it's not available in my region yet. I'm pretty sure others would love to find more about it, so if you want to share some thoughts and pics with us, I'd gladly them in a dedicated article here on the site. Let me know if that sounds interesting and I'll get back to you on email.

  32. Somerandomguy

    April 21, 2017 at 2:58 am

    Please can you indicate with accuracy whether each laptop has a TN or an IPS panel, this is really important information! For example, man y of the 120hz panels are marketed as "IPS-like" but are in fact TN, so it would be helpful to have this clearly defined. Thanks again for the great list! :)

  33. Brendon

    May 15, 2017 at 7:31 pm

    which lap top is the most powerfull laptop in this list? in display, sound, graphics and speed performance?

  34. Faweks1

    May 17, 2017 at 9:08 am

    There is no MSI GT83VR 6RF Titan Pro at all.
    MSI didn't release it yet and sadly there is no configuration with 4K display with G-Sync for this laptop.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *